My Journey in a short story - Splinterlands

in LeoFinance6 months ago (edited)

1846C5A3-0831-4C71-80BD-964401FC928F.jpeg

The Discovery

And so it was on that beautiful evening when Aggroed dropped a post announcing the launch of an idea of a game built on Hive and he described the mechanics of the game, called it Steem Monsters and said something’s about NFTs but I was pretty new into the ecosystem that I had no idea of what he was talking about, he also mentioned Yabapmatt who was a cool dev.

But I knew Aggroed through the Minnow Support program and the good work he was doing so I got hooked on the idea even though I didn’t understand it. Time for presale came and I got myself a couple of packs. This was how I found myself on Splinterlands, from day one. Aggroed and Yabapmatt turned out to be the CEOs.

How long I’ve played for?

I remember the first day the game went live and cards were faced against each other, I was completely lost, I’d never played a TCG before, it was my first, I’d never even heard about Magic Gathering until that time, I think my enthusiasm created the way for the understanding of the game to come to me because I told my friends about this game about the same time I got into it but they were looking at me like I was speaking gibberish, even though I was a noob myself.

I played everyday, bought packs when I could, powered cards up, played my way up the ladder with my few average cards, got myself into Champion league several times, and one thing that really helped grow my deck were daily and seasons rewards.

B46DBB6A-0523-412F-ABB9-C39712B81BB2.jpeg

How long I play for

Back when the game started, I played for several hours a day, slashing monsters and creating content about slashing monsters, but of recent, I’ve been more involved in Brawls more than battling for hours everyday. Brawls are cool because I can enter battles in my time and set my team and the battle happens in my absence. I get to earn SPS and Merits which I use to buy gladiator packs and get cool cards.

My journey into Splinterlands have been in different dimensions, I’ve been at a stage an active investor, buying up cheap cards to flip for profit, I’ve been a avid player, these days I’m a brawler, who knows what will come next.

Achievements

I’ve earned amazing cards along my way, met many interesting people and influenced many others to play, one of my most interesting achievements was a funny story, someone was doing a pack giveaway on Twitter which I entered for and I got the most expensive card I’ve ever had out of it, a legendary gold foil, I’m still holding it today and it’s still the most expensive card in my deck.

I’ve also entered and ended in championship league twice with my average cards, I onboarded a player that invested many thousands of dollars into the game that earned me $100 in credit from affiliate fees, sweet stuff…I’m still achieving please, come back in a year for more gist.

97701E60-C7A7-4C88-B5A8-23F52B55CF30.jpeg

Goals

I wrote about this in an entirely different post, but they surround improving my strategies to attain higher position in battling and asset accumulation, it involves using the rental market as my ladder to growth, more about this in this post, eventual growth is to keep moving up the ranks in both asset accumulation and player rankings, being a formidable bad ass and keep growing with the game.

Advice for beginners?

This is the best TCG on blockchain in the world, heralded by a team of developers who care about the community and the game itself, many game devs don’t even play games, but here, the lead dev is a game player so you can imagine that his inputs is to make the game as cool as it can be. Another thing is the community, it’s not everyday you see a decentralized community come together to ensure the growth and success and fun of its ecosystem.

The biggest advice though is that, now is the best time to get into the game and understand the mechanics, it’s a handful I know but one that will pay of in fun and rewards if patiently figured out. Cards are hella cheap right now and we are at the brink of a bull run. You can rent cards to girdle your way up to a point before buying up packs, if you calm down to play it im sure you’ll never feel the same way again.

Drops mic 🎤.

Don’t forget! Battle till you drop!

Thanks reading.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Having been playing for years, this is not the time stop and you have also achieved even a gold, keep playing @mistakili

I’ve earned amazing cards along my way, met many interesting people and influenced many others to play, one of my most interesting achievements was a funny story, someone was doing a pack giveaway on Twitter which I entered for and I got the most expensive card I’ve ever had out of it, a legendary gold foil, I’m still holding it today and it’s still the most expensive card in my deck.

Thank you. Im def not stopping this crazy adventure anytime soon, the goal is to always find a way and work it out in the most enjoyable way, and print my blueprint while at it.

I forgot you were a Splinterlands OG.
I remember it on Steemit and the posts about it.
It has evolved.
What do think are the chances of SPS breaking a dollar in the next Bull Run?
Nice post on the history of Splinterands, and good advice for newbies.

Thank you shorts. Chances of SPS breaking $1? Are there that much sinks compared to the faucets for $SPS?

These are the questions, we will have to see how much sps and Dec supply lands will demand after it first month.

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord


Support Splinterlands by Submitting a positive review about Splinterlands on Gam3s & also nominate Splinterlands for the People's Choice Awards on Gam3s. Don't forgot to take screenshot & share those on Splinterlands GAM3 Awards Challenge! Comment section to earn some delicious upvote from Splinterlands.

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121

interesting journey

Splinterlands OG! 🙌

That's awesome. I'll jump in and do some battles this weekend, maybe I'll get hooked. I've only dabbled really.

It will be good to get familiar now, Lands are about to be released, it will add more fun and activity x100