Buying ETH Tokens without ETH Gas Fees - Loopring Intro

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I've been doing research lately looking for ways to buy ETH tokens without paying high ETH gas fees. It's worthwhile to bother, because tokens that aren't yet on a centralized exchange (CEX) have the most upside potential. They always do double digit multiples one listed on a CEX. So the time to get them is when they are still on only DEXs.

I just started using Loopring DEX. It's a layer 2 solution, so you have to first deposit your funds onto Layer 2. I did just 1 ETH for testing. The tx took less than a min. and cost the equivalent of $12.36.

Once on the platform, each purchase took a second and had no ETH gas fees. I'll probably pay another $12 or so if I want to withdraw back to Layer 1 for any reason, so since I'll have more tokens I'm moving then (not just ETH) that could be considered the ETH fee in that case. There are also low trading fees paid to the DEX itself.

What Really Works on There

The key thing about trading on Loopring is that there isn't necessarily sufficient liquidity for every pair you see listed there. For some it's so thin it won't allow the trade. For some it will allow the trade, but I wouldn't recommend it because the price impact is 2-5% for using even just .25 ETH. I don't want a single trade to move the price that much! I feel like I can't get out of the trade easily if I do that.

The marginal tokens on there in terms of liquidity were AAVE, COMP, GRID, PNK, RPL & UNI.

The ones that you can freely trade without affecting price (at least when doing only 1 or 2 ETH at a time) are currently: YFI, CEL, BEL, DPI, ENJ, LINK, LRC, WBTC, MCB, MKR, and NIOX.

RFOX just launched a Liquidity Provider special reward period starting today, so clearly they are wanting to get into the “enough liquidity on Loopring” club, and probably will now. If you’ve already got some, or are willing to buy some elsewhere and move it onto Loopring, you’ll probably get some sweet rewards.

I decided to buy YFI, NIOX, and BEL and provide liquidity for one of them with the balance of the ETH I moved there. Not much. This was all just an experiment. It also cost me nothing to provide liquidity!

By the way, both Autonio (NIOX) and Bella (BEL) are interesting projects I only discovered during this testing research. Take a look at both if you're interested in novel DEFI solutions. You can learn more about BEL at bella.fi and learn more about NIOX at autonio.foundation

Mobile Wallet (not free)

If you get the Loopring mobile wallet you buy an ENS name for your address (like yourname.Loopring.eth) for $180 and can then stake LRC for a share of platform fees.

Or outside their wallet, with an app like Metamask or wallet connect, you can provide liquidity and get a share of fees that way, but you can't just stake LRC for a share of all fees. You get a share only of fees on that specific trading pair. Currently about 11%. The two tokens I bought give returns of more like 200% from LP. Plus right now there are those extra Liquidity Provider rewards for both NIOX and RFOX.

More Success Details

There is a 0.03 ETH withdrawal fee for withdrawing LP liquidity, which is a significant amount if you don't put funds in for a long enough period of time.

Here’s my referral code for this exchange that gets us both discounts when you sign up with it. You get about 4% of your fees back and I get about the same. It's exchange.loopring.io/invite/25325

Are you familiar with any of those projects? If so, please share more in the comments.

How about Loopring? Have you been using it?

I'm now favoring tokens I can get there, if I'm going to buy ETH tokens at all and not just stick with Polkadot enabled projects.

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I can't help but think that all of this makes me feel like I should have just kept all my ETH and never gotten into DEFI haha ( not that I spent much of it but many of my coins are more or less stuck ). Gas prices also stop me from further exploring the NFT space, outside of NFT Showroom.

I still appreciate the insider information though and wish you luck on there.

A hug from Portugal!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hey there my friend in Portugal. I wanted so badly to be there for all of last Summer! I had rented houses and everything. Alas, to be some other year.

Yeah, I've got some stuck coins in my wallet that I can't do anything with because the gas fees to trade them are more than what the coins are worth. Live and learn.

I won't be spending more of my ETH anywhere beside moving to/from Loopring and maybe buying on OpenSea. I just can't help myself with the NFTs there, LOL.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @indigoocean! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

get some RFOX, its a good project with a lot of stuff going on, currently 55 mio marketcap and they are going places