I Made An NFT So Why Am I Not Rich? Part 1.

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Trump

My first NFT.

So far this past week or so Visa has dropped $150k on a Crypto Punk, Steph Curry dropped $180k on a Bored Ape, and a 12 year old boy scored almost $400k from a collection of whale NFTs.

Scrolling through walls upon walls of art on opensea.io, I'm generally unimpressed. There are plenty of people trying to get in on the collection craze by inserting the word crypto in front of everything. Crypto-cats. Crypto-dogs. One pixel of difference is assumed by people employing these tactics that it will warrant big bucks. They are essentially spamming these things and waiting to cash checks ad naseum.

Others like to steal the art of moderately successful artists and post the work as their own. Some are getting serious bucks for them and the artists are completely unaware. A lot of these platforms are telling the artists to kick rocks when they inquire about the plagiarism.

But you all know this stuff. You are part of the crypto nerd elite. The ride or die token squad.

What you're really thinking about is the same thing as me: How do I fucking cash in on this?

Sure, you could buy one and get in on the tulip-mania. Some of you may even get lucky and make a sale. Or maybe you'll be like Steph and get offered significantly less than what you paid for the item. (Right now the offer is at $140k. That's a nice little loss, but probably peanuts to Curry.)

I don't have the money to lose. I work as a first responder and as much as I love it, fast food wages seem competitive these days. I do have sweat equity though. I figured the best tactic may be to create my own. The image at the top of the page (Trump), is my first shot at the NFT game. I'll be taking a systematic approach and trying different strategies which I hope to share with you all along the way.

Right now the strategy is this: Just fucking make something.

I decided to go with an image that has no significance to me. I drew the above Trump while I was in a feverish COVID state earlier in the year. Other than that all I did was add a QR code. There is no deep meaning. There is special reward or attribute. No SEO, no real promotion, it's just a cartoon.

OpenSealogo.png

What I have learned so far is that Opensea is the way to go. A lot of the other NFT markets are being held closed by Gatekeepers from the general public. (Isn't that sort of against the decentralized philosophy?). There's that AND the fact that gas prices are atrocious at the moment (That's pretty much true for everything though.) Opensea does not charge for minting if you choose to do a "lazy-mint". If you choose to go with the latter method the buyer pays the gas to mint the NFT. That is unless you accept a lesser offer in which case you as the seller pays the fees. I implore you to give it a try.

Like @whatsup said in their post about buying one of the Weird Whales,

"Crypto makes us a little crazy."

Why not give it a go on the craze?

If you have any NFT's link them below in the comments and I'll check them out. Feel free to share any strategies you use to make sales.

More importantly, if you'd like to make me rich buy my NFT here. I want to be a hundred-aire..

Or you could just follow me. That works for now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I don't get some NFT's at all.

One has to admit it's an interesting time for an investment and the floor on the weird whales has actually risen since I bought it. :)

I can't wait to see if others drop their stuff.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's literally insane.

We all know better.

What stopped us from buying this shit before?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have no idea... lol.

I've had a great crypto year and maybe I'm acting a little more loose now that I have less fear that I'm going to miss everything. Or maybe I have more FOMO and I can't stand to miss anything...

See, I still sound crazy.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

AMEEERICAAA!

I feel it's pretty close to accurate.

Not to sound harsh, but I would have changed the AK's with AR-15's or something.

But I still like it!

I'm finally looking to get into the game as well. The NFT space is perplexing for sure. It's almost embarrassing in some respects what is going on.

Definitely but that’s crypto in general. It’s a good thing. If you realize that you’re ahead. Someone has to hold the bag.

In your experience, how much were the fees on opensea? For both the platform and gas fees just to get the NFT out there? I noticed that Polygon / Matic is an option but seems like most these high priced pixelated success stories were on Ethereum.

I started the account a couple weeks ago and gas was a lot for just an experiment. $60-90. I hear right now it may be worse. Ethereum is in a weird spot.

From what I’m noticing the collections are what is having success right now. It looks like a whole lot of luck on opensea. Some of the other websites or platforms may be a better bet if you’re creating but you’re also going to have to pay per mint at those. Opensea charges you gas after the sale but wants an initial fee to get started.

I'm going to do my Collection on Polygon on Opensea. I also want to do some stuff on WAX as well.

https://support.opensea.io/hc/en-us/articles/4404029357587-How-do-I-create-and-sell-NFT

Good looking out. I just bought some Polygon today during the dip, so maybe I can put it to use.

I have been farming on Polygon and the fees are negligible. My returns have been better on the Binance Smart Chain despite the fees being a little higher. Usually 0.25 - $1 to do something on BSC. Polygon is like fractions of a penny to do things.

Nftshowroom.com,...

I get what you're saying but don't you have to be whitelisted? Seems like another "gatekeeper" situation.

It's pretty easy to get into the nftshowroom, but lensy is pretty snobby.

I appreciate the help either way. You actually inspired me to write a post about how I feel on the subject. Thank you so much for the follow and I'll following you back shortly.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta