How much do you care about YOUR crypto?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Where is your backup?

In crypto world, the only one who is responsible for your crypto fund's safety & security - is YOURSELF.

This is very important to understand. In most (all?) coins, who ever holds the PRIVATE KEYS - is owning these crypto coins. NO exceptions.
If keys are not in your possession (like in all the exchanges) - all you have is nothing more but promises.
PROMISSES.
Which may be fulfilled, or may be NOT.

With Hive (Steem, Leo, DEC, SIM, BRO, Blurt) it is slightly different.
Coins are on the blockchain, and you control them with your ACTIVE key.

But "active key" is not the TOP level. If your account gets compromised, only the liquid coins can be stolen instantly.
Those which are staked - need some time to be unstaked (power-down). Time to take contra-measures.

If owner/master password is compromised, first thing hacker will do is changing all you private keys.

But is the GAME OVER then?

Not at all. We still have a clever solution. The recovery account.
With help of which you still can get your account back, so can get the unstaked coins.

The key thing here is - how much do you TRUST your recovery account?
Or... do you care at all?

doyourcare.jpg

Many of us, who started our journey back in Steemit, had their recovery account as "steem".

We all know, what happened to Steem/Steemit. We know, or at least have heard of Justin Sun.
So maybe you want to say, that you still trust all your Hive, LEO and other second layer tokens to Justin???

Seriously?

Well, it is you right, your decision. I can not force you to do anything.

But...
So is my right to decide, to whom I want to distribute the new LEO and HIVE coins in the curation process, coins from the reward pool.

And let me be here maximally clear:

I DO NOT WANT my curation reward coins be received by those authors, who do not care enough about their own crypto security.

So, starting from December-16, 30 days from now, - I will refuse to upvote those accounts, who will still have "steem" as their recovery account. I will better direct those rewards to somebody else, to those, who care more.
(I've set new start day, as transfer to new recovery takes 30 days to become valid)

How can you find your recovery account?
It's easy. Go to https://hiveblocks.com/@your_hive_name
On the left side column, around 1/3 from the top, you will see something like this:

doyousteem.png

I will not go into details now, how to change the recovery. This is not the subj of this post. In fact, I have seen numerous posts on this in the last 6 month. DYOR.

This morning I have made a quick check on the LEO rich-list holders.
Surprisingly, in the TOP-20 of this list I have found 4 (four!) accounts which still have "steem" as their recovery.

OK, good luck in trusting Justin.
But please please, do not expect support from me.

@onealfa

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

In crypto world, the only one who is responsible for your crypto fund's safety & security - is YOURSELF

Doctors won’t make you healthy.

Nutritionists won’t make you slim.

Teachers won’t make you smart.

Gurus won’t make you calm.

Mentors won’t make you rich.

Trainers won’t make you fit.

Ultimately, you have to take responsibility.

Save yourself. — naval

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh my goodness, I've actually setting of to change this currently immediately. I had not Idea about the recovery account at all but then thanks for taking the time to talk about this. I'm guessing many people are leaving account recovery as steem because they're not aware of this. Including me.

Edit: here I go

I'm guessing it'll take time to take effect

Screenshot_20201116140737724_com.android.chrome.jpg

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is a good excuse for me to finally make a second account. I'm assuming I come in as a new user on Hive or LeoFinance?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nah you can just make the changes no big deal you know?

I only have this one account, so it looks like I need to have something to choose as a recovery account. Never used PEAKD.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm gonna do the same thing

This will get noticed and acted upon and it's great that a big holder like you is publicising this insanely important aspect of account security on Hive. Steem will never ever lift a tiny little finger to help.

If anyone reading this wants to see how bad it can get when the recovery account is set to steem and you need to recover your account, check this out.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Glad you highlighted this again. I need to get mine done and to be honest have been a little apprehensive to do this kind of thing as this is the one part that scares the pants of me. Maybe it is my age with all these blasted passwords and keys with no self confidence. Will get help and do it tonight as I agree it is something that is crucial.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm going to look around, reach out to those I'm in contact with and help them do it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good blog! I think a lot of people don't know about this!
I can't remember being offered to configure a recovery account when registering.
Mine is set to: esteemapp
I couldn't find it when I quickly look in the Leofinance and Peakd settings.
I'll digg into this because as you say backups are very important!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Man my account recovery is set to oracle-d should I change it or not?

I do not think oracle-d is active any longer. You need the recovery acco nt to be an active participant to start the recovery process when the shtf.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's ok for me, if it's ok for you. The only third party acct I'm concerned is Justin's "steem"

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If i make another account can I set it as recovery?

YES

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ok I got it

I just created evernoticethat2 and hiveblocks has tipu as my recovery:
https://hiveblocks.com/@evernoticethat2
I created the new account through the Leo front-end, wonder if that's a default for new people? Looks like I have to change that too! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Had no idea about this. Just checked mine and that's exactly what it says. Now, gotta go find a tutorial on how to do this. I only have one account on Hive/Steemit, good time to make a Leo specific one as a backup. Thanks @onealfa for posting this!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I just posted in comments, how to do it and one article (external application) for doing it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks, yes, I'm there now. I was being careful with your link as you're somewhat new and have no profile icon. Thanks again! :)

The post says to make @hive.recovery as your recovery account, hhhhmmm...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Not that new, if you have carefully reviewed the profile.

