You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Hive Is Failing.

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Haha those were the days. And I remember you old friend, you hang out in Kay's amazing video tutorials.

Promo-mentors was fun. And as a project creator I tried to make promo-mentors sustainable. And there was frankly not a real good way. Putting aside whether promo-mentors was a good "product" or not. The only Hive official way was to earn through posts or create an own platform. So as a project team, I thought oke these two ways sounds legit which paths are we going to try? Creating a whole platform like 3speak? This is way too expensive and time consuming, we would need to hire a dev and also hope he has hive blockchain knowledge. Oke, then earn through blog posts. But oh shit, then we run into the two main unsustainability problems I formulated in my post. Our rewards would be in hive tokens. 1. NOBODY wants to hold hive long term, because of high inflation and low buyer pressure for multiple other reasons (I am sure 1000+ of blog posts have been written about the other reasons). 2. Nobody realistically wants to read our blog posts because we are not a blogging project and if we were nobody would read our blogs anyways, because incentive to read blog posts = broken. To get funds we would need to have support from big whale accounts = centralization of power (you call it plutocracy, which I love btw).

And I can write another page about why going for the platform way leads to even more disappointments (while on other blockchains its much much easier, I know because I am doing projects there). And I bet this hasn't become easier in the "new hive".

Good to hear from you again man, and thanks for letting me know how promo-mentors impacted you. I really appreciate that.

I hope everything besides Hive, everything has been well!

Sort:  

Yeah man, Promo was amazing and at the time and I was surprised it never gained traction like it should had at the time. But I think we were all under some kind of spell put forth by Ned and his Steem Cleaning team. Steem had a lot of potential that it seemed to have never got back after all the flag wars, in group fighting, attacks against bid bots (despite them driving our investments up in price) and the general mentality that pandering to whales was the only way to make money after bid bots were nuked. I really did fall into the Steem/Hive will be a medium like platform trap that could be picked up by Goggle ad sense... boy was I wrong to listen to the Cleaners.

Unfortunately, it seems with the lack of support whales gave to initiatives like yours, the relentless downvotes and the lack of direction for social media hive or rather the emphasis to solely focus Hive as a Social media platform is holding it back.

I think there is a lot of really good things in store for Hive. It is just A LOT of really good people got discouraged here on Hive and Steem and are just tweeting or just playing blockchain games. I think things will change and perhaps @threespeak is a great option to kick start promo again! Front end development and tokenomics is a really good thing to explore if you have that energy and @threespeak would be a great place to start to look for support!

I personally am over Hive as a social media. I have recently been threatened violence, had Hive Watchers watch and laugh while saying I need to stop upvoting comments while the police circle my property with helicopters and police vehicles... Not to mention the relentless flags by top whales and the silence by their whale friends on anti authoritarian content.

The upbit circle jerk action is so old at this point especially with south korea imposing restrictions there.

I am personally doing so much better. Ivermectin cured/ fixed 99% of my health issues that I have had since I left Steem in 2019 due to health issues. It fixed what neurologists, neuro psychologists and years of detoxing couldnt. So much happier with less posting and more Splinterlands investing.

Hive can change dramatically over night. It is designed to do so. Simple things like witnesses finally losing their votes next year, increased investments by other entities and further utilization of Hive past a broken circle jerk rewards pool system on the first layer controlled by liberal progressives that demand state control and conformity with social media content but act like revolutionaries by merging fiat and Hive together and pushing the current oligarchs propaganda, can realistically happen especially with Hive price under a dollar.

I hope you are feeling good and glad to see you having some spark left in ya it seems as you might want to maybe start promo mentors again!

Also SoMee is doing interesting things and you might like what they are doing as well.

https://somee.social/