How many tracking posts are too many?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

I love a good tracking post as much as the next high functioning autist, but how many are too many?

Screenshot 20200807 at 19.04.05.png

I think on Hive this depends not only on what you're tracking, what you can learn and pass on from that tracking (what value you can provide) and how much you know you're going to earn from autovotes!

My own general rules for posting tracking posts


I could post several tracking posts a day from this account - I could spam the chain with daily @actifit posts, sleep, calorie intake, what I spent today, how much I saved today, how much my wealth accumulated, how much Hive, LEO etc. I accumualated - hell, I could go beyond Haejin without too much effort.

But instead I limit myself - because I don't think there's any value in doing that and to do so would make me look like a bit of a milking twat whose only out for autovoted rewards, and I don't really want that to by my blockchain legacy.

So instead I have the following limits

  • Running - once a week - because after my two-four weekly runs, that's enough time to 'reflect back' and see how much pace I've gained, and think about what worked and what didn't work for that week -and it's useful for me to adjust going forwards.
  • Wealth and income tracking, including 'Hive and LEO accumulation' - once a month, this is partly because to do any shorter time frame would be just noise, and also because there are several aspects of income/ wealth to track I think it's fair enough to do one a week and focus on something different each week, then you can do the post justice.

What kind of tracking posts have no value?


I think there are three types:

  1. @actifit posts - pretty much all of them that are just above the 100 word limit, so what if you walked 10K steps today, so fucking what?!
  2. Daily @splinterlands rewards hauls - you played 10 Splinterlands matches and got X rewards - and 'this was a nice card' - again, who cares? At least summarise your most epic battle or something!
  3. 'I bought X$ worth of LEO today and XYZ amount of ABC tokens' - again thanks but no thanks, I know how to spend some small change on Hive-Engine, I do it quite a lot myself, but I really don't want to know about it!

With all of these posts - if you're going to put up 1000 words or several pictures of your hike, give me some strategic Splinterlands tips or if your Wealth accumulation post is maybe monthly (I could even accept weekly) with some analysis, then fine, but I personally can't see the value in relentless daily posting!

Having said that, this only really irks me if I see such posts getting phat autovotes


Don't get me wrong, I think everyone's got the right to post any old shit on the chain, in fact I spam with @actifit myself, but I do so with an alt, and I get naff all votes, which seems about right to me!

I also do my '+1K' LEO posts with my alt, in both cases so as not to abuse people's autovotes, one has to respect these things.

And I'd be horrified if I saw a quick 'no-value' tracking post getting rewarded with $10 worth of Hive or over 100 LEO. It just makes a mockery of the system!

I've unfollowed most and un auto-voted all accounts who do daily shit-tracking posts


I don't want to start DVing people for this, but I have managed to keep such posts out of my feed for the most part by unfollowing everyone who makes such posts, the problem is that I occasionally see them when I do a 'newly created' trawl or a communities trawl, and I'd rather not see them at all, so a plea:

Enough with the relentless daily shit-tracking posts!

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

I've been meaning to step in on this lately. Some discussions in discord and just generally seeing an increase in people posting about staked LEO/other coins.

I love seeing people buy and stake more than anyone, but you're right in that talking about it each day doesn't even qualify as an update.. it's just a repost of the same content with new numbers.

I try to stay out of moderating middle-ground cases (anything outside of blatant abuse) to let the community step in, but it's been getting pretty bad lately.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Drafts one and two of this were purely about LEO, but they sounded a bit too personal, so draft three, this, was my attempt to generalised the concept and it make it less personal, but TBH I might give it a week and just put out post one!

At this rate fast forward to 2022 and all LEO is going to be is a self-referential shit-post upvote love-in.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Things like Actifit encourage daily posts to get an automatic vote and I think people should at least use it to say more than 'walked a lot today'. I run 3 or 4 times each week, but try to tell the story of each run and how I am progressing. I generally post at least once a day anyway, so sometimes that will be my post for the day. Some of the projects behind these have a lot of HP to spread votes around, so there's little to stop them. I think it will get interesting if/when Hive scales up a couple of orders of magnitude. Then votes will get spread thinner and people will have to work harder for them. Meanwhile it's a boom time and people will take advantage.

I like your daily run posts, and I note you don't even use actifit!

Of course if/ when HIve does scale up all of this might be moot if we get rid of the central reward pool for authors.

Posted Using LeoFinance

I did use Actifit for a while, but decided @Exhaust was a better fit for me. I'm still not sure about changing the pool.

I think I used to post a lot more in the early days when I was more desperate to make something. Some people still do several posts every day even if nobody responds, especially if they can get automatic votes. Those may be part of the problem. It really ought to be more about quality than quantity, but people will go with whatever works for them.

@revisesociology, You shared your Opinion, i want to appreciate you for that. Stay blessed.

I think the same thing lately - you wrote what I think about - it's true (shit with zero value everywhere) they milk the system and are surprised that there is no progress - I urge everyone before voting to think - what is the value of what was written!

FWIW, I only do @actifit posts sporadically, maybe a half dozen a month, and usually not super short, 200 words or so. And it’s weird, it seems like a few of the autovotes I get are only for my @actifit posts.

But, yeah, the endless posts about H-E staking get old. It seems like on some days, that’s a quarter of all LeoFinance posts.

With Hive’s price in the doldrums, a lot of autovoters seem to be complacent but if/when Hive makes a run, at least some of those accounts will start paying more attention to what they’re voting for.

I don't mind the odd actifit post - I do voluntarily upvote the ocassional one!

It was mainly certain people on LEO that inspired this

Posted using Dapplr

I don't mind users tracking their own progress, I mean I can always hide those on peakd and still enjoy the rest of the content the user produces, what I do think is lame and getting pretty boring are these accounts making HIVE tracking posts so many comments, so many this and that all just to get an autovote, its such a waste of time and helps no one. I mean if we all WANTED that tracking surly we could get it dev'd into a dashboard and eliminate all those posts all together

In fact as I write this we could eliminate a lot of these tracking posts with dashboards

Yes I guess you're right on the blockchain tracking - once a week would be sufficient!

It was a few LEO users relentlessly posting about their daily token purchases that originally inspired this btw - we had a discussion about flagging them in Discord, I think it was basically agreed not to, this post was originally about that then I decided to generalise it out to gently suggest those type of posts piss people off, without being too obvious!

I don't really mind daily tracking posts, but when people are getting 100 LEO on an autovote just by telling me the purchased $2 of LEO today, it riles me!

Lol clearly I didn’t know the full story but surly with tribes we can mute these spammers right? Surely it’s in the interest of all users of LEO to reduce lame as milking tactics! It’s people whose posts get views that bring value into that ecosystem

One way to fix it could be that the inflation percentage from upvoting is reduced and put into a page view escrow and the users with the most unique page views and reach unlock those rewards based on a certain calculation

That way the content people actually view and engage with get rewarded more and there’s an incentive to get more page views so people will promote their own content

Woah, that's some complex thinking through the problem right there, linking the rewards to page views....

Or diversity of engagement even.

I'm sure both are gameable though.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Both would be game able for sure but gaming all 3 is tough, the more you decentralize the rewards the harder to game the less incentive to game! There will always be gaming