Leave Hive.recovery , setting with Peakd is better but question is whom you can trust for recovery?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Mine also has "steem" on it but actually it is "steemmonsters".

I think it is little harsh for not to upvote them but it is super easy to change this.

For those who are wondering what to do can read the below post:
https://peakd.com/hive/@arcange/introducing-hive-account-recovery

And if you do not want to trust above service then you can use peakd as shown in below screenshot.
image.png

First go to "Actions" ==>"Keys and Permissions"==> "recovery account".

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for the link. I read the article, but I have my reservations about setting a third party account for account recovery.
Isn't it safer to create a personal secondary account on Hive for this?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Then simply use peakd interface.

Go to "Actions" ==>"Keys and Permissions"==> "recovery account".

I already put the screenshot on my original command.

Isn't it safer to create a personal secondary account on Hive for this?

Best option, but depend how comfortable you are doing it yourself.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Wow! It's so simple! I assumed that Changing settings would be under "Settings". Never thought about actions. Thanks!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

As I see it - it is safer to have your own secondary account for recovery. The only important thing - keep the keys of the two in a separate places. If smth goes bad with one - you still have the keys from the other account.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I just changed my recovery account a few days ago, but it takes one month till the change actually takes place. I'm thinking to also change my keys. I still use the Steem ones. I don't know how complex this operation is and how much of a hustle comes after with changing all those on the apps I use... Don't feel 100% safe though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

OK, good note. Thanks. I will be making extra check on hivetasks.com, which is showing the transition in place:

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Have you changed your keys after the transition? If yes how's the process...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 31 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
8

Congratulations @onealfa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 14000 replies. Your next target is to reach 14500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update

Actually, changing recovery account is really simple to do on PeakD:

  1. Go to peakd.com/@yourusername/permissions
  2. Click "Recovery Account" tab
  3. Follow instructions

I have long had a different recovery account that isn't steem and it feels good! If nothing else, you can always create an alt account that you own and set that as your recovery.

Can never underestimate the importance of looking after your keys!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The issue is, I'd like to set my recovery account on Hive. All of these posts show how to do this on third-party sites, but none of them show how this is done on Hive itself. PeakD asks for your Active key, you can't even log in with your posting key like on Hive and Leo. That's likely why I never used it. One poster said he wou.ld write a guide, but never did. When I look in my Hive wallet and settings, I see no option to set a recovery account.

I'm going to see if I can do this on Hive first, without spreading my higher-level keys around on too many other sites.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's a very good point. I don't use hive.blog as I just never liked the interface and seemed pretty basic but I tried to see if I could find anything there for you but you're right! I can't see how you can change your recovery account on hive.blog wallet and only saw this screen after clicking through the "Change Password" section which is not very helpful:

image.png

Yeah you have to give your active key even if you just want to log in to PeakD so not sure why but I use that Keychain extension thing anyway that activates when I open the browser for the first time. I keep everything powered up for the most part as at least it gives a week in case I notice anything but I also change my keys often.

Don't know what else to suggest mate. Maybe ask Blocktrades as he/they are the ones who designed hive.blog and are the lead developers how you can change recovery account there?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea, I've changed mine as well, though it looks like it takes some time before it is reflected. On this note though, I don't think it is that people were intentionally trying to trust steem, I think it was more along the lines of they weren't completely sure what they were doing and didn't want to make a mistake that jeopardized their account. Right or wrong, I have had two people tell me that they didn't change it because they were afraid of messing something up. Ironically enough, it looks like blocktrades still has his account set to steem as well...

As a countermeasure to this risk when Hive has forked I have powered down all my Steemit accounts and have created new Hive accounts. I wanted a clean shot from the old blockchain and moving to new accounts was for me a way to achieve that and disrupt any security issue. Thus, you can vote @behiver with ease of mind as the name says it is also a Believer in Hive!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have been hacked once back on the steemit days, fortunately no malicious action took place on my account and recovered my access.
I have long chance the account recovery in both of my accounts, indeed trusting JS is like you tie a donkey in a lettuce.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Honestly i had completely forgot about it. You have my gratitude for reminding it too me! i went straight to check and i had steem... The funny thing is that when i saw it i remembered myself back when the whole hive creation took place. I wanted to change it back then for some reason i didn't.

Ofc this time i changed it immediately. Thanks for reminding it to me!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I changed my recovery account shortly after the move to HIVE, as I didn't trust Justin Sun to pull a heist against us. You can change the recovery account very easily on Peakd: https://peakd.com/@your-user-name/permissions.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have changed it several months ago because there was a warning from peakd to change the recovery account from steem.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I did it! Thanks to you @onealfa after asking for help in openhive chat and hearing from Marky, I decided to use PeakD and change my recovery account away from Steem. I made an alt evernotice.leo and set that for recovery. I know it takes 30 days and I like the fact that PeakD showede a bright popup letting everyone know to change this. Thanks again, screenshot below! :)

Screenshot 1172.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Loading...