You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now is a good time to check if your recovery account is set to STEEM and change it.

in LeoFinance3 years ago

If it is set to @steem, I highly recommend you change it to an alt account or someone you trust.

What about if your Alt account also have @steem set as the recovery account? Or if your Alt account have the account that you want to update as its recovery account?

Sort:  

I would recommend using someone you trust if you have to. You could choose any of the top 20 witnesses if you can't find someone and I'm sure they will help.

So, are you implying that if the Alt account that you could set as your recovery account, if it already have as its own recovery account the one that you are trying to update & protect, then it's not a good choice either and you must use the account of someone else that you trust?

I recommend using someone you trust, if not you can use an alt. If you have one large account and one smaller one, they can have recoveries to each other. Chances are they won't both get phished, but it is indeed possible especially if you have malware, that's why I recommend someone you trust or a top 20 witness.

If you have one large account and one smaller one, they can have recoveries to each other.

Ok thank you, I understand. But according what you say seems like it's still effective use a smaller Alt account as your recovery account regardless if it has your large account as its own recovery account. I guess the key here is that none of them has @steem as its recovery account right?

I would say that today and as things are, it does not seem too easy to find someone else who is completely trustworthy. Hahahaha };)

I agree and you have to make the decision that is right for you.