Saturday Savers Club: "Signing up" for 2024!

in LeoFinance3 months ago (edited)

Inspired by recent events to take a closer look at the enthusiastic Saturday Savers Club community, I have been impressed enough to "sign up." Perhaps I can provide some help and encouragement, along the way, to others just getting started on developing this very beneficial life skill.

Source: Enhancement of roleerob's creation
on L1X Assistant on LayerOneX's server on Discord

With all that is going on in our crazy, "new normal" world, there may have never been a better time to get started ...

Financial Objectives

In reading the comparatively straightforward savings objectives of many others in the community, mine are going to seem potentially a little (a lot?) less uhhh ... "structured" ... as I would consider mine more conceptual in nature. In other words, they are not quantitative ...

Here they are:

  • Resume writing to create an additional income stream.

  • At payout, take the entire HBD portion and invest it into savings. Instead of a monthly HPUD, a weekly HBDPUD ... 😉 Let's see where consistently saving and compounding of our Hive stable coin takes me over the course of a year.

  • At payout, let my HP continue to accrue, always keeping an eye out for potential changes to my delegations, while keeping a significant portion free for upvoting.

  • Take any HIVE generated, from various sources and continue to compound my investing in select L2 tokens on Hive Engine. For example, EDS and the new EDSD token!

  • [All while waiting to see if anything remotely approaching "smart contracts" gets launched on our Hive blockchain in 2024.]

On this last objective, i.e. investing HIVE generated, it is based on a hard lesson learned after our Hive blockchain broke away from ?...? (that other blockchain). Ensuring you always have some ... "dry powder" ... on hand can be very important to your investing objectives. I wrote about that in some detail here.

Non-Financial Objectives

  • Helping others. Some time ago, I decided that while I could not help everybody, I could help somebody. Currently, I am helping a small Christian community in a rural part of eastern Venezuela. As a beneficiary of my posts, 10% of my payouts will go to helping them.

  • "Dust off" my writing skills, so they don't ... "atrophy" ... 😉 Who knows, I might even begin to write on other topics ... 🤷‍♂️

  • Since beginning to write "in here" in May 2018, I have been blessed with engaging with others all over the world. This is the single biggest reason why I am still here. Perhaps in 2024, I'll make some new international friends.

If you have ever had even a brief thought about helping someone yourself, here are a couple of questions that were beneficial to me:

Q1: For every $ the "Almighty State" takes from you
in taxes, to support social programs to help others,
how much of your dollar do they receive?
----------
Q2: For every $ you give to someone directly,
how much of your dollar do they receive?

In considering your answer, you may also find it helpful to reflect on how the recipient of your hard-earned dollars feels about receiving help from each of these sources. Is it the same?

Writing my first post in over 1-½ years, dear reader, it might take me awhile to get going again. For now, I'll see if I can manage to get a weekly update post written and go from there. 🫡

I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide. Or, if I can help you with anything, please don't hesitate to ask.

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build up our Hive Communities and add increasing value to our Hive blockchain! 👍 😊

Respectfully,
Blogger @roleerob
Hive "Dolphin" 🐬 & Man Cave "Dragon" 🐉

P.S. I am not a financial adviser. Please consider this post as financial information and / or opinion only. Please perform your own due diligence, in whatever manner seems best to you, if you have found it to be beneficial.

________________________

“Immutably enshrined” in the Hive blockchain on Saturday, 20 January 2024!
🌲 No trees were harmed in the publishing of this post! 🌲

Sort:  

Inspired in recent days by @shanibeer first and then some others, once taking a closer look at the Saturday Savers Club community, I am also going to help with the weekly rewards to the Savers of the Week. Starting now:

image.png

In 2018, it was my finding the Pay-It-Forward-Community (PIFC) that got me over the initial difficulties, among others. We provided weekly rewards then, so it is not a problem to pick that up again ...

So lovely that you are inspired by the Saturday Savers Club! It has done a lot of good work over the past few years, helping people find their way on Hive, changing their lives in big and small ways, and supporting each other.

I wonder if you would be willing to support three posts each week? We have someone who is able to contribute 1 HSBI each week and I have been filling in with the other three so everyone gets an extra round each week. If you took my place that would free me to sponsor HPUD and other challenges. @hoosie does a great job every week letting you know who to send HSBI 😍.

I remember PIFC - one of the early ones that helped me! 🙂

Yes, I can see it is an enthusiastic group and that is encouraging to know. Long in the "under promise, over deliver" camp, I will find out if it provides me sufficient motivation to begin posting again. Once a week? I should be able to "cover that" ... 🫡


"I wonder if you would be willing to support three posts each week?"

Yes, I was indicating my willingness to do that. I am still a little confused apparently, as I thought all 4 winners needed an HSBI. As you say, though, I am sure @hoosie will keep me on track ... For 3 each week, as you have indicated ...


PIFC. It has been awhile since I last checked, but I am not aware of a single member of that "OG community" that is still active. That is the hard part to me about these "virtual worlds." Suddenly, someone with whom you have developed even a bit of a rapport is gone. No explanation (often times, at least). Just gone ... 🤷‍♂️

as I thought all 4 winners needed an HSBI.

We have one donation already, your donation of three would mean that all four get an HSBI. Otherwise, three posts would receive three HSBI and one post would receive four HSBI each week (and would have to be selected which goes against the inclusive character of the Saturday Savers Club). Hope that makes sense 😍

Thank you so much fo your support, it's lovely to see the Club blossoming.

"Hope that makes sense 😍"

Yes. Thank you!

Thanks for this - it really is appreciated. I'll tag you in the savers post each Friday and let you know which 3 people to send HSBIs to.
Many thanks !!!!

Sure thing. Thanks for putting the weekly post together and keeping us all informed!

Hi its great to read your first saturday savers club post. Your objectives seem pretty smart to me which is great - I wish you the best of luck with them as the year progresses, and I'm looking forward to reading your updates to see how you get on !
I was impressed with the note you added about making the community in Venezuela a 10% of beneficiary of your post payouts - I take my hat of to you for that.
Best of luck with the coming week - keep on stacking !
!ALIVE
!LOLZ
!PIZZA
!PGM

@roleerob! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ hoosie. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Thank you for the kind words @hoosie. New to this community, but I have some idea what it takes to keep up your side of the effort to put your weekly community update together. On top of your effort to keep your own account moving along ...

I appreciate what you do and hope you have been and will continue to experience many happy returns. All the best to you and your loved ones, for a better tomorrow!

Resume writing to create an additional income stream.

At payout, take the entire HBD portion and invest it into savings. Instead of a monthly HPUD, a weekly HBDPUD ... 😉 Let's see where consistently saving and compounding of our Hive stable coin takes me over the course of a year.

At payout, let my HP continue to accrue, always keeping an eye out for potential changes to my delegations, while keeping a significant portion free for upvoting.

Take any HIVE generated, from various sources and continue to compound my investing in select L2 tokens on Hive Engine. For example, EDS and the new EDSD token!

[All while waiting to see if anything remotely approaching "smart contracts" gets launched on our Hive blockchain in 2024.]

Dear @roleerob !
Thank you for your kind advice!

I learned how to save HBD and earn interest. By the way,, I don't know how to convert HBD to Hive stable coin and trade.

Currently, I am learning by asking other people questions about coin trading methods and investments.
I am currently learning how to convert HBD to Hive stable coin.

I hope your health and long life!😄

🌄 Good morning (here)! ☕ My east Asian friend! 😉

Very good to hear:

"I learned how to save HBD and earn interest"

Saving is a valuable discipline / life skill. I hope you find encouragement in seeing your savings steadily grow over time. Nothing in the real world is close to providing 20% interest on a stable coin. And HBD has proven itself to be quite stable ...

However ...

"I am currently learning how to convert HBD to Hive stable coin."

HBD is our Hive blockchain's stable coin. So ... Not sure of where the translation is falling down, but try again and I will be happy to help you, if I can.

Dear @roleerob !

Good evening!
Will you allow me to call you Steve?
I remembered @joeyarnoldvn calling you Steve!

I hope you don't feel offended that I don't know American manners!😃

HBD is our Hive blockchain's stable coin. So ... Not sure of where the translation is falling down, but try again and I will be happy to help you, if I can.

I still don't know the concept and difference between HBD and Hive.😅
Other people trade HBD and Hive with smartphones, but I still don't know how to trade with smartphones.

I assumed you were trading HBD and Hive with your smartphone!

"I still don't know the concept and difference between HBD and Hive.😅"

  • HIVE is a free market token, where the price is simply set by buying and selling it.

  • HBD is an algorithmic token, where the price is held to a value of 1. To simulate representing one USD - a dollar in U.S. currency. Which is the global reserve currency ...

"I assumed you were trading HBD and Hive with your smartphone!"

No. I do all of my work on a computer. It is more secure than a smartphone. Security of your savings is very important ...

HIVE is a free market token, where the price is simply set by buying and selling it.

I understood that HIVE is a unique cryptocurrency created on the Hive blockchain.

HBD is an algorithmic token, where the price is held to a value of 1. To simulate representing one USD - a dollar in U.S. currency. Which is the global reserve currency ...

I thought HBD was worth one US dollar.

No. I do all of my work on a computer. It is more secure than a smartphone. Security of your savings is very important ...

Oh, My young friends from Nigeria and Bangladesh are trading HBD on their smartphones.

I agree with your argument that trading by computer is safer!
I will learn your ways too!

By the way, I remember you haven't answered yet if I can call you Steve.

"I thought HBD was worth one US dollar."

Correct. Computer code has been written to do its best to preserve HBD's price as 1.000.

"By the way, I remember you haven't answered yet if I can call you Steve."

You are free to call me whatever you want! As you have been doing for some time now ...

Correct. Computer code has been written to do its best to preserve HBD's price as 1.000.

I find it fascinating that HBD always retains the value of one US dollar.

You are free to call me whatever you want! As you have been doing for some time now ...

Steve, I wonder if Steve and Steven are the same name.😃

I remember another American calling you Steven.

In the future, if you feel my awkward English is rude, I hope you will tell me immediately!😄

Heeeeello, What a joy to read your post again. Your advice is excellent.
However, of your advice, the one that has been most difficult for me is publishing. I have tried to post at least once a week and have not been able to achieve it due to daily chores.

🌄 Good morning! ☕

Yes, I understand completely:

"I have tried to post at least once a week and have not been able to achieve it due to daily chores."

As I am faced with the same challenge. We'll see, in the weeks ahead, whether I can successfully overcome it!

Great, as always, to hear from you! 🫡

Ohhh you're just going to make it difficult for @shanibeer to list you on the Savers chart, huh? 😉 lol
Still, good goals to have, even if not structured! :)

Yes, well, she got me lined out pretty promptly here! 😉

I try to avoid converting HBD and powering up. That kind of defeats the savings purpose. Good to see you thinking the same way. I am sure you will hit your goals. :)

Yes, I believe, at least in broad terms, there are 3 ways to invest in our Hive blockchain. Powering up being only 1 of the 3. My savings goals are focused on the other 2, along with compounding the interest / earnings.

Good to see you back posting again @roleerob and I hope that you achieve all your targets

Thank you @livinguktaiwan. I hope I will find sufficient motivation to resume. Starting with this weekly post. As much for the encouragement of others, than anything else. We'll see ... 🫡

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 191 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11


Hey @roleerob, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@hoosie(3/15) tipped @roleerob