Why Aren't More People Competing in dCity's Splinterlands Tournaments?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Ever since I started to compete in Splinterlands tournaments, the dCity ones have been one of my favorites. With a price money of 101$ paid in DEC, it's one of the more lucrative ones in the roster. Oddly enough, these tournaments seldom see more than 50 people competing in them. In this article, I want to show you why you really should compete in these tournaments, even if you are neither among the top players nor playing dCity.

tourmanemt.png

So lets talk entry fee first. In this case, the entry fee is fittingly paid for in Entry. Incidentally, I assume this is the main reason why most people are not competing in these tournaments. After all, you need some obscure token awarded from another game. Here's the thing, though - while Entry can exclusively be earned playing dCity, you are in no way obligated to get it from there. Instead, you can easily acquire it on Hive-Engine.

But why jump through all these loops if you can just compete for 10 DEC in the regular Splinterlands tournaments? Well, for one, with the current number of active players in the tournament, even if you don't win a single game, you'd still be in the green afterwards. Right now, 500 Entry would cost you about 2.5 Hive. If you don't buy it right away but instead place a buy order, you should even be able to get it as low as 1.5 Hive. Now if we compare that with the payout of 500 DEC which you would simply earn for showing up, you'd look at a gain of 1-2 Hive, because you'd have to pay 3.675 Hive right now to buy 500 DEC. So you are basically paid 1-2 Hive just to compete in the tournament. So not only is the entry free, but you are potentially looking at earning several thousand DEC on top of it without having to risk anything.

payout.png

As you can see, last time a final score of 5-6 would have been enough to win 1000 DEC. Also, if you look at the tournament page at the top, the tournament follows Gold League rules so even if you are not in Diamond or Champion League, you should be able to compete for the better spots. Ultimately, I feel like not competing in these tournaments would be a missed opportunity. Last time around, I managed to place 7th for a win of 4,333 DEC and I'm certainly not a top player.

To make things even more interesting, there's a second tournament from dCity that's scheduled for next week, November 25th. This one does have a 1,000 Entry entry fee, but it also comes with an altered rule set.

bronze.png

As you can see, it's a Bronze league tournament with all editions allowed. This should allow most Splinterlands players to compete at a somewhat even footing. With 201 paid spots in total, chances are pretty good that you will win some DEC, no matter how good or bad you do. To tell the truth, with the numbers of entrants these tournaments saw so far, you should most likely win at least 1,000 DEC from the tournament if you manage to win at least 1 or 2 of your games. I will certainly compete in this tournament and I think I should have at least a shot at places 9 to 16 which would translate to a win of 4,000 DEC.

Ultimately, I can only encourage anybody actively playing the game to compete in these tournaments. There's almost no way for you to loose money in the process and chances are good you'll actually walk a way with a nice win. With the numbers we have right now, this is even guaranteed and I really don't see any reason to miss out on the fun.

While we are talking about it, the same is true for the Novice and Bronze league tournaments at least. I know, back when I was a new player in Splinterlands, I was really afraid to give those tournaments a shot because I thought there was no way that I could compete with anybody. The truth is, though, once you've played a season or two and acquired some of the basic cards, you should be more than prepared for your first tournament so why not give it a shot?

And that's all from me for today, maybe I'll see some of you in one of the upcoming dCity tournaments? Anyway, thank you all for reading and see you next time!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I have a couple of reasons that I don't participate. The first being that in the past tournaments were just too tedious. They took forever to get through if you actually made it past the first round. The other issue is I pretty much suck at the game so you spent all of that time and typically got nothing out of it. The ROI was just never there, so I gave up on tournaments a long time ago.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ah, I see - guess it certainly is not worth the time if you don't actually enjoy playing them ;-)
At least I can reassure you on the multiple round issue - the dCity tournaments only last a day, there's no need for multiple rounds.

It takes a whole day to play a tournament? I thought ah hour was bad. That sounds just horrible!

Well it only takes as long as it takes you to register your teams - if you don't watch the battles unfold that would be about 20 minutes for the whole tournament.

That doesn't seem too bad.

Now I know what ENTRY tokens are for, I did wonder. The tournaments tie me down to specific times... and so I am not a fan.

Well you have 24 hours to register your teams so I usually find enough time to do so.
The introduction of anytime tournaments certainly was huge for Splinterlands.

Yeah most people don't have entry token in their balance, so the don't participate. Thanks for sharing.

You post has been manually curated by @monster-curator Team!**

monstermarket.png

Let's hope it helps to get some more players involved :-)

thanks for getting my attention back to this..

with the anytie in the world rule that makes a tremendous difference since you can play every hour. makes it a lot different I woud say.and for 10 dec...hell yeah Im gonna give it a try soon again!

Great to have you back then :-)

thanks just joined one of them

Congratulations @khazrakh! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update

You should make another post about the upcoming tournament (mostly to remind me specifically to join) haha just kidding. I think you're right about not many people participating simply because we don't have stadiums in our dCities which produce entry tokens. Do you have a stadium? Do you play dCity? I don't recall you posting about it...
I think that really bottlenecks the Splinterlands community and possibly even weeds out some really good players, making it easier to win some battles. You've successfully convinced me to participate. If I remember, that is.

Haha, well I'll try to mention it again before it starts ;-)

Is just recently picked up dCity but I only produce a small amount of Entry so far. Thing is, it's so cheap to pick up on Hive-Engine that you really don't need to produce any yourself. The worth of the minimum DEC you are going to win is already higher than what you have to pay on the market. If more people find out about it, that might change over time, but right now it's a safe bet.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta