is it worth making sheep's scrotum bags?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

I had a great evening at a dinnery partay tonight - in a locally produced cheese, home-cured olives, lemony-risotto, chocolate mouse and shed loads of alcohol sort of way - featuring a MOST interesting conversation about sheep's scrotum bags.

Apparently these things - sheep balls' bags - sell for $80 a pop on Ebay, and so they do (albeit reduced):

Screenshot 20210313 at 00.51.52.png

The guy that put me on to this has only got into sheep farming relatively recently, and he's been looking around for ways of making a bit of extra cash from his sheep (he has about 20-30) - and he's doing this - it's a lot of work: you have to...

  • rear the sheep
  • slaughter them
  • extract the BALLS
  • remove the testicles
  • clean what's left
  • process what's left into a bag.

NB the later might be quite a lot of effort in itself.

But is it worth it?

The idea behind sheep's ball bags is that you're making use of EVERY part of the sheep, which I respect and 'get' - but from a purely financial perspective this makes no sense at all.

I mean I can pick up a bum bag from Ebay for < $10 EU.

But maybe this is the price of genuine sustainability?

This guy rears sheep and uses EVERYTHING he can, he's not a cowboy, he's not a pimp, he's just an ordinary guy trying to make a living, and he thinks that $80 is a fair price for a sheep's scrotum bag.

For me it's a no...

While I appreciate the ethics and the effort I just think I can get better value out of other sustainable alternatives - ethical cotton bags or even wicker baskets, for example,

So I'll take the meat and the wool, but I'm not so sure the Scrotum sacks are worth it for me personally, but apparently there is market for this, so I wish the guy luck in selling to people who want these Sheep Scrotum Bags!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Many years ago when @gamer00 had made go boards from leather I suggested that he make a whole set (except for the stones) where the bowls for the stones are bags made out of reindeer scrotum. I told him that there must be many wealthy but superstitious Asian businessmen who already have everything who would kill for a set like that.

The idea may not go down well in Britain but in the far north of Scandinavia and Russia, reindeer are a traditional a source of meat and leather. Why not use the scrotum as well as it would otherwise be completely wasted?

The problem is that reindeer are castrated without any cutting. But plenty of males grown for breeding die in traffic accidents every year because there are about 200,000 reindeer in Finland alone. That's where you'd get the scrota.

Yes I get using them - but there must be a better use if you must use them, something that takes a bit less processing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think as part of a go set they'd be a fantastic product. Too bad we didn't think of reindeer who die in traffic accidents at the time. @gamer00 no longer works with leather.

I had a great evening at a dinnery partay tonight

Revisesociology enjoying a party? Surely not!!! 😂

I think I'll give the bags a miss too. Cotton's good enough for me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There were six of us, that I can handle!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good lord!! I applaud the efforts of those who make them but fuck that!

Basket weaving is cool. I was actually thinking of taking it up when I saw a caveman type guy on TikTok make one and it was cool as anything. And relatively easy too

I fancy basket weaving myself - I need a couple of bins (for waste) for example but i keep walking past them in the shops (they're not cheap!) - i'm not buying plastic bins when I've got a woodland from which I can weave my own - I think, maybe, just need to learn how now!

In the meantime it's just tatty bin bags on the floor.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha, tatty bin bags will do in a pinch. YEah, baskets are remarkably expensive and when you see a couple of videos on how they are made you realise there is a potential killing to be made. Especially if you can grow your own materials

I wonder the use of that bag? also i had never seen a sheep scrotum? can it be as big as usual bag?
he is having a balls to make that scrotum bags. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol, I think they're pretty small - purse sort of size.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There’s no sheep equivalent of Rocky Mountain oysters? They might be good with a !BEER

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ah this is the skin, not the balls!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Congratulations, @justinparke You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @revisesociology.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24375.125 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.280 HIVE

In fairness I'd need to see one too before passing a final judgement!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm sure there's probably a serial killer out there somewhere with 'human scrotum bags' -

WTF does he use those for - coin purse or ???

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Human Scrotum Bags - sounds like a recipe for an apocalypse movie.

Coins is a good guess, it would work for those I imagine. Not much use for yer Bitcoins though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If the sheep had to die, at least it didn't go to waste. $80 is a little steep though.

I'm shocked.
I didn't think that a bag could be made from the scrotum. In addition, I could not even imagine that it could be sold.
It is true that every product has its own buyer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's pretty cool right - $80! And there is a market!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

!wine


Cheers @jparke.leo, Thank You For Inviting @revisesociology To A Glass Of WINE.
At The Moment You Don't Have Enough WINE Staked To Order A Glass Of WINE From @wine.bot.
Please Refill Your Barrels By Directly Buying WINE From Marketplace & Make Sure You Have Atleast 25.00 WINE In Staked Wallet.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24375.125 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.280 HIVE


Hey @revisesociology, here is a little bit of BEER from @preparedwombat for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

All I can say is... I’d definitely take a sheep’s scrotum bag for $80 over some of the bags @nicollefiallo has

Sounds like a tasty party though!

I think you've got one of her Xmas presents sorted by the sounds of it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If you didn’t bought my bags, you are NOT allowed to comment about them :P