Sort:  

Thank you.

I made the github repo to the code private because it was leaking the private credentials.

The solution to keeping your repo public is:

  • put your credential in a separate .php file (let's call it credentials.php) that you import into your main app code
  • Add a credential.example.php with dummy credentials to your project and tell users to update it with their own credentials and rename it.
  • add credentials.php to your .gitignore file to avoid it being pushed to your repo when you synch your project.

I'll try to make a post soon about using environmental variables and a configuration file in python and where to put things in Heroku and on the local machine as I just worked this out for my little project.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Perfect! Thanks.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank You. I will try that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta