Why You Shouldn’t Ignore Curation On Hive

in LeoFinance14 days ago

1000332856.png



Yesterday, I had an interesting conversation with @gadrian about Hive curation. Back in the day, we assigned identities to accounts; for example, @blocktrades was initially perceived as a curating whale account, and only a few people were aware of their witness duties on the blockchain. It is true that blocktrades was actively involved in curation, but some people assumed they were only there to curate.

The weight of their vote was how users could determine their whale status, but it did create the stereotype that some accounts are only there to curate. To some extent, this is true; I believe that blocktrades were involved in content curation back then in order to increase the number of curating accounts.

There was a lot of vote selling and less original curation, as opposed to now, when people vote based on original curation. While it is true that some accounts are primarily curating accounts, we have seen a significant increase in Orca accounts creating and curating to actively and passively benefit from the chain.

As a result, whale account activities have decreased, while Orca account activities have increased. @appreciator, for example, is a whale account that has primarily curated from the start, not because the account's handler is unable to create content, but because they have been curating from the start, and with that level of stake, they will always benefit more from curating, as I will explain in the latter part of this post.

Many people prefer to focus on creation because it is clearly more rewarding. In fact, most organic curators began as creators before fully understanding Hive and deciding to invest, whereas others chose to grow organically, dabble in another aspect of the chain, and increase their stake.

So, most creators and curators were once enthusiasts who simply wanted to share their passion, and now they are orcas and dolphins who take curation more seriously.

Curation is big business On Hive

To see your favorite curators' curating returns, visit hivestats.io. The statistics are frequently underestimated, but reviewing them forces you to be more deliberate about either increasing your stake or curating. The benefits are massively rewarding in the long run, plus it takes less effort than creating I am one of those people who believes that curation is more rewarding with the right amount of stake and dedicated time.

Unless you have some massive whales auto votes, a cycle of dominant orca supporters, or are certain of the rewards you are getting before actually putting out the post, curation offers more. Of course, it would depend on the type of stake you hold. For example, if you curate with a 5k stake and earn more than that stake by creating content within a set timeframe. However, even if creation pulls in more, let's not forget the time and the effort factor that'll always come to play.

Unless you are an experienced creator, you will always encounter challenges when it comes to creation. However, some people have been able to streamline their type of creation to a specific subject, making them particularly predictable, but the advantage is that they will be consistent with the type of content they produce. Back then, I was more of a creator, not because I enjoyed it so much, but because the exposure I received as a web2 creator helped me develop my skills.

However, I am more of a curator now, because I rely on consumption for inspiration to create. Being a consistent creator without relatively decent content makes you less sharp as time passes. This means that the more you create, the less efficient you become, unless you are constantly consuming in order to keep your ability to create fresh. If you have not checked your stats, you should.



Interested in some more of my works



Is it Easy To Make Money?
Nigeria: A Unique Business Market & Industry
Virtual Bank Apps In Nigeria: An Experience Of Gamification
How To Find The Next "BIG" Meme Coin
Personal Finance: Achieving Intentional "Saving" Goals
Playing The Survival Game: Human Nature In Introspection
"Un-PAYING" The Debt You Owe

png_20230102_074302_0000.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

With at least 5k HP, you can earn decently by curating effectively. That's where I stand now, and (frequently observing through hivestats) it is roughly 1 HP per day. 30 HIVE is something, especially in the bull, so I feel you, man. Creating is mostly going to be my thing for a long time anyway.

Yes, when done effectively, curating yields good returns and that's how whale accounts gets to pay those who are actively delegating to them. 30 HP monthly might seem small, but in a potential bull market it's a lot of money to an extent.

Nice one, bro. I figured this out at some point last year when I came across hivestats.io. I've always been big on curating posts with the little HP I have and there have been moments when I unavoidably had to power down. But, ever since I saw the Curation rewards stats, I became more cautious of how I handle my HP.

Since curating have been a big part of my activity on the Blockchain, it never seems like extra work. I just try to build my HP more. And I always make sure my VP is never at 100%. Haha

It's actually funny because ever since the issue I came across in January that affected my earning by 80%, my Curation reward has been yielding more returning than what I make for creating content on the chain.

