The "Madonna & Child" Medieval Silver Denar Coin

in LeoFinance8 months ago

Today fellow stacker @trumpman posted some sexy images of his Chubby Beauty, an Hungarian 1 Thaler coin from 1780!

I'm gonna keep it Hungarian, but go a little more modest. In honor of today, when the Catholic Church celebrates The Most Holy Name of Mary, I'm showing you an Hungarian silver Denar coin from 1536, which features on its obverse the Blessed Virgin Mary holding the baby Jesus, and on its reverse the Hungarian Coat of Arms.

This coin is a lot more diminutive than most silver coins, measuring 15.5 mm and containing only 0.02 ounces of silver. It's not really a coin to stack, but it appeals to me as a Catholic of Hungarian heritage.

If you would like one of these coins for yourself, you can find them at Apmex and at The Dublin Mint Office

Sort:  

Very cool coin! So much history behind it! That's what I love about old coins, they will be around when we are long gone.
!DHEDGE

Thanks! I love it too. I bought a few so that I can give a coin to my dad and to each of my sisters.

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @thebighigg! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus

@thebighigg has 12 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

Thanks @thebighigg and @dhedge! Your support is very much appreciated!

Congratulations @kunschj! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 58000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 59000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2023
The countdown to HiveFest⁸ is two weeks away - Join us and get your exclusive badge!

Thank you @hivebuzz!

All good @kunschj! You're a true Hive champion! Onward to that new goal!

Nice old coin! This is real antique coin?!

Thanks, friend. It's the oldest coin I own, dating back to The Renaissance. According to what I read, it's one of the first coins ever to bear a date. Apparently each coin was hand struck, making them all unique.

Wow! This coin could be in a museum or at auction!

This may not be a lot of silver but still rich in history behind it.

Thanks @kerrislravenhill. That's a great way to put it!

It's funny, I have that in my cart for two weeks now. Every time I about to close my cart, I end up buying form another dealer, and so I don't get the minimum order. In time, it will!

Great minds think alike :) This coin will make a nice addition to your collection.

Wow! So much has happened in one month! You don’t post any new photos.