You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I don't tell my friends and family about Hive

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I use to say it always, dapps are what eventually would sell hive. I was talking to @joetunex on our podcast #jjfinance that apps like a dating app would absolutely do well for onboarding. Real-world use cases that doesn't suck people into techy aspect. But yeah, we know this. It's the inability to do anything about it that baffles me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

A dating app that publishes your chats to an immutable blockchain and that can't censor you... no matter what you say?

Yeah umm, what could possibly go wrong? 😂

Also, I found the video of your pod via Threads and watched earlier.

Good chat!

You've got a new listener going forward 🙂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea this sounds like a non starter. I don’t get it like it’s just like people are grasping at putting random things on Hive. Many don’t make sense I dunno just my opinion.

I strongly think a Tinder-like DApp on Hive will attract users. Most are finding partners on dating sites now compared to meeting in person.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I see zero reason for this, why would people want there private dating stuff on a permanent blockchain? Maybe I’m missing something :)

You mentioned privacy which is something we care about. The idea is on the DApp itself and not about exposing people of their dating life. The likes of Tinder is a App with big users, a DApp of such kind on Hive might pull in users.

Are there ways to have such DApp without exposing people's privacy? I think that can be achieved.

On the other hand, it is no news how user's data are exchanged on Tinders, which is questionable if we look at the privacy side.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

While I was critical about publishing chat content to a blockchain, I can certainly see merit in users having more control over their personal data.

Right now for example, everything sits on Tinder Inc's servers - A single point of failure, just waiting to be compromised.

I'm not even sure what is technically possible in Web3 when it comes to users remaining in control of their data, but it being completely private to the outside world.

Anyway, you've got me interested in this angle :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If am not mistaken I think I have seen dating App being built on blockchain on Twitter. Sooner or later we will be seeing DApps of such on blockchains.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta