You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's time to ADVERTISE HIVE! Show the people what Distributed Censorship Resistant means.

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Great post, great idea! I'll be heading over and giving you a follow on LBRY as well.

I think a big part of the impediment we're having bringing people over is the difficulty of setting up a Hive account. People, generally, are lazy, and not to keen on being responsible for their own stuff. They'll happily jump from mainstream, centralized censorship to mainstream, centralized censorship just because it's easier and more familiar. Americans, especially, despite all their yelling about their freedoms, will happily click okay on any EULA they don't have to think too hard about. It'll take some time yet to break that mindset, but I think it will happen, and when it does, I'm sure Hive will still be here for everybody.

In the meantime, I've got some flyers to print, thank you!

Sort:  

Great! Look forward to seeing what you come up with.

I agree on the "lazy". In fact that's one of the reasons I did it this way.
It's a .PDF, all you have do is print, cut and post.

As far as hive and easy sign up. Ya, it needs more work before onboarding is "Grandma friendly". But it is getting better..

The wave of new users will come when the masses finely wake up and understand what (for lack of better words is) "digital ownership of yourself" is...

Remember, unless the internet shuts down or we have a mass dieoff, that's 5 to 7 billion people.. Hive only needs a small percentage of that to MOON something fierce.

I think we've got some cool shit going on here and Joe Public demands "fast and free" so we have more than basics covered.

When/if the masses have that "oh, duah! Of course I own myself and that carries over into the digital world". Thats when the big migration will happen.

EULA fun: The Captive Portal for the open guest Wi-Fi at my house (captive portal is a "Click "I agree to terms"" before using the Wi-Fi) it says "I own you, your immediate family all their combined assetts and output for 15 years from last use".

Hopefully that can hold up in court.

I'm pretty sure there are laws against signing away things for your immediate family, but I wish you the best of luck.