You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dcity: An in-depth review from a London University "Digital Media and Games" Professor

in LeoFinance3 years ago

On boarding, I see that as the biggest problem. Whether dCity is easier to “get into” with a PayPal interface, the problem will always be potential players who don’t want to fiddle with the whole “keys” situation needed to run your account on Hive (or any blockchain really). A casual gamer will only want to buy in and play and not be concerned with mechanics of the underlying blockchain.

If a gamer is already willing to learn or apply the work it takes to run your account on the blockchain, then that person is more than likely to be there for the ROI anyway.

Perhaps a company that has a game but doesn’t force the gamer to worry about the keys, ie: the company holds the keys, might work. Although, the problem with that might be in the localities that strictly regulate crypto through the banking laws.

Definitely a lot of food for thought. As for myself, I came to dCity because I missed the start of Splinterlands so many years ago. And while I may have come for the fun, I think I’ll stay for the ROI.

Sort:  

Several Hive games have that onboarding issue actually, although Splinterlands managed to solve it pretty well.

Perhaps that approach can be reused for the other games as well? I do think that more players for one game will lead to more players for the other games as well, as transferring assets between games is pretty cool. I came in via Splinterlands myself for instance, and could start easily with DCity because of my Splinterlands account :).

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Very true. The Hive games strengthen each other and have more potential to draw new Hive users in than the original blogging aspect itself.

The 2nd layer apps will do more for Hive for user onboarding than the main chain itself.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Interesting comment. I wonder how much can be kept on Dcity itself and how best to let new users experience the 1st layer aspects themselves.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You said it with this comment.

In order to grow our our userbase we have to focus on making onboarding easy (maybe in cooperation with other hive games) and find something maybe to create "key awareness" in steps. Also the game dynamics itself are important in getting new players in.

When players have been playing for a while, they will recognize the ROI and investment potential of Dcity and will not only stay, but tell others about this great game they found that actually makes them money.

So as i said many times before, we have to make sure we take care of both aspects and Dcity could go to the moon.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Can't help but think that it should be different from just climbing the ranks by buying more cards / investing more ( that's kind of how it feels to me, right now but maybe I'm missing something here ). It would also make things more interesting if there was more going on. It would be less of a long term ( background ) investment. In other words, more interactivity would be cool.

I also understand that those who invest more, deserve more, but it would be nice if there were some more dynamics at play. And, I guess it would help if the game was to be more rewarding for smaller / new users too ( one way or another ).

Just my two SIM ;<)