#saturdaysaversclub | Year 4 Week 4 | I win the SPI lottery - 109 HIVE!

in LeoFinance4 months ago (edited)


IMG_1506.jpeg

North Lock on Frog Island on the Grand Union Canal. A mysterious post-industrial area with derelict buildings, the Soar and the Canal, a Victorian board school from the 1870 Education Act and new housing developments. I'd been to drop my car at the garage and was walking back into the city centre. Friday 26 January 2024 about 16:50.

A weekly round-up of all things saving.

I was lucky this week with two matching numbers (of three) coming up in the SPI lottery. Everyone who hold more than 250 SPI gets a free lottery ticket, more than 500 gets two, and more than 1,000 gets three. It's a nice bonus benefit of holding SPI with a draw every week.

Mostly, there are no matching numbers - it's 1 in 545 chance of getting two matching numbers and a big number, maybe 1 in 15,000, of getting three matches. This means the prize fnd builds up steadily and one day, someone is going to have a lovely surprise!

When the prize fund has grown enough, there are plans to sell tickets in addition to the bonus tickets for SPI holders. The bonus tickets are a lovely touch and keep the element of delight.

I'm wondering what to do with this windfall. Any ideas? An HSBI for any I like in the comments.

Hive Goals

Let's see how we're doing:

AssetGoalStartLast WeekTodayProgress
Hive Power115,000100,400101,235101,51810%
EDS4,6003,2993,3913,4229.45%
HSBI1,00074181682833%
HBD6,4505,1165,1165,1230.5%
LEO15,0007,2287,22814,99699%

2024 Savings Goals

Progress

  • EDSD - I'm aiming to hold 1,330 0f these as short-term savings to build my EDS and passive HIVE income. I bought 1,065 to start and then I've set up a recurring payment for 5 HBD each week from a small regular income that covers this. (More about side-hustles.)

EDS Income Token | Fixed and Variable Savings Plans
EDS Dollar (EDSD) Release Post

  • Blogging - still living in one room but the builders are cracking on. Work is very busy, and by the time I sort out going for a walk and getting a meal, I'm ready to fall into bed. It'll work out, sooner or later.

  • Saturday Savers Club - 2024 Launch and FAQs. Over thirty-five savers already! Anyone can join at any time by commenting with their goals on the weekly post on the @eddie-earner account (also follow @eddie-earner for news about EDS).

  • HSBI - HIVE basic income - We have a new sponsor for the Savers of the Week, so I'll be continuing to sponsor monthly HPUD cgallenges!

What's New

You might have seen the announcements about LeoAds revenue and the new premium accounts for 10 HBD a week. I especially liked the opportunity for Evergreen Rewards: fantastic for writers, artists and musicians (what do you think, @jayna)?

I thought it looked exciting so I invested in some more LEO to get me on the way to Lion threshold in a week or two. I threaded this week, asking for help for a friend and got two responses letting me know there was an NFT scam going on (more than one I expect). That was a good result. I need to get familiar with the InLeo UI.

image.png

Screenshot (379).png


image.png

image.png

Page dividers courtesy of @barge | Saturday Savers banner by @raj808

Sort:  

It’s so good to have thirty five savers in the savers club
I’d love to join too but I don’t know if my money will be too little to be a part of it

You can have the smallest amount to be a member. What do you want to save?

Nice progress on EDSD and LEO - you are doing great there.
And thats such a nice win on the SPI lottery. If it were me, I'd either buy more EDSD, or power it up and delegate to @eds-vote.

Yes, everything is going well, although I have been re-thinking my goals for this year. The goals I've set up already are set and forget - they will happen automatically with little effort except checking that everything is working okay and there are no bugs or glitches.

They're okay - it's good to know what I want - but I'm wondering about choosing a goal that needs more attention/effort, like re-building my emergency HBD savings fund. That would depend on more posting, for example.

So one idea for the lottery win would be adding it to my emergency fund. What would be the easiest/most cost effective way of getting from HIVE to HBD, do you think?

The other thing I was thinking about was the liquidity pools that @mypathtofire wrote about recently. I haven't been involved in those before, I was thinking about a LEO:HIVE pair as I'm interested in holding both of those. As it's a windfall, ie unplanned/free, I'm thinking about using it for something I wasn't going to do anyway.

In terms of changing from HIVE to HBD I always use Hive-Wallet. If the HIVE is already there, then I'm pretty sure there is no fee to change from one to the other. The only thing is that the price of HIVE is so low at the moment ($0.315), its maybe worth seeing if it increases over the coming days. If you wait until it hit $0.35 that would be 10% more HBD.

