You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Diversification Can Be Dumping The Winner To Buy The Losers

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Yes the diversification idea may be a bit overstated. For example sometimes it's best not to be in certain markets at all. Maybe in some cases it may be better to be more focused on your primary residence, your business if you own one..investment in yourself or education.

It may not always be just the right move to stay in several markets, it all depends. One big issue with crypto and i've managed money professionally so they'd consider me an expert.. i don't know lol... In crypto it gets quite confusing because a guy comes in and he has beginners luck so some happen to get in the market and due to the large amount of volatility some people hit it off big.

Now this quickly makes them think they know what they are doing. In reality they don't know anything about how the markets effect crypto as well. Like some people still believe crypto isn't corelated to the traditional markets. So some think oh if the traditional markets go down crypto goes up. So they don't understand how money supply works and how money enters into crypto so often times they just going on what they learned on youtube or what they learned just listening to another crypto person.

So then most just end up losing the majority of their money and you'll always have the lucky folks who dodged the bullet but at the end of the day you look at the distribution rate of cryptocurrency for the most part it looks horrible across the board and you know you're not in control .. You see 87% of bitcoin dominated and owned by 1% of the network.. you see doge coin one entity with over 30% ownership.. xrp.. one entity with over 60% ownership lol.

So people don't really know what they doing they just praying a hail mary here and hoping for the best lol.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I agree with you on the beginner's luck and also a misunderstanding of money, retail gets access to pretty shocking financial products, so crypto looks like a good bet for them but when you run the math like on these staking platforms you are still losing money over time, short of your timing being perfect, most will lose money

In crypto, I would say Bitcoin would be my primary holding and I'd much rather own equity in an exchange than own any of these coins. Exchanges are going to make money in bull or bear markets so if you want to have exposure all the shitcoining I think that's a better option.

It's a hail mary and I don't blame people for feeling they need a moon shot and buying into the hopium but this will end in tears as has many a frenzy

I checked out this video I doubt it will age well, this guy's arguments aren't based on anything, he says the supply can be changed, short of 100 000 plus people willing to all dilute their own stake, that's not going to happen.

He says it can be hacked, it's literally the most powerful computing network in the world with zero downtime in existence

Just another YouTube salesmen shitting on Bitcoin so you can buy his product/service


Personally, I think stable coins are a joke, what's the point of having tokens "backed" by something that is tied to something that is being debased in record numbers. I see no point in using it short of getting around SWIFT and regulations and being able to get hold of forex and I have no need for that, others might but not me.

Believe me I get where you coming from seeing Bitcoin and crypto as the same thing, and I'm not here to argue with you about it, I see it differently, I've spent time looking into all of these things and Bitcoin isn't for everyone and that's fine. There's a lot of shady shit in crypto, in fact I am waiting for USDT to implode and bring down the entire market, but I still believe in Bitcoin, it's the only one worth holding in my opinion.

Everyone is going to make their bets somewhere, be it cash, stocks, real estate and no ones going to come out unscathered

I understand where you coming from but what you’re talking about is a financial system thay onto 13% of the world get to enjoy.

For someone like me in south Africa BTC as “volitile” as it is now is still a better form of currency than my national currency and I am not the expection! G7 countries financial systems are NOT the norm for everyone

BTC for me works great in storing value that cannot be seized, it scales perfect well on lightning, charge backs can’t be done on ANY blockchain because charge backs are only available for assets where final settlement isn’t available

Sure handling your own money comes with it’s downsides but I feel it’s a worthwhile trade off not to be tethered to various local institutions

If tomorrow s&p downgrade my countries debt I’m fucked through no fault of mu own so having this asset offers me a lot of benefits

So what crypto in your opinion can/is doing it better and what governance model is superior to proof of work and why? Keen to see where you coming from with this?

LOL so you're banking on Charles Hoskinson, this was basically just an ad for buy cardano. How is Bitcoin slow when you have lightning that's instant? He actually mentions blockstream who has launched Liquid where you can do DEFI on and then there's also statechains and since they all connect to the base layer they are all soon to be interoperable with one another.

I find it hilarious he claims L2 is centralised, yes in certain points but how many people are running a ADA node how many are even running an ETH node? Lol all these projects are centralised and continue to get centralised as the bloat on chain continues to increase with all the computational space needed to run there shit coin assets

I think the mistake people make is believing these sales men in making this a purely technology play when its more than that, Bitcoin is the only system that protects its monetary system for all users, the rest will tweak it trying to sucker more people into their ecosystem

You're a money guy but I am a tech guy and I know his talking shit, its almost laughable the claims he makes if it wasn't so sad that people invest based on guys like this word