Are we here for the gains, or for the freedom?

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

@acesontop

I read a post by @acesontop about a week ago, where he discussed the reason why 90 % are in crypto, and why he got in the first place too. Financial gains, mainly measured in Fiat money. And he is correct, most of us came here or are here for that reason. But, just like him, I turned around. The financial gains in Fiat money are of course welcome. I am not going to be a hypocrite about that. But what keeps me here, is a very different thing. That persuades me every single day to open my Hive account or the Leofinance community page. The Freedom!

Freedom-2-OriginalWithCut-774x1376-90-CardBanner.jpg

What freedom?

Well, I am free to do whatever I want here, and my actions have consequences. If I shitpost, I will probably end up with very little rewards at all. If I don't curate, I won't get any curation rewards either. But when I post, and I write about things that interest me, I have discovered that there are lots of people on this platform that like what I read, at least, if it is measured in upvotes. And that is all I do, write things that interest me and read things that interest me. And I get paid for that. Now, that is freedom to me. And that is what is keeping me here, and is keeping most of us here. Some of them don't realize it yet, but is in fact very appealing to do what you like and get a reward for that. In the "real" world, most things that you do cost money or bring rewards to third parties. Like Meta, Twitter, you name it. Our data gets used and sold and we get squat from it back. Out here, you get rewarded for sharing your opinion. That is true freedom! Remember that! And take advantage of it. Write, share, read, it will bring you joy and prosperity!

Sincerely,

Pele23

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

You nailed it right were it should be. I know the financial prosperity through crypto is worthwhile and that's the reason why majority is in it. I came here because I need freedom just as you said.

I have personally invested so much resources on non crypto or web 2 social media in the past and yet got nothing good. I started my journey with social media back in the days of hi5, then MySpace, followed by others. I'm proud to say that I was one of the early Facebook users in Africa when it launched publicly in 2006.

At the time Facebook started, I was working for an offsure Internet service providing company and we were obliged by our boss in the USA to register immediately on Facebook for easier communication and engagement. We uploaded and downloaded a lot of data yet we're not paid. On top of that our activities on the site are converted to liquid case every seconds of the day.

I personally decided to leave Facebook completely this year after they brought down two power group I owned without committing any crime or sponsoring any ill activity. They told me my group was used by others to publish fake news that is against their terms of use. Each of the terminated group had over 90k and 80k members which I spent some years to build. To make things worst, they sent me to 3 days jail, meaning I was not able to use my Facebook account and they lied to friends that tried to reach me thorough a pop up message that I committed a very serious offence that made them shutdown my account for 72 hours.

After the drama, I decided no more facebooking, that's how I started hivebooking. And hivebooking is 500% rewarding in terms of freedom and other gains.

That’s a hefty story, but doesn’t surprise me one bit. The power these huge companies have is immense. They are above the law, sadly. Good that you left!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

I agree with the freedom but it has to happen on a decentralized chain and the only one that I know of is Hive. The rest don't really seem decentralized enough for me to think there is freedom.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I was talking about Hive in particular!