Sort:  

If it goes down, I will certainly buy more. No matter what, I seem to be making at least a thousand hive per month just on voting, which is a steady income just for reading things would have liked to read anyway. Too early to tell how much Leo will fall in my pocket as of yet. Thanks for the welcome.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You can certainly make a decent return on curation if you've got over 100K Hive powered up, it'll be even better once we get rid of the 5 minute curation window!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I know nothing about any curation window. I just vote when I am done reading. It is a wonder I am making anything outside of it, well I do not know where the window is. I do have a lot to learn.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is a bit complex - on Hive, the earlier you vote the more of a curation return you get, but there's a penalty if you vote within 5 minutes - a certain percentage of your curation return gets sent back to the 'rewards pool' You still earn curation if you're voting later, but you're also gifting higher curation returns to anyone who voted before you.

The theory is it encourages people to discover good quality content.

It can make quite a different. If I vote someone with say 100 VP at 6 minutes and I'm the first person, then several hundred HPs worth of VP piles in after me, I can get a return of 300% on my vote (more is possible) - if I vote with the same weight at day 3 on a post that's already got say a $20 pay-out, I'll get a 15% return on my vote.

On LEO none of that counts - you just get a flat return whenever you vote (within the 7 day window) and whoever you vote. So I'll always make around 2 LEO per full vote with my stake.

A nice trick is to use two seperate accounts for Hive and LEO - you'll notice I've got all my leo power loaded to revise.leo with only around 20 HP (enough to make it work) - all my HP is on revisesociology.

That's because of the different curation returns. I estimate I make around $50 extra a month doing this, probably more.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta