It Is Fun And Rewarding To Learn SQL

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Top10SQLQueryOptimizationTechniques.jpg
source

SQL stands for Structured Query Language and used for creating, maintaining, and communicating with databases. Databases are essential part of the website, games, and other software we interact with on daily basis. They make the storing, transfer of data quick and efficient and make our daily digital experiences smooth and enjoyable.

There is incredible amount data created everyday, everywhere. Databases make storing them and using them possible. SQL is a standard language for relational database management systems. While the usage of SQL have differences between different systems, for the most part they share the common language, commands, and syntax.

We can even use SQL to get Hive blockchain data. There is HiveSQL services that is available for anybody to use for free. But of course SQL can be used in many other places for different purposes. It is one of the commonly used languages for data analysis and may even be a requirement for jobs in this field.

Reasons to consider learning SQL will be different for everyone. They may range from learning new skills for career purposes, developing software, automating personal or work projects, etc. Besides the reasons, it is also important to consider resources available and time that may be required to learn these skills. There are many resources and educational material available online for free. Some people even may prefer learning from books, which are also available in abundance. However, learning any programming language is done best by practice and actually typing in the code and experimenting. Same thing is true for SQL.

I prefer better structured approach and wouldn't mind paying a fee for a course if it saves time. One of the online courses I took when learning SQL was - The Complete SQL Bootcamp 2022: Go from Zero to Hero by Jose Portilla on Udemy. This course focuses on teaching PostgreSQL while pointing out what may be different in other systems like MSSQL, etc. This is a great course for any beginner. Jose has a unique approach of teaching that keeps things simple, keeps the student interested, recognizes where new learners may have difficulty understanding beforehand. It also utilized practical approach of keeping learners engaged by giving tasks to complete, and assessment tests.

When it comes to SQL skills, in my understanding there are two main use cases. The first being an ability to build and maintain databases for others to use. This would be the database architects and administrators. The second is getting data from the database, using the database for various purposes. This could be data analysts, data scientists, and other data users. For example, HiveSQL is a service to get Hive blockchain data. We can only query data from the HiveSQL. We don't have to worry about how it is created and maintained.

Just learning how to retrieve data with SQL queries alone can be a powerful skill to have. In such cases we don't even have to worry about the database creating, data manipulation, adding, deleting, and altering data aspects of the SQL.

Jose does a great job recognizing this, and starts out teaching how to retrieve data and all possible ways of dealing with database and tables in obtaining desired data and results. At later stages of the course he does cover creating and maintaining databases as well. However, he doesn't go too much into details. He teaches just enough for any beginner to get started and provides other resources like documentation and how to read them to gain more skill and the beginner progresses in this journey. Also, Jose shows ways of utilizing python in combination with SQL. IF you also like or learning python, combining SQL with python can be a powerful skillset to have.

Another online course I would recommend is by Venkat at Pragim Technologies and is titled - SQL Server Tutorial for Beginners | SQL Tutorial for Beginners. It is free and consists of 150 parts. All of the videos are available on youtube. This course uses MS SQL and more in-depth compared to Jose's courses. Venkat uses MS SQL Server and SQL Server Management Studio. If you are a Windows user, it should be easy to follow the steps to install needed software at the start of the course. Mac users may have difficulty following this course, since the software used are not available for Mac.

Unlike Jose, Venkat starts out with teaching how to creating and altering databases and database objects. He doesn't start talking about how to retrieve data from a database until Part 10. Those of us who initially might be interested in learning how to write queries to get data from databases, may get discourages at the beginning. For this reason I would suggest to start with Part 10-17 after Part 1, which shows how to install needed software. After covering Parts 10-17, go back to Part 2 and continue from there. Or just start from the start and don't give up too early.

Venkat's teaching methodology may seem boring at first, but after going through multiple parts it becomes very obvious that the course is structured very well to build the knowledge and skills one step at a time. I am half way through this course and really like. I like how the parts are divided up on certain topics, which makes it easy to go back and review.

He doesn't provide any practice tests and assessment tests to keep learners engaged with the topic. But it is expected that learners practice on their computers and use the codes taught as they watch the lessons. That makes a big difference in learning any programming language. Venkat's approach is very detailed. He goes into all details when covering a topic and shows various ways of achieving given tasks.

These are two courses I would suggest to anyone who is interested in learning SQL. I hope you find them useful.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Thanks for the write up. I have your other Hive SQL posts bookmarked and intend to get to them eventually.

SQL is one of those things that I've been learning in bits and pieces since I was in university 20 years ago. My university didn't teach any SQL classes and I had plenty of other things on my plate so I never got around to teaching myself, then work and family happened and there was always something getting in the way, but it's been something I have always explored here and there every now and again.

