"A Heartfelt Journey: Losing My Crypto Seed Phrase and $10K Worth of Memories"

in LeoFinance10 months ago (edited)

Untitled (1).png

What is done cannot be undone!


My Grandmother once said to me, "In any situation you encounter in life you gotta keep moving forward and let go of any form of soreness that wanna let you fall back".

Sometimes when we make mistakes we probably find it hard to forgive ourselves, due to the gravity of what has been done. Mistakes are sometimes unavoidable they mostly occur for us to learn and make amendments.

It is no longer new to everyone that the world wide is now talking about crypto. Cryptocurrency makes new grounds for innovative ideas in my life this had been a great source of blessings to me, I ventured into my crypto journey in the year 2019 and I can say have generated and gained a lot of massive opportunities joining crypto. Facts of meeting great people all around the world to come together for one purpose in the crypto space, creating a source of income and also making me empowered in the Web3 space by working on different projects sometimes as a Community Moderator or even partnering with Devs in bringing up a project on the crypto chain, working as a Discord & Telegram (Web2) builder and also as a graphics designer.

Venturing into the Web3 crypto space was a thrilling experience I enjoyed most to the fullest. The fact that I learned new things under the Web3 crypto space granted me an opportunity to explore more about technology and crypto itself. Am forever grateful to the set of people I met when I ventured into the web3 space, they motivated me, mentored me, and also guided me on how to job hunt for web3 projects apart from job hunting they guided me on how to be a standard community moderator.

I grew a genuine passion for the web3 space and I then saw the great potential in the web3 crypto space, I feel the benefits to me will be long-lasting as one of my eventual career goals in the crypto space.

Back to my story, It is no longer new to some of us what the "Seed phrase" is. The seed phrase is an important key to accessing crypto holdings, some wallets make them 12 in number and some make them 24 in number. Without access to Seed phrase crypto holdings are goneSeed phrase. It is highly advisable to keep seed phrases safe at all costs, I now realize that keeping seed phrases as drafts on mail is a bit safe all thanks to @merit.ahama for sharing that with me I used to store my seed phrase on a Nokia mobile device which I thought it a bit safe but now I clearly understand that storing seed phrases on mobile devices aren't safe at all.

I was about to log in to my wallet with my PC when I realized the unthinkable happened. I recovered the scenario that when I was on the bike heading to a friend's house I lost my Nokia mobile device where I usually store my seed phrase, I was shocked and emotionally down I couldn't eat for some hours, and tears dropped from my face for hours which caused severe headaches that brought in sickness into my body system.

Losing access to my seed phrase with a total estimation of $10K worth of crypto holdings in a twinkle of an eye made me down. That would have been life-changing for my hive account the main reason I strived so hard to save up to that amount is to take my hive account to a bigger level. I remembered asking @mypathtofire about growing my HP with $1000 he really helped me a lot when it comes to this question of a thing, am so grateful man.

Right now I understand clearly that I have no other choice than to start from scratch once again, I hope you learn one or two things from my heartfelt journey.

It good to be back again 🙂

Credit to @stickupboys for the amazing GIF

Thanks for stopping by!

untitled.gif

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

big up to you and good luck!

Thanks Boys 😍

It's really sad, a huge loss but I'm glad you've learnt better so it isn't going to happen again.

Sorry about the huge loss

Congratulations @officialrosh1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the play-off for third place
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the second Semi-Final

I also lost a lot of crypto when I lost the keys to my Steem/Hive accounts. It hurt really bad. What hurt worse than losing the crypto was losing access to my @splinterlands cards. I have no idea what those might be worth today, but I had a nice collection of Alpha and Beta cards. They could be worth thousands.

At any rate, you've been selected for @ecency curation. Congratulations! Keep up the excellent work.

OMG

Alpha and Beta cards that huge

Besides thanks a lot

Yeah, it hurt. I don't even play Splinterlands now because I just can't bear to think about it.

that really hurt, but gotta move on in your Splinterlands journey and let go

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @officialrosh1.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more