You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How did you get here and why are you still here?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

I had been telling a few friends and family members I wanted to pursue art and writing, again.

Wasn't sure how I'd go about it, this time. Wanted to do something new, something fresh, new name (someone took all the names).

And that was it really. Just a thought in my brain for a couple weeks. I had a bit of time. Was kinda starting fresh after a disastrous period of my life that didn't last long, thankfully, but it was long enough. I was watching Youtube, just chilling, doing nothing.

Went outside for a cigarette. Came back in. Youtube autoplay was already doing it's thing feeding my laptop some randomness. People I never heard of were talking about Steemit, briefly, like for a minute during a half hour video, at the exact moment I sat down. The link was in the description. I clicked and signed up.

That's about it. September 20, 2016.

And I'm still here, because I like it here. No need to write a post about it. I probably already mentioned it somewhere. Plus I suck at following directions and prompts.

First exposure to crypto? Nope. And the crypto part had nothing to do with why I signed up. To this day, sure, I own some crypto and understand what's going on, but that part of the brain gets stored and I don't use it much. It's just money.

Sort:  

You and I signed up to Steemit around the same time. My husband told me about Steemit after I got kicked off of Facebook. haha

Storytime! Why’d you get kicked off.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The sale of Uranium One to Rosatom was a $145 million bribery scandal involving Hillary Clinton and the Clinton Foundation. I was posting news updates. FB asked for ID, and I sent them a picture of my middle finger. My account was shut down; surprise! I set up another account but felt like I was feeding a monster, deleted my new account as best as I could, haven't regretted it once😁

I wonder if there are people that closed/shutdown their FB and do regret it, if so I have not seen any mention of regret on Hive, and I don't hit many social places up, so I think a few may have regretted it but I am not sure.

Facebook. Blah. I said, "You people are so full of shit." Then this box popped up, told me they were hiding me, and called me a mean person. And I was only joking.

Yeah! FB will die down soon enough!!

I disagree. We'll never see a human migration on that scale. I don't view it as competition to this platform either. We're the paper, they're the paperboy. Twitter is another paperboy. Very useful tools those paperboys, especially when you'd like to drive more eyes to the paper, here.

Well most of the Twitter and Facebook users use them only because it's widely used and it's much easier for them to use these, ummm... paperboys ... But with people getting more privacy minded they will make a move towards decentralisation ... I don't expect it to be a huge migration but I think people would slowly move away from facebook and Google

Content creators, whether they're independent or massive mainstream sources; they don't post their content on Facebook or Twitter. It's where the consumers congregate and share links, spreading the content around, like a paperboy delivering papers. Social media is a distribution tool. Content platforms are what gets distributed. Facebook you have friends a family. They're sharing content but it would be weird to sell your photo album of baby pictures. The posting of selfies and stuff like that. Who browses selfies? Maybe on a dating site one does that. I'm just saying there are two different branches. One is social media distribution, the other, like Youtube, or the higher quality content here, is a social content platform. But we don't really need the word social in there because it's obvious society is using it. And it's all evolving.

You make me think and smile.
for that I am always happy when I see your name pop up.

Thanks Snook. This made me think and smile. So I guess we're even now.

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!
Happy Sunday to you!!