You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Pays Out Better Than Other Social Media

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

I've always held the opinion that the money here is completely and utterly superior to anything Web 2.0 is able to pay. This is why doing your social media stuff here is superior from a monetary point of view.

I used to be totally confused as to why I could not get my friends to join back in the early days of Steem despite the fact that they could've shot shit just like they did on other platforms while collecting a bit of change while at it. Even small sums add up over time. I still am confused as to why this isn't happening because the monetization of content creation on social media is nothing new. There are plenty of people who wouldn't mind earning a bit on their hobby.

But today I'm grateful. I'm grateful for most people having a totally different attitude to money. If someone keeps throwing coins at me for going about my day on the Internet, who am I to tell them they shouldn't? Perhaps I benefit from the brain circuits in my head that are responsible for envy not working at all. I'm incapable of that feeling. When some people see other people making much more than they think they "deserve", they can't process that and that's all they can think from then on.

I chimed in when I saw some people bash Web 3.0 on Twitter the other day. I knew the guy who had made the original tweet to be left leaning politically. A number of people took part in the discussion and most of the agreed that money was the root of many an evil. The conversation entailed a lot of blockchain bashing, too. One guy liked decentralization but he was on Mastodon and did not fancy money nor blockchain. Well, you can't please everyone.