Splinterlands - Share Your Battle - Dragon Edition

in LeoFinance2 years ago

thumb.jpg

This is my contribution to this week’s “Share my Battle” challenge. In this week the theme is Dragons which is very exciting! Because the theme is dragons in general the ruleset is to use any dragons that people own which is very fair in my opinion. With that being said, it is very hard to utilize dragons if you are not used to them especially in the higher leagues. The reason why I say that is that not everybody owns a dragon summoner that allows you to use dragons on high levels. This is also the case for me, but I tried to do the best out of it in the Silver leagues.

My Dragons Of Choice

Lets start with the dragons that I own and how I rank them. In total I own only 6 dragons, amongst them are two golden ones. In the upcoming battles I tried to utilize all of them but first let me introduce my favorites.

Bild1.png

I start with my favorite dragon and this has to be Djinn Chwala. Maybe this come as a surprise as I have two legendary cards there, but I must admit that this card is just too consistent to not play. With the cost of 8 mana this card is on the expensive side but let me assure you that every bit of it is worth it. Not only does this card come with a respectable 2 melee damage and two speed but it has 5 armor and an amazing 9 health. On top of that this card has the Thorns ability making it one of the best tanks in the game. This card is an absolute must have and is very affordable on the market since it is a reward card. On higher levels this card gets the enrage ability which makes this card even stronger but all the stats that I just mentioned are already available on level 1.

Bild2.png

Next up on the list is Void Dragon. This card has a lot of potential, especially with the right summoner. This card brings 5 speed and the flying ability which makes it very hard to hit with normal melee attackers. Additionally to that, it has 7 health and the Void ability. This means that even if it gets hit by a magic attacker it wont die with the first hit which makes it very valuable in the late game of a battle. With only 5 mana cost this card is definitely in a good price ratio. The downside of this card is that it only has 1 magic attack. But like I said, with the correct summoner you could boost this attack up making this card an absolute machine. With that being said, if you manage to use this card on its final level it has 2 magic damage and the additional Phase ability which makes him also dodge magic attacks making this card absolutely unable to be hit. I prefer putting this card somewhere in the middle of the field as it is very valuable in the later turns of a battle.

Bild3.png

The third dragon on the list has to be the other legendary card. Compared to the previous two cards I am not a big fan of this card but it definitely has its perks. I am talking about Zyvax Vuul. This card is very weird as it is a Range attacker with the Recharge ability which makes him attack every second turn but with three times the damage. This means that he will deal 6 damage every other turn on level one. With the flying ability and 3 speed this card is again very hard to target. The downside is definitely its 8 mana cost which I find very expensive for a card like this. In general I am not a big fan of the Recharge ability as there is almost all of the times over dealt damage that is just going over the needed damage to deal. This is basically very inefficient in terms of damage dealing and you lose a lot of damage that you could have dealt towards other monsters. This is the main reason why this card is only on number three in this list.

Bild4.png

Teams and Strategy

In terms of teams and strategy, the dragon Splinter has the advantage of using any other Splinter with them. This is because the dragon splinter are considered the wisest Splinter which makes them cooperate with everybody else. With that being said, you have to use a Dragon Summoner. Unfortunately for me, I only have the Drake of Arnak. This Summoner grants every monster on your side an additional armor which is a very strong ability but can be easily countered with magic as magic attacks are not influenced by armor.

Furthermore, I like to use the Earth Splinter with dragons as this is the strongest Splinter so far and it is also the Splinter that I was able to develop the furthest from my side. My strategy for almost every game is to put Djinn Chawala in a postion where I can benefit the most from its Thorns ability. Most of the time it’s the first or second position. Further positioning depends on the battle’s restrictions like we are about to see in the upcoming battles.

Example Battles

In this section I want to show you two different battles. Both of them are going against another Earth player which makes the advantage of the Dragon Splinter stay out. In the first battle we are against a player who focuses on magic, hence he chose Obsidian as summoner. I chose very Melee heavy as this battle had the opportunity ability on which means that my monster will all have the opportunity ability and hence can attack from any position. This was a no brainer to chose all the heavy melee monsters in addition to my dragons monsters. In the end we win quite comfortably as we destroy our opponents backline very fast.

Bild6.png

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_01a7812bccf5f796f22c67e4ad57748b&ref=ga38jem

In the second game, our opponent had the perfect counter to our summoner. He was able to deduct our armor by two making our summoner useless. Fortunately for us we still had our dragons which are playing a major role in this battle. With Djinn Chawala in the first position we were able to bring down his tank to a fairly low point of health. With the Void dragon in the first position we were able to doge most of the Unicorns attacks and also not taking too much magic damage of the rest of his mosnters. What really won us the battle here was the Venari scout who was able to pick apart the back line of our opponent.

Bild7.png

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_95bc9e5bb2076ad5cb1df1f9951ec7aa&ref=ga38jem

I hope I was able to give you an insight into the dragon Splinter and how I like to use them. With that being said, I am very interested in how you guys use the dragon Splinter! What is your favorite Dragon card and how do you like to use it?

Published by ga38jem on
LeoFinance
On 4th February 2022

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @ga38jem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121