You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LeoFinance Engagement | I Just Sent Out 1400 LEO to Everyone Who Beat Me Last Week

in LeoFinance2 years ago

And it makes us all want to write for those coveted spots.

Its like writing a book and getting on a bestseller list - worth the salt and tears.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I can totally understand that, but I honestly don't think it actually works like that. Some people, perhaps like you, might be eager to jump in and compete for the awesome prize, but how are you going to compete with an article that has been pulling in ~100 visitors per month for a year?

That doesn't come easy, especially as it takes something like 3-6 months for Google to actually rank content. Which means that whatever you publish today, won't even stand a chance to compete for the prize until it has been ranked properly.

That being said, if you manage to rank high and claim that sweet top spot, you can continue to earn LEO passively by simply just keeping your content up to date moving forward. It's a tough target to hit though, which is why I personally doubt that it would be "encouraging enough" for most people to start creating optimized content.

I also don't mean to come off like all negative or something like that because I truly love the idea and Khal's goal of rewarding content that will bring organic traffic over time.. But it's really hard to come up with a solid solution. It's not as easy as it might seem.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

We are both harping on different ends of the spectrum.

I know plenty of bloggers who bring in more traffic than we are all bringing in together all by themselves.

You want a way to get more people doing the "right" things. I think that just a handful of us doing those things could carry the weight for a little - then explosions will happen.

My experience on the blockchain has been that learning things that bring tangible results (money in your pocket) are easily learned my more - than things that are intangible (create more money for everyone through organic growth).

But I've been talking the talk for a while, and only walking a little. I'm building over here - let's see if I can get 100 views organic views per month from some chosen articles.

I just need more info.

Like ... where can I see the views on my posts?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Loading...

I think the top ranking content should earn a lot. I see what you’re saying though - we need to ensure that the competition is a fair competition.

That being said, it seems like it would make sense that if you put in the blood, sweat and tears to make something rank high in the long-run, you should get paid for that.

I just wonder if there are other ways. I mentioned the idea above of creating a ranking algorithm.

Another idea: have different prizes for different metrics. I.e.

  1. #1 ranking article for traffic the past week = 100 LEO prize
  2. “Rising Star” article each week is the article that jumped the rankings the fastest = 100 LEO prize
  3. … etc.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That being said, it seems like it would make sense that if you put in the blood, sweat and tears to make something rank high in the long-run, you should get paid for that.

I totally get your point and I agree. I somewhat answered this in my other comment where I talked about having a limit. Increase that to 5K or 10K LEO, whatever floats your boat, but I do think that having a limit could decrease the potential risk of people trying to cheat their way to glory.

Another idea: have different prizes for different metrics. I.e.

This is a cool idea. The more the merrier, as it would increase the overall competition for those various prizes meaning more organic traffic over time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta