You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Low hanging fruit on offer

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I wonder how many people will react upon my advice to get rid of their TV's?
We got rid of ours a few years ago and it's amazing how it freed us up to do other things that we love.
Skill shortages are dire in many countries and anyone can earn extra income by doing one or another trade as a sideline.

Sort:  

I have one, but my wife and I only watch a little on it. Our daughter gets about an hour of screen time each week now, which is a kids show of real people singing and dancing.

I stopped reading the news several years ago and only started scanning for a particular thing recently. This article was a headline piece as I scanned and the title reminded me of something I would write :)

There are a lot of skill gaps at the ,moment, one of them being the ability to recognize opportunity.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

So. Literal low hanging fruit. It will be interesting to see how that plays out in AUS and around the world. Here, in Yuma, Arizona, the work is being done by green card (non resident aliens) carriers, first generation citizens and illegal aliens.

It doesn't matter how high unemployment or how high minimum wage the real grunt work is done by immigrants. Mostly. We really see it a lot right now as 85% of the lettuce eaten in the US is produced in the Yuma Valley between Thanksgiving and Easter. Then it moves to Salinas, CA.

Just generally speaking, I'm guessing there is going to be quite a lot of spoiled fruit and shortages of the real thing...

I do have a TV. I even watch some things on it. Sports, mostly and some documentaries and docudramas. Call it 6 hours per week that it's on.

We'll see how this works posting here. A lot of things were broken for me yesterday on Hive.

In the summer here, I heard a massive amount of the berries in the forest went to waste. Normally there are a lot of seasonal workers flown in for a couple months of harvesting blueberries in the forest and strawberries/ raspberries on the farms.

What is interesting I think is how much of the food supply chain depends on immigrant workers, many of whom have no rights in the country and are considered filth. Do you think people know how "filthy" all their food is?

One of the good things about the on-demand of TV is that it is possible to choose what to watch. One of the drawbacks is that it is very easy to get sucked into watching nothing of value.

I have wondered where you have been, all okay otherwise?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

In all honesty, I'm crazy as a shit house rat. 18 days without smoking and I'm still mostly out of my mind. No concentration or focus (except, of course, that I really want to smoke) and just a horrible attitude. Other than that it's all good. Ahahahahaha. That's funny to even say.

So. This is the third time I've quit seriously, and I know that another week or two should have the worst of the physical effects behind me. So I'm just keeping on. Barely :)

The first 4 are the hardest, the next 2 okay. After that, it is plain sailing. Once done, don't ever pick up another - even for a small test.

There should actually be "lockdown" hotels for quitting. locked in a basic room, food slid in under the door....

This is my lockdown hotel. I have planned a relapse pretty nearly every day, but haven't gone anywhere to make them happen.

It's amazing to me how the cravings come and go. At this point I'll be wiggling along pretty well and boom! I want a cigar worse than I want to breathe.

Thanks...

So. Literal low hanging fruit. It will be interesting to see how that plays out in AUS and around the world. Here, in Yuma, Arizona, the work is being done by green card (non resident aliens) carriers, first generation citizens and illegal aliens.

What reminds me of that "A Day Without A Mexican" movie eh @bigtom13?

Alright! but since we are talking about Australia and its current problem here now, we better stamp a more international message on the matter.

Oh! and just with mischievous purposes, let's help old Big Tom a little with his current conundrum while he enjoy some relaxed time watching his two movies in peace during this period of lockdown.

Cheers brother! :)

In all honesty, I'm crazy as a shit house rat. 18 days without smoking and I'm still mostly out of my mind.

I would just about turn myself inside out and spit nickles to have that Cohiba right there :)

Just generally speaking it's not the people from Yuma (or South Arizona) that bellyache about the migrant jobs here. We are really quite well mixed together and know that people are people after all.

All most all of the lettuce crews are Hispanic. It's brutally hard work and fast. There are a few 'angelo crews' but not much language mix inside crews. There are laborers I know that make their full time living on 6 or 7 months worth of lettuce.

One thing that does affect the job market is the 'semi retired' that are looking to add to fixed income and will work for much less (and without health insurance) that affects the broader job market.

I watched the entire British film. You hear the same thing here (not so much in Arizona but north of here) about migrants taking jobs. Most of ours are just like the film shows...

Something funny about Smallsteps is that we have tried from time to time to get her to watch a couple things we thought she might enjoy, but she far prefers drawing or doing almost anything else.