TUTORIAL - How to use liketu, the new social media platform on hive blockchain

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I was waiting for it since the day I saw this post and it is finally here!

image.png

liketu

Liketu- the brand new Hive-based front end that exists as an idea since 2018. Now it was time for it to become real! As per their introductory posts, the users will be able to tag their images, they will be able to spread 'synthetic likes' without expenses in their voting power and also distribute 'premium content' to their subscribers..

As it mentions:

Liketu is a social media platform that easily lets users create, share and monetize content on a blockchain network.

Let's put it to the test - together!

It is time to test it! I will share the process with you and feel free to comment below..

Visiting the site: https://liketu.com/

I like the colors and site aesthetics. Mild, easy to navigate and clear options.

image.png

I already see one familiar face .. @jongolson :)

At first we see photograph categories, clicking on a category you see all the images under th same tag. As we move down we see that we can select to see 'Trending' 'New' or 'Hot' photos.

Sign up or Log in!

If you dont have a hive account, you can sign up (but please check out hiveonboard because it is seems as if the service is not available) If you are reading this and wish to sign up, use this link to choose your sign up method
https://signup.hive.io/

image.png

Logging in .. Let's see the options here;

The users have the options between using their private key or keychain

image.png

I will be using Keychain for this option

Options of liketu

Screenshot(6).png

Upload a photo/post

Click on the photograph to upload a post

My first post will be (randomly selected) with 2 small boats and the background of my city's old port.

This is what you see:
Add images, title, content and up to 10 tags.
On your right you can select 'Monetize Original Content' 0, 50 or 100%
I am not sure what it is but I chose 100% :)
And if you post NSFW (not safe for work) then you can tick that box.
You also have the option to 'save draft' or 'post'

This time I will post but we can also save a few drafts and post when you dont have time to create content.

image.png

After posting

This is how the post appears

image.png

Your liketu posts will be appearing in your hive blog so if you do not want that, perhaps you should create a new account?

image.png


Interacting & Commenting!

You need to follow some creators to see them in your feed.
I followed @jongolson.liketu and this is what you will notice :

image.png

Click n the heart for a simple like
Click on the ^ to Upvote
Click on the star to add to favorites (you can create a number of collections)
Click on the three dots to unfollow or block/report

Settings

I recommend that you take a look at the settings before starting.

image.png

Perhaps setting a default weight and enable a slider?

Profile

If you click on your profile you will be able to edit it and check out your followers/following. I see that you start at point zero.

image.png

Hamburger Menu - Dashboard

You will find your dashboard after clicking on the hamburger menu.
I am not sure what a creator's dashboard is but let's try it out

image.png

Apparently we will be able to monetize our content in multiple ways?
Terms of Service:

image.png

I am confirming of course

I received a pending notification

Creator Account Pending

Thanks for registering as a creator on Liketu. Please wait a few minutes whilst we verify the transaction on the blockchain. You will receive a notification when it has completed.

Hamburger Menu - Collections

All images/posts that you will favorite (clicking the star) will be added here, and you can make different collection topics.

Hamburger Menu - Drafts

Here you will see all your draft posts

Hamburger Menu - Wallet

Here you can see your wallet and do the most important actions such as transfer/power up or down but also you get to see the memberships and income (more about that in a future post - we need to test more and see how this works)

image.png

Membership

image.png

Income

image.png


Going back to my post I see that I can also upvote replies to my content, respond back etc!
It sure looks easy to use!

image.png


Final Opinion

This sure looks very easy to use, and I liked the interface a lot.
Sleek, simple and it does what it has been planned to do.
It remains to see how users will respond to it and how this will operate with the 'Memberships' & 'Premium Content'
I may use it with my alternative account, or create an account only to test it more thoroughly.

In the meantime, please tell me below if you will use it, if you do I will be happy to follow you there! Also pls share your questions so that me or maybe the team will want to respond to!

Thank you for visiting!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, simply didn't know about it, but it looks pretty cool and trendy.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

What are the key advantages of LikeTu if compared with the other frontends?

I was wondering the same thing. 😊

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I answered in detail to Crptospa but I d love to share my opinion with you..
Likety seems to be more photography-oriented, so it could appeal to the people who prefer to post photography than other types of content? Not sure yet. It seems easy to use, but I dont think I would use it with this account.
I would be very interested to know your thoughts on this.
!LUV

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for the extra information. I was wondering if it was going to be a Pinterest type thing (as you mentioned below). I might be tempted to use that, although probably not.

So many of these projects on Hive start with a flourish and then peter out.

I was reading yesterday that the number of actual active accounts are well down on 2018 even with the influx of all the Splinterlands players.

So unless the creators are prepared to put a lot of work into promoting and developing it, I don't think it will get very far.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Are you including the people who are active in games like Splinterlands? We really do have to have the mindset that activity on Hive means anyone using the chain, not just posting.

Yes. The figures I saw posted included Splinterlands . . .

I was reading yesterday that the number of actual active accounts are well down on 2018 even with the influx of all the Splinterlands players.

interesting .. either way .. those active accounts seem to be producing decent material so we just keep on working on ways to grow.

Well if it works, this remains to be seen but I believe it has been created in order to facilitate the content creators not only to share content for the public, but also to be able to earn via memberships and via including premium content for their subscribers.
Also, by having the 'heart-like' option separately from the 'upvote', it allows users with low VP (or new users) to be able to show support to the users they follow.
To me, it looks a little bit like pinterest. I see a bunch of photographs in their front end, so it is photography-focused.
If it will be embraced, it remains to be seen.
If they will have their own token, this has not been shared yet.
It's a start, but there have been many other innovative projects that just could not keep up with the updates..
Let's see :)
@gillianpearce & @tin.aung.soe this may answer your questions :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you so much for the detailed answer!

Thanks for sharing this i am going to check it out now.
I don't know if there will be advantages to it until all the features are active.
Great post my friend @katerinaramm
Have a blessed day :)
thankyousocialxmas.png

Thank you so much!

You are welcome
@katerinaramm
Have the best day😎

It same like Instagram 😏 but on hive ♥️

Yes :) I was thinking of pinterest on hive!

What is a synthetic like?

Hi! Sorry for replying back so late.
As far as I understand a synthetic like does not affect our voting power. It also does not give any crypto rewards. So it is different from the normal upvote and it is only used as a means of encouragement (good for the new accounts too)

Okay that makes sense. When I first started on Hive, upvoting was explained to me as a monetary like. Now I am learning the other way. We have come full circle lol 😀

Thank you for sharing your first impressions of Liketu with the tutorial. I am most probably going to go on there and poke around and learn about it to see what it's like. It does look pretty user friendly from what I can tell here. Enjoy your Sunday and Merry Christmas!

Thanks so much ;) I will use the Tier section in the next few days and I will wait for updates from the team, to see whats going on and what is planned!

You're welcome! Sounds great and enjoy your holiday celebrations!😀🎄
!ALIVE



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

@katerinaramm! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

I'm going to try it out. I remember there was something like this, Appics?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Appics still exists and is getting ready to launch its new app ;) Currently it is on the testnet (tell me if you need more info)
This looks to me a little bit like pinterest, and I find the membership option to be innovative. Still, I dont know if the users will embrace this. We will see what happens!
So many different things to try out, so little time :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That is really insane ! I'll definitely go on it ! !PIZZA

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good to know!
!beer

I logged in, but couldn't use it. The thumbnail only showing with no description is not useful for me. I need to at least understand the topic of a post before clicking on it. I'll be waiting until the site is further along before using it.

I do like the concept though...

You are absolutely right.
This is why to me it looks a bit more pinterest/instagram etc - photography focused. I guess you are @notconviced ;)))
As people are starting to post more content, I see some more issues as well.
Each post looks multiple times, as many as the hashtags used in the post.. This does not look good.
I would like to see how the team reacts and their post update soon!
Thank you so much for coming over my post :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank for sharing!
What Benefits can I get by using LikeTu beside HIVE Token?

!LUV

!PIZZA

I believe that this platform is for content creators who enjoy posting photography or for ones who wish to have premium content uploaded for special subscribers.
An extra way to monetize your content? May be.
Also it may attract more people who do not know hive :)
We will see what happens!
Your thoughts?
!BEER

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Hey @tin.aung.soe, here is a little bit of BEER from @katerinaramm for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for sharing a tutorial and I shared this on @leomarkettalk so more people know about it.

I am little skeptical about how memberships and premium content though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ykretz.leo(1/6) tipped @katerinaramm (x1)
gillianpearce tipped katerinaramm (x1)
tin.aung.soe tipped katerinaramm (x1)

Join us in Discord!

!LUV !PIZZA !LOLZ

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

What's the difference between a cat and a frog?
A cat has nine lives, but a frogs croaks every night.

@katerinaramm, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @gillianpearce
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/4)

Congratulations @katerinaramm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I used it yesterday to post one of my coloured images. I think it will be great when I want to share images but not create a full post around it. I agree, it is very easy to use.

I didn't see the post appear on my blog but it does appear when I look in All Posts on PeakD.

It will be interesting to see how the subscription function gets used.

Hi! Thanks for coming over!
You first need to be approved as a content creator and then you can create tiers.
The only question is .. what does everyone of us have to share .. exclusively to other people?
There could be a ton of different answers. I see this going far away, but it needs some kick.
I already created a test tier and I will see if I can test it with a friend
If you create a Tier let me know :)

I was approved as a creator .. haven't played with the tiers yet. Yes, the question is what would be exclusive content.. maybe some who do image tutorials might put some of them behind the tiers.. post the finished work in public and the process behind the paywall. I guess there is possibilities.

Yep, I keep coming up with a ideas and I am sure that there are people having more ideas than me.
I guess it would be very cool if we could also somehow search what kind of tiers are available...
I would also love to see an update by the team, but I see they are not very active at the moment ..
Let's just wait a little bit and see!

Your post is really amazing bro.

Loading...