You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That Idea of 'Removing' the Hive Rewards Pool

in LeoFinance7 months ago

There was nothing discussed yet about things like that as they agreed to have another session solely for it. Let's hope these questions will get answered by then.

If I'm not mistaken, Rondon mentioned he will make a post within a month or so and my guess is that he will share why he proposed the idea.

Thanks for sharing the numbers on how the distribution is being done. I'm not even aware of the percentages.

I also see L2 tokens would be another reward method but like your question, how will that help Hive indeed? I'm sure the next discussion will be very interesting.

Sort:  

I admit that my first reaction was extremely negative but I don't think it would have to be a bad thing. Hive would still be needed for transactions (i.e. for resource credits) and for governance. Presumably the 65% would get spread among the remaining categories. A larger amount to stakeholders for instance could encourage more investment.

The one key piece of the puzzle missing for me is how rewards would work moving forward as I think they would still be needed. Obviously, some kind of second layer token makes sense but in my opinion it would have to be one that could be used by any interface and I'm not sure how feasible that is. I don't think Hive currently has a big enough user base to support the idea of separate tokens for every on ramp to hive. I'm not sure separate tokens for hive.blog, ecency, PeakD, etc. would really make sense though I know Leo is making it work.

If it could be done, this could even be used as a marketing opportunity. A sort of Hive rebrand and relaunch.

It is a pretty natural reaction. I too was saying "WTF, is this guy crazy?" when I heard Rondon brought it out in the Town Hall. But yes, there are a lot of complexities that need to be tackled and considered.

I also have a similar thought, each frontend having its own L2 tokens isn't quite sensible considering the small userbase we have here in terms of active content creators.

We will keep an eye on the next town hall and Rondon's post about why he brought out the idea.