I know it would be very useful for me to learn and use. I have a massive collection of text files managing all my haiku and haiku translations (if you've never seen one of my posts, I've been the haiku guy on Steemit/Hive for the past 5 years). I have them all linking to each other in a kind of web-like structure so it works better than you might think (using an app for this), but I guess managing this with a database would be far more effective.

I'll check out the two courses you list.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm trying to learn the basics of SQL. It's getting hard now that I'm learning about Joins and things like that but I can see already that it's a very powerful resource.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I guess I should give SQL a try at some point. For now, I am quite happy with Beem that is sufficient for my needs. Whereas in terms of efficiency, SQL is probably superior. there is a full learning curve to go through before that I would be able to use it fully... Again, time is the killer...

For someone who is already familiar with Hive blockchain and uses Beem, it won't take long time to learn how to make queries with SQL and use them to get data from HiveSQL. I like Beem too, but some tasks take a long time to get the results. HiveSQL helps with efficiency.

I fully agree with what you said. At the end, it only matters to dedicate/invest the right time to it. Time is however a resource that is extremely scare those days... I am afraid that such a move will have to be done at some point, especially as beem does not seem to be supported and further developed anymore (I hope I am wrong).

This came at the right time. I want to learn data analysis and this will be very useful. I will check them out.

Thanks a lot for the recommendations.

I liked the article, also from what I read I can see that you like sql and database too much once you master it. In my case I am dealing with bringing the JSON from the database that I have to create with an API-KEY in the same POSTGRES, understanding the operation of sql in a JS bootcamp is more difficult than I thought, but this is It's because I personally like to build everything from scratch and not take a half job and complete with something that they barely teach me.

Being able to develop HAF apps is another obvious one, as pretty much every app will invoke SQL commands.

I know HAF uses PostgreSQL, but don't fully understand it yet. That's I didn't include it. But you are right knowing SQL will be useful to use HAF as well. Thank you.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment !STOP below


Hey @techcoderx, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

SQL is a great language to learn. It's used quite often and a lot of database systems have also been trying to adapt SQL to their own language because that is where the largest user base is. I learned it quite a while back so I know how to write queries but optimization tends to be the more annoying part.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, I don't like optimization part either.

Lol! I am performance engineer. Recently tuned a Sql that is getting timed out in Production after 3 hours to 16 minute. But it require lot of patience, time and keep testing the approach.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am actually new to the world of programming and I already took the decision to learn python because I do hear people saying it's really easy to learn. But it seems I'm already developing interest in learning SQL too and I definitely hope to give it a trial.

Thanks for sharing this great post with love from @hardaeborla and I hope you have a great day ahead 💕❤️💕

I know basic SQL it has helped me a lot on my job to get and sort information faster than excel. Nice article .

I just started programming but I have heard about this programming language..My friends say it is quite complex but I am looking forward to it

I've been looking for good courses for learning SQL, so your post is a great help to me. The second one is free which is quite encouraging to start with. Thanks for the recommendation

I would suggest, start with the free one. Write posts about your learning journey, earn some Hive rewards. So that you can pay for the paid course by Hive rewards. Documenting what you learn also helps with learning. I always go back to my old posts on programming topics and use them as a reference.

I was so keen on becoming a data analyst because of how much I understood excel but it wasn't enough to be a good analyst so I was told.

I took a class on SQL briefly using PostgreSQL... And I couldn't keep up🥺.

Now the dream to come a data analyst is on hold, but your regular post about SQL has reignited the passion maybe I should check out these courses and start afresh

Don't try to learn everything at once. I would come up with a gradual plan to learn at your own pace. There is complicated stuff about SQL but most users don't need to know them all. Usually things you will actually use are small portion what SQL can do.

Your post has inspired me again to continue from where I stopped. I have been learning MySQL using youtube video and have been distracted because of some other side hustle.

One change i had at work was geting data to work on. I will always wait for the data analyst to query them for me while as a business analyst I dont have the skill. So i had to upskill.

With this, i must finish up this month. Good read

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good luck, don't give up. You can do it.

I learned a little sql as a requirement for my degree in cybersecurity.

Did the requirement say - "need to know a little sql"? :)

Great work @geekgirl. The database is a very essential part of any software or application. SQL (Structured Query Language) has been in existence for years now and is widely utilized for databases in modern software or application.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you for providing those learning links. I see how it's very beneficial to learn some/about SQL.

Congratulations @geekgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 22

This course uses MS SQL and more in-depth compared to Jose's courses.

SQL is very understandable that is why some of the database system are being using it in modern software or application.

Hola me encantó tu post muy interesante y muy llamativo..saludos desde Venezuela

I know about SQL it is a standard program language used to mange relational database and perform various data operation but what i never knew about Is it has a connection to hive, and it is called hiveSQL wow what a small world.