Unusability of Ethereum

in LeoFinance3 years ago

shitcoin.png

Ethereum is a massive blockchain with a lot of projects running on it, it is right behind Bitcoin in marketcap valuation, it promises all sorts of wonders when Ethereum 2.0 releseas, but before it does Ethereum is unusable heavy bloated pile of stinking shit (to put it mildly). It is hard to use it because every transaction costs more and more. Ethereum games that rely on NFT trading and transfers are essentially dead.

Recently Axie Infinity became quite big and I wanted to check it out, but the fact it runs on bloated Ethereum I just can't make myself to try it, I'm still interested about the game but I just can't put myself trough Ethereum transfers hell.

Same thing is happening on Enjin that also runs on Ethereum so naturally for every transaction you need to spend gas and also Enjin tokens. The most popular Enjin game right now Lost Relics recently received quite a lot of new players and they all experienced Ethereum wall of misery. Let me explain one simple Enjin NFT sale if you want to do it from Lost Relics in order to have more of an understanding what I'm talking about.

lostr.png

The process of selling one item goes like this,1st you need to install Enjin wallet, then you need to install Lost Relics, connect your wallet with the game, then you need to play the game and find some NFT items inside the dungeons.

Let's say you found a blue bow and you want to sell it, right now those bows can be sold for 6 Enjin (1$) so next move you need to make is to transfer your bow from ingame inventory to your Enjin wallet and that transaction will cost you 2 transfer crystals(2$), before all the NFTs were automatically transferred into your Enjin wallets, but since the gas costs went sky high you are now required to pay the transfers yourself.

Ok right now your loss is already 1$ and you haven't even listed the item on the Enjin marketplace, you also need to actually sell it. Next, you want to list that blue bow and right now the cheapest gas transfer is insane 3-4$ and some small amount of Enjin.

So ladies and gentleman in order to sell an item worth 1$ you need to do 3 transactions (find the item, transfer it to wallet, list it on marketplace) and spend 5$ to list it, sometimes you will be undercut and you won't be able to even sell the item, so you need to cancel the sale and spend 3-4$ again to list it, of course the buyer need to spend more in gas fees than the item is worth.

enjsell.png

Isn't that a complete and utter failure of this given technology? Meanwhile on Hive you can list everything for free, my thought process is that I just can't move from something good to something way way worse.

Hive = 0.14$
Ethereum = 650$

I rest my case.

Sort:  

FastForward this to about 45 minutes in....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=509&v=JO7Rv_BCkOU&feature=emb_logo

It's a bunch of guys used to ETH games chatting to Aggroed about Splinterlands- there's an absolutely great 'WTF' moment when they learn the transaction fees are basically 0.

If blockchain gaming ever kicks off, Hive is the place to be for sure.

This token is so undervalued.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Matt's presentation at Hive Fest is worth watching on the advantages of Hive for blockchain games - it's only 10 minutes long.

Can’t agree more. It would have have to be on Hive (at least for now) and it makes the token so promising !

I'll be watching the whole video for sure. I already know what's going on, so many people are clueless about advantages Hive can provide.

I’ve been wanting to check out Axie Infinity as well but find myself in the same boat.

A couple of people are trying to get me interested into a number of ETH games and then I hear they say $15 in gas to sell their NFT and that just a hard no from me.

While there have been talks about having a 2nd layer on Hive for smart contracts (something other than hive engine). Those talks have also stated to cover the costs there would need to be some kind of gas fee with it's own kind of token. Which I'm not the most thrilled about.

Whenever I hear gas fee, it's a complete shutdown for me. I'm also kind of sceptical eth 2.0 will come any time in near future to fix things.

It's so absurd, many devs working on a chain that only puts obstacles for them because every transfer costs a lung. I've talked to people that were playing Gods Unchained and they had to leave it because of this issue, isn't reliable to play anything with those costs and meanwhile Hive is ignored with the most played game in the blockchain.

I'm fully convinced that the gaming crowd will finally look at Hive as the most promising blockchain for them is a matter of time imo.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I tried Gods Unchained, it bored me very fast, I haven't even looked at trading knowing the costs of transacting. Pure insanity to build a game on Eth in times like these.

How has your game been going?

The thing I was talking about while messing in Unity year ago? On long hold, at the time all the Steem drama started happening and I completely lost the will to continue. Also I realized doing it solo would require all sorts of skills I needed to learn, the idea is still here, however I don't know will I ever be able to realize it.

They are a lot of work and take years to do depending on the scope. In my own project, there are some things I might consider cutting at some point that might save me 6 months to a year at least. I do keep expecting at some point to hit a wall in something I just can’t work. I’m hoping it won’t be something critical to the underlining idea of the game as a whole.

When you do get back on that horse you are more than welcome to share your game development journey in Game Development if you like. Cross-posting is more than fine. It's a community I started not to long ago.

Some months I have found the motivation to keep working on my game during these crazy times was I needed to make another post about my game. Therefore, I had to get something done in it. Motivation is quite a hard thing to keep going in game development in general. It is however the thing that makes people successful in finishing a game one day.

It is crazy the amount of work it needs to be done if you want to create for example a simple ARPG which was my idea back in the day. I made a demo map, a movable player avatar from top down perspective, simple inventory, placed some monsters on the map, felt nice, but once the sound, animations, programing and connecting all the dots together started happening it felt overwhelming.

Also it felt weird using other people assets which Unity provides for free, then combining those assets into something that makes sense also wasn't easy. Then errors started happening a lot, and it quickly drains you when you don't have any developer background from before. Making a smaller game in Unity would definitely be possible though.

One of the first thoughts I had when making my game is I want an open world. Than I thought that could be a pain in the behind to track down bugs and other issues. That is why I have stuck with creating a bunch of dungeons. While that presents its own issues at least for that part of the game I can track down issues to an individual zone.

As far as animating humanoids goes I know Mixamo works for standard UE4 skeleton models and Unity should be similar from my understanding.

I’m not sure if Unity provides you guys with a “Control Rig” for whatever your standard mannequin model is. I have not played around yet with the one in UE4 that is supposed to help the ease of animation rigging. I suspect it is something I’ll be trying out this year.

As far as the errors, yes, those will drive you crazy they have me. If you get lighting builds errors for instance where it can’t finish it’s more than likely one of the free assets you are using. I myself have nuked an entire zone just to find the darn object giving me the issue.

Other types of errors are much harder to track down and deal with. I'm hoping if I can grow the game development community it will end up being a place people can try to get some help. So many errors out there have endless questions on development forms with zero answers. Leaving you stuck trying work it out on your own.

I have learned I want to keep my main project as clean as possible. If I’m trying to learn something new I tend to do it in a separate project. It costs more time and you can still run into unexpected issue conflicting with what you have already done moving it over. It however makes it easier when things don’t work out to deal with it.

Have a great week.

Congratulations @moon32walker! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 39000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 40000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP