Sort:  

Ah ok, about like the city I live in here in Australia although zero is rare, it's more 1 - 3 at night.

Given the above I think your plan is good, logical, and that you'll be fine. It sounds pretty cool actually...I'd love to do similar, and have plans to do so but for now, with Faith's mum's situation, we're locked in. I'm sure you'll keep us informed. Loving it. :)

Hey cheers,

Life can lock you in sometimes, you just have to get out when you can!

I've just had a chat with Faith about taking a year off, we're both keen. It's not 2021, but will happen. We'll travel Australia (it's a big country so a year won't cover it all, not thoroughly). We're pretty keen and already set up to do it with out off-roader and off-road camper trailer. I mentioned you and what you've done and she has since read a couple of your posts...She's not jealous, just motivated to start our own adventure.

Good to hear it! I spent ages planning my exodus, still not quite long enough, I could have been better prepared, but I don't think you can cover everything!

Sounds like a great plan travelling Aus, will you rent the house?

I'll probably sell mine as by then I think my mother in law may not be with us anymore so we will have hers. I think we'd retain the house though, lock it up and pay the bills a year in advance. If we decided that we wanted to settle down somewhere we would be able to sell up at that time and relocate as needed.

Ah yes the double edged sword of the parent/ in-law with a house dying - you lose a relative, but suddenly become financially independent!

I've deliberately NOT planned my retirement around the fact that I'm an only child in such a situation, seemed a bit rude, but the fact is at some point in the next decade it's pretty much inevitable I'll end up with another house too.

Probably best to just have one empty property, they do cost to maintain them!

Yes death is an inevitable thing. With my mother in law, her cancer situation right now, she is firmly focused on the possibilities hence our visit to the lawyer set for tomorrow. I'd say we're not so much planning around it, but planning for it as it's highly probably things will go that way. She's pragmatic and since the death of her husband, Faith's dad when he was 33, she has never shied away from dealing with the situations that arise due to terminal illness.

My wife and I are financially independent and have never asked for, nor taken, money from either of our parents and would never think to do so...However around here right now death is on the agenda through necessity, and therefore the other more practical discussions that result from it.