Buying My First Plot of Land

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

Ladies and Gentlemen, I finally got myself a plot of land today, on Splinterlands. I’ve been monitoring the price for over 5 months for the right time to get in, I watched the price grow from $20 to around $860 where I think it peaked and has been ranging from $700 to around $900.

Today I caught the price at $580 and I suddenly knew it was time for me to become a land owner. After making necessary transfers, I clicked buy but somehow ended up paying around $700! lol I can’t even explain. I guess the price had changed in that small margin of time and I clicked buy anyway. Well, it is what it is isn’t it!

I’m confident in this investment for several reasons. First of, it serves as an hedge to the possible drop in Hives market value. At the moment of writing this post, Hive’s market value is $2.19. The plot cost 340 issshh Hive. One part of me will like to sell it back at a profit and another part of me wants to hold it and actually use it in game.

CE1E371B-0F64-41D8-B916-57D60F72BF5C.jpeg
Source

Since this whole metaverse craze began, games with Lands for sale have gone bonkers with sales of Lands, Decentraland, Sandbox, etc to the tune of $106M. All nice and good but you know who has been missing in most of this action? Splinterlands. Although a Splinterlands Region recently got sold on WAX for $700k which is cool as a glimpse at what is possible.

We’ve caught a glimpse of how a supply shock can affect the price of Splinterlands assets, Lands especially, based on their extreme scarcity, I have an immense feeling that there’s a massive upside potential to the market value of Lands/Plots but we might not see it until the Lands part of the game is released and everyone starts to FOMO.

0E60FC33-9D56-46D1-8E6F-479D1442B462.jpeg
source

Moreover, Land is something I’ve always wanted to get in on the action with and I’m glad I finally do after watching the price climb from 20$. For this buy, I sold off some SPS and some Hive, the price of Hive also came in handy. Also, by holding a Plot, I’ve automatically increased my SPS airdrop count by few points.

Rumors about Plots/Lands utility say that staking them will bring returns when that part of the game is finally done, so I guess there’s that to look forward to. It will be really cool if the next release after CL is Lands and won’t take so long, but whatever I don’t even care, I wasn’t planning to spend the Hive anyway, it can take as long as it needs, as long as it comes out badass!

When I tell you guys I’m blockchained, this is part of what I’m taking about. Imagine I call my dad and tell him I just got a Plot of land and he asks where and I tell him on Splinterlands, I’m sure he’s going to drop the phone and shake his head in disappointment 😂😂, but not for long anymore. He’ll see the result soon enough.

I’m just playing my part in the metaverse. This is my first largest-one-time-investment in my entire adventure into Splinterlands. I’m really excited about it, it’s my Christmas gift to myself, and also the first ever......of many to come. Hopefully. Lol.

Okay....this is all I have to say. Now I’m going back to brainstorming how I’m going to make all that Hive back in the shortest time possible with the best trades spotable. Wish me luck.

And don’t forget, battle till you drop.

70480550-9DAA-443E-8C7B-EF166297F26B.jpeg
image by @daltono

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

For what it is worth I think you made a very wise investment decision. Currently I am not in the position to purchase land however I started a savings plan, and hopefully will be able to purchase land on Splinterlands before they become unattainable :-)

I think so too! I hope your plans work out.

Thank you so much. I will keep everyone updated with my future posts 😀

One of the best investments that I heard nowadays. I see no difference between buying a car/house or an item in Splinterlands, even Splinterlands items are securer than real world ones ^^

Talking about security. I can’t imagine owning land in my country where insecurity is at all time high.

Talk of owning digital land that works for me while it appreciates in value over time. It’s a no brainer in my opinion.

Congratulations, 700$ wow. Senior man, show your boy this levels now. 😅😅😅

Lol thanks bruv...

Excuse me please don’t wash me 😑

Congrats on your purchase and Land will be priceless in the Splinterlands. Thinking of being able to mint NFTs out of it is just mindblowing, can barely wait to see that implemented. It is like a sink to generate revenue over and over, people just don't understand that yet.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

These were the thoughts I had too, I’m here for it all. And thank you 🙏

It's great to see how much of an impact Splinterland has. I haven't been able to get much into it because I depend solely on my laptop and now that my laptop is gone... it's Operation get a good phone.

When I saw your title i really thought it was literal but I laughed a second after. It's an awesome investment really and I hope to gift myself one next year December.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Ah can’t be me buying physical land in Nigeria, I just feel it’s very cool to be in on the action when the stuff hasn’t even started.

Lol. I understand. I just hope I wouldn't find it too difficult. I'm still trying to understand how that game works. Sometimes i feel like my brain's bout to burst.

Lool One day at a time, I’ll soon start doing vlogs about my gameplays. I hope to make it interesting and fun so hopefully I’ll be able to make it more interesting for you

I'll really appreciate that and so will people similar to me. I feel like a very special honored guest right now... don't know why.

Lol let’s see how it goes. You must love splinterlands

What a proclamation! 😂

Congratulations @mistakili! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 13000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 14000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Sweeet! Thanks

You're welcome @mistakili, nice motivation 😊👍

Congratulations brother!!

At first when I saw the title I thought you have gone to buy land in Bodija

Loool no way mhn. Thank you ☺️ G

Hey congratulations buddy. It's an awesome buy of plot and hope after CL plot can be the next thing to get action. I bought 6 plots during sale and current price is making me feel happy about the decision.

Thanks Reeta. You have an eye for gems don’t you.

Looking to start buying some more myself. I think that the fomo will hit hard when land derails get released.
My biggest problem is that I want the funds for chaos cards so don't want to spend it on land yet.

Did you listen to the Town Hall Meeting? If you were 10x bullish before on lands, you’d certainly be 100x more bullish.

Lool oh yes CL cards Lool. So much to buy so little money


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!
@mistakili! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:

Join us in Discord!

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121

all I can say is that you made the right choice. Congrats buddy.

Wow! Congrats to a very impressive purchase! I am happy for you. Just thinking once you start renting out your plot in the coming months, can I have an early bird discount? ^_^