Sort:  

Some people just don't get it. They happily take the rewards that seem to appear as if by magic, but with one downvote they flip out and throw all their toys out of the pram. Part of the problem is that the Hive platform does not really educate users very well. They will not track down posts like this.

I have yet to see people complain they are getting higher payouts. Most of these types are spoiled long enough that they come deluded that rewards = value they put up instead of attributing some curations are just rogue votes and mindless bots curating. It's amazing how entitlement can manifest as reeeee when the 7 day window hasn't arrived and you took out potential rewards.

They could always go back to Steem where the funds are directly stolen from your wallet after the 7 day payout, or try Blurt where no downvotes are existent and anyone can plagiarize and spam as much as they want.

Yeah, they can remain in blissful ignorance of how things work. I'm giving up on debating with a certain lady for now. If I see her in person again we can discuss then. I will keep doing what I can for Hive.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Disagreement over rewards is a fair enough reason for a flag, although with the person who wrote the post around bullying - I've met her and she's a perfectly pleasant individual but she's earned a fortune through Hive and cashed probably about 99% of it out.

I've less sympathy for people who don't re-invest in the platform, if the place means that much to you, Power Up or stop whinging I say!

Agreed! I would definitely be less sympathetic towards someone who's whining because someone is reducing the "milk" they are getting from their "cash cow."

Just like I'd be far more P.O.'d if someone was flagging 100% power up posts.

=^..^=

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

but she's earned a fortune through Hive and cashed probably about 99% of it out.

Yes, I can't say this goes down too well with me either. I had a look yesterday.

The "flag" concept is long dead and buried. It contributed to a lot of strife and confusion surrounding downvotes, so it's best to just call them what they are.

I've less sympathy for people who don't re-invest in the platform, if the place means that much to you, Power Up or stop whinging I say!

It's refreshing to hear that. The general idea of rewards distribution is half of it is in HP, so you earn stake with your rewards. If you go and power it down and then whine about not having more influence, um yeah... tough.

Good points, all!

A long time ago, I remember getting some pretty "unpopular" feedback for making the observation that nobody "worked for" Steem and nobody there was "an employee," and thus nobody there was "owed" a damn thing for anything they did there. Sadly, the "entitlement factor" is pretty high with a lot of people.

I've had $0.00 posts, and I've had a couple that were $200+. I've been flagged by Abit and Smooth; I've been on the outskirts of flag wars that had nothing to do with me, and for a while I was perpetually downvoted because I had SBI shares. SO EFFING WHAT???

=^..^=

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sadly, the "entitlement factor" is pretty high with a lot of people.

So very true. The few times that someone has been kicked off the @Abundance.Tribe/ @Tribevibes voting trail for anything other than dropping off the chain, all of those people went on rampages about me. (sometimes calling me Hitler)

Definitely had my share of getting pulled into flag wars :-P And I totally got that SBI down-voting for a month or two after I bought a ton of shares for other people as part of a giveaway.

It's all part of the ride :-)

You missed the part where people will cry out censorship when they get downvoted when they really just cry out for the rewards lost.

Exactly.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh how I wish I was there in those old days, that flagged post from 2016 still netted over $3000. I bet it was a blast then!

I personally think if you're downvoting because of post quality, it may be helpful to leave a comment detailing how quality could be improved. We all want high quality content on Hive, and sometimes a little bit of guidance goes a long way.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, I think a short comment as to the reason for downvote would go a long way for not making people freak out if they've done something wrong or upset someone. Especially if you just want to balance out a specific OP vote and it has nothing to do with the post itself. Or yes, also in case the content really is subpar, just get in a bit of constructive criticism and avoid the 'receiver' building up their own stories in their head as to what might be the reason.


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~

Congratulations @kennyskitchen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Although I found the title a bit misleading, thank you for this post! ;) Because in this article I found a very, very useful and sense-making explanation how rewards really work here on Hive and what it is with the payout-phase (thus cannot vote on articles older than 7 days), etc.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I believe downvotes shouldn't be used regularly because it creates a lot of division and angst against users. If you have a disagreement with someone else then upvote other content that they are targeting, if they are stealing other peoples work then at that point is a perfect use case of downvoting.

I believe we should keep the peace on hive but I also understand that downvoting is a form of regulating the blockchain.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I see downvoting as a learning experience. It shouldn't be discouraging to the blogger, but encouraging to learn what content will be rewarded or not. Spiteful down-voting should not be tolerated, however.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

People who don't like downvotes can always use the BLURT fork from STEEM. No one is there, though, and the token has basically no value. Curation has a purpose.

Awesome.... going to check it out.

Don't bother. My airdrop from their fork back when I still had half my old STEEM stake is worth literally pennies. I didn't see any active community like we have here. I think it's most likely a dead end.

Keep on whining about the downvote. You'll invite more downvote in the process.
The problem with you people is that you thought the potential rewards are already yours even when they're not yet on payout. Before the payout on the 7th day, the potential reward still belongs to the reward pool. As one whale can allocate that reward to you, another whale can take it away. Addendum: It's not censorship. It's merely reward distribution mechanism.

Source: OCD / ybanezkim26

It seems like you didn't read my post, because the whole post is explaining those points, in detail.

Either that or this reply just isn't addressed at me, but is a general comment to whoever?

I agree with your post.

Gotcha.

As it was a reply to the post, I was reading it as a reply to me, which made no sense to me :-P

He's a troll. He copied my reply to that online bullying post.

Now he's copying my reply to make his own post and even reply it to others. He's so into Blurt that made me wonder why he's still here. @offgridlife just wait for I will zero out all your posts. Again, you are a waste of space. 😂

My point exactly....

just wait for I will zero out all your posts.

Typical

Turns out I don't have to. You made a lot of enemies bruh! Reflects your attitude. Have fun in Blurt!