Sort:  

I guess that the INLEO AI free will and decision, in a not so distant future 😅.

So there would be basically a script like on web2 platforms? That would be quite sad.

AI ain't true AI, it's just a more advanced script...

Hmmm I imagine since it is a "for you" it will discriminate based on each user, so everyone will have priority on different for-you pages, even based on content, like I will not see if you posted about cars but if you post about restaurants I do see it, or since it is short threads, it will be more diverse instead of it having 8 threads too close of the same author

So at the end of the day, there would be a script deciding what you see and don't see. Just like the common web2 filter bubbles, right? Where's the shift to web3 then?

Well first, I'm not developer and do not know how it would be, I'm just guessing.

Second: it is "for you" of course that tab in particular needs some sort of algorithm to actually be "for you" it could be you only see one thread per person per day there, or topics you have recently interacted with, ensuring you see all the premium users during the week or the month, and so on.

How can it be different? well, being actually for you and not pushing topics they want or hiding content the platform doesn't like. No shadowban to anyone, all having equal opportunities to be seen. It doesn't mean all at the same, time, who's seeing and actually paying attention to more than 1k threads a day?

That's just a matter of trust - "not pushing topics they want or hiding content the platform doesn't like." Any platform that sorts content becomes a gatekeeper. Will the algorithm be open-source? Will I be able to adjust it according to my real preferences and not the assumed ones? Web2 platform don't allow that.

No idea if open source, but it could allow some sets, like no more of this, more of that, show these topics, authors... have a set of options to play with and train it.

In terms of promoting premium users it probably will have to ignore the manual sets, because then it will probably show less than what the algorithm will pick and the idea is not to hide anyone, or maybe there can be a Premium Feed.

To see specific users there is following and lists... to see specific topics there is tags, probably selecting several tags as favorites could be part of what is shown on the for you, etc.

I imagine me doing the configuration for myself and probably I will end up seeing way less that what the algo shows, I'll be shadowbanning everyone.

How would you like for-you to work?

I'd like mine to ignore people who pay to be visible :) The most interesting person I met on Threads is likely never going to subscribe. With the algorithm on and 10k users, I'd likely miss them.

I'd prefer not to rely on somebody's best guess what I'd like. Even if I ended up shadowbanning everyone. Then it is my fault/decision/bubble. Still better than if it does Facebook, X or Inleo on my behalf. Besides, qui custodiet ipsos custodes when it comes to (dis)approving what I want/should see?

😅 That sounds kind of unreasonable to be honest.

That said, if you stay on the tab "following" or go to "lists", you will only see what you want. There are tools already that give you that kind of control so no need to make an algorithm based tab to work on manual settings.

There is also tags (and if they add favorite tags that would be way better)to control the topics.

If the other options didn't exist I'll agree 100%

And actually, I think if that single person really interest you and you interact with them, the algorithm will likely show you them, I see the non-premium I have interacted with all the time, since the algorithm includes premium users but is not limited to them.