It's never extra work, especially when you are happy doing it. I'm happy doing it, and I delegate enough time to do it and do it well. Like you mentioned, when one's earning capacity reduces from content creation they can make up by curating if they have some hive stake at their disposal

I said sometimes in one of my posts that I generate new ideas on what to create when I come online to consume different articles and curate content on the blockchain. I cannot rely on creating alone without reading other articles for fresh knowledge and it has been helping me.
Yes, I do check my stats on that site too.

That's the typical cycle of a hive creator. You need to consume to create, unless you have a niche like tailoring or photography or something like that. Even as at that, it becomes boring sometimes as users wants to always consume something different if they're following one.

You are so right. Many times, I find myself exploring for more because I do get tired of doing the same thing over again.

It's the best thing to do, maximize the stake you have and seek places on the chain which you don't understand much about.

Thank you 😊

Very true! Curation is important, and I try to curate as much as I can. Especially the newbies who really can use the help getting going. I certainly don't have a whale vote, but I like to think it helps a little. Great post!
!hiqvote

I don't have a whale voting me, just a group of orcas, I certainly think that Hive is becoming more Orca and dolphin based than whales. I try my best as well and do the one I can.
It's been a while at your end, how has it been?

Orca's are becoming more common, and I hope to reach it myself one of these day not too far off!

Surviving, arthritis in my feet has flared up, covid vaccine gave me that, the gift that keeps on giving!

@tipu curate

Thank you for curating bro

Curation adds up over time. When you are small and you can't get past the dust threshold, it's not a lot. However, as I grew bigger, I think curation is more important.

Well, even having the mindset to grow when one has a small account is also important. Some big accounts still don't know how to curate well.

Curating when paired with commenting can work wonders for those who create. If you are engaging with and supporting people, they will likely check out your blog at least once to see what you write.

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

It's true. I started with enjoying the process of engagement and consuming a lot of content, it basically helps you to grow. It's a chain where people will check you out if you also check them out as well. You're completely right about this..

Thanks for the curation

Your Curation APR: 8.60%. above average

@appreciator : 8.21
@blocktrades: 8.30
@ranchorelaxo: 7.69
my: 7.86

Cool, thanks for checking out for those other accounts

As our accounts on Hive grow, most of us migrate toward curation. It is a natural process in my opinion, even if we continue to publish posts regularly. As long as we understand the power of curation and use it responsibly, that leads to a better Hive and better results for us, personally.

Thanks for the mention!

You're right, as an account grows it tends to direct it's actions towards curation. I tend to enjoy more curation these days. Thanks for the inspiration for this post. I had to check some of these stats even if I knew my Curation was already top notch.

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Well said, looking at our stats is important, especially for newcomers. My plan is to create a natural progression from creating to curating, focusing more on the latter as time goes on. I also think the latter is more rewarding from a time and effort perspective, and we also get to learn something new or interesting while also distributing tokens to more people.

The latter is fun and rewarding but takes a lot of time and stake too. Everyone with a purposeful strategy eventually gets it, but it takes a lot of time.

I just want to say that stalking your curation returns was NOT part of my plans for today

People unintentionally do so, when the learn so from others that curation is good business.

mmm it seems the estimated vote value on hivestats is overshot though, compared to the estimated vote value on hivetasks.

Some informations are not correct, though. But majorly 80% of the stats are okay.

Curation is big business On Hive

First time reading this. Can I build here a business empire? 😆

!LOLZ

It's possible. With the right asset (staked Hive) you'll see for yourself.

Wow! Such an opportunity didn't exist before.

I slept like a baby last night.
I woke every two hours and cried.

Credit: reddit
@josediccus, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of rzc24-nftbbg

(1/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

One thing I don’t do is checking my stats but I think I gotta start taking it seriously. I’d be checking it at least, once a week so I’d be familiar with my progress

Well you need to start checking, start curating and monitoring it.

Personally, i don't really understand how the curation process really but I have heard of its many benefits. How do I get more insights on this? Thanks

Check the website in the post and put your username

Congratulations @josediccus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Let the curation continue

Well, since I am not into content creation, my only option is to grow my HP. Nevertheless, there are at least two tribes that my votes count.

!BBH

!PIZZA

@josediccus! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @arlenec2021. (1/1)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@arlenec2021(1/5) tipped @josediccus

Thanks for the motivation.

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (2/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @josediccus gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