You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Venezuelans, Cryptos and Hive - An Explainer

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I saw this post via @riverflows reblog, and I have to confess

1/ I have only become more aware of the dire situation in Venezuela since joining Steem Hive and
2/ I am often amazed by the vast number of Venezuelans on Hive and their reach

Like all communities and countries, when the numbers are large, the 'bad' side of things magnifies, so when you only have a small % of something that is 'bad', the absolute number can be high, and it's this pool of people which give the Venezuelan community a negative or less desirable impression on Hive. And that is unfortunate, because every other Venezuelan, then gets dragged into that same pool.

I have personally seen many new joiners from the Venezuelan community all writing their first post using the same tags, all tagging the whales. That makes me cringe, and I am sure I'm not the only one to feel that way. First impressions counts, and if people are here just to chase whale votes, by throwing out mediocre content because of their personal circumstance, then that is a sad reality for Hive. Nothing anyone can do much about it because there are whales who are willing to take part and be chased.

That said, this situation is not unique to the Venezuela community on Hive, but again it goes back to volume and absolute numbers, hence the focus on a particular community.

Finally, I'd like to add, for every whale chaser, I'm sure there are plenty of good content creators out there, and it seems that you have started off with a good list.

Sort:  

It amazes me too. When I curate Spanish content, I often try to find as many posts from other nationalities as possible, but it's overwhelmingly Venezuelan, it's a bit frustrating because I don't want it to seem like favoritism, but there's no real escape from it.

As for the posts and the tags, yeah, it's totally cringe-worthy to me as well, hahaha. There are many reasons for it, though:

  1. Most people here don't own a computer and lots don't even have smartphones, not only because they can't afford them, but also because of fear. Criminal and police violence has had a profound impact on our collective psyche and anything too flashy or expensive is a potential security risk for most citizens.

  2. Internet is either non-existent or really unstable and poor in most of the territory, due to all of the issues I mentioned in the post and others that I may discuss in further contributions.

  3. For the above reasons, the majority of the users who join this platform have little to no experience in blogging or content creation, and a lot don't even have basic experience with internet, let alone blockchain.

As you say, all of this happens with a lot of nationalities. All I can do is offer advice to people who have these issues, and encourage them to improve.

Thank you so much for this comment! I'm humbled by the engagement. 🙏

I like to add... this post alone is tagging me for the last hour is every single edit. The only thing it does is to annoy me ;)

Secondly, what is financial about this post to post in Leofinance?

Yes, sorry about the notifications, but I often re-read my posts to correct typos and stuff I missed before posting, I think it's a good habit.

Speaking of which, I wanted to thank you for the advice you gave me about repetitiveness, I've been introducing more variety in my presentation and format since then, you've helped me improve.

As to why this post is in LeoFinance, I encourage you to read it in full without prejudice, and I hope that we can have some really constructive debate about it. Thank you for commenting!