In terms of pools I wouldnt call myself an expert and it depends on what rewards there are, etc. @tydynrain is the person I'd ask about pools.

Haha, I'm torn between a lower price for HIVE so I can buy some more and higher price so I can buy some HBD! I agree about the pools, perhaps @tydynrain or @mypathtofire will come by to comment.

I've had a fair bit of experience in a lot of different diesel/liquidity pools, so I could likely give some useful perspectives. The best place to look for detailed information about the various pools and what they offer is BeeSwap. When you're looking at the pools there, just make sure to remember to choose the fully-expanded view, which will show what liquidity rewards a pool gives daily, as well as the APR, and the number of days until the rewards end. I usually only choose pools that provide daily rewards, unless there is some notable benefit, such as with the SWAP.HIVE:VOUCHER pool which pays out in SPS that is claimable on Splinterlands.com.

If you have any questions @shanibeer, I'd be happy to answer them, if I'm able! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Thanks much for the mention, @hoosie! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

As an aside, have you used Hive SQL for anything?
Proposal

Never - I dont know what it is

Oh, okay, I thought as a spreadsheet aficionado it would be right up your street 🙂

HIVESQL is the Hive version of SQL and enables queries of the blockchain. It's free. I think @steevc uses it for compiling the Brits List, among other things.

Structured query language (SQL) is a programming language for storing and processing information in a relational database. A relational database stores information in tabular form, with rows and columns representing different data attributes and the various relationships between the data values.

@alonicus have you tried it?

It's a powerful tool to get data out of Hive. I use it a lot.

Congrats on winning the SPI lottery, that's awesome! idk, you could split it and put half toward your HP goal and half toward buying EDS, perhaps?

Hmm, good ideas, I'm wondering about doing something a little flamboyant (I know, hard to imagine 😂) as it's a windfall. I've just replied to hoosie about liquidity pools and whether to venture into them. So many choices on Hive!

I liked your 2fer post, always love reading tips like that!

Congratulations on the SPI lottery win @shanibeer. Ideas on how to invest it?

After some engaging with two OG members of our Hive blockchain, I have elected to start investing in BXT - the base token of BeeSwap. I have invested in both the LP, as well as staked some. In equal amounts. Then I will compound the earnings over time ...


That is an impressive EDSD goal. I am also looking at this a little more closely. Seems a better investment than simply putting HBD into savings. I might have to change up my savings objectives. I guess that is allowed ...


I will be interested to see what you have to say in the future about your impressions from attempting to use the InLeo UI.

Yes, BeeSwap looks interesting and provides value, great to support that. LP = liquidity pool?

EDSD - a slightly different investment to HBD. As I've said elsewhere, it combines saving for now with saving for later. Certainly long-term it probably offers a better return than HBD, while maintaining a comparable liquidity.

I'm just thinking as I'm writing this that there's an argument for putting more HBD into EDSD!

"LP = liquidity pool?"

Yes. I spend a lot (too much?) of my crypto time in these "virtual worlds" focused on DeFi (Decentralized Finance) and mistakenly took for granted that acronym was known.

Yes, agreed on the appeal of EDSD. As mentioned, it looks more promising, in some regards. It is only the dependence on a person that gives me pause. A good one to be sure, but ... HBD is backed by code, as is the case with much of DeFi (at least the portions of that world into which I am willing to invest my hard-earned $$s).

Okay, I checked because we also have LEO POWER LP.
Dependence on one person? Are you talking about silverstackeruk?
In terms of reputation, ssuk has about seven years track record of looking after other people's assets. There is a leadership group in place for spinvest, a small group of people including me who have been working together for five years. There is also a contingency plan in place should anything happen to ssuk. He's very accessible and responsive to any queries, either through the spinvest server or DMs. Please do reassure yourself by contacting him directly @SSUK on discord.

"Okay, I checked because we also have LEO POWER LP."

Hmmm. Guess its my turn to ask what that is - also a liquidity pool of some sort?


Yes, I am definitely not intending to impugn his reputation. Or the team who works with him ... While you know him far better than I, he is somewhat known to me via the Man Cave and the various interaction which goes on "in there" in the Dragon Lounge channel.

If I did not have a pretty good impression of the man, you and I would not be having this "conversation." 🫡😉

LP is the acronym for LEO POWER, like HP for HIVE POWER.

I took it as healthy and robust due diligence 🤑

Everything's going well, threads are very confusing, I steer well clear of them!

Yes, threads are a bit of headwreck! On the other hand, I put out a query and got two useful responses. My friend had already worked out it was a scam - "it seemed too good to be true".

I've just seen you've put up an allotment post, I'm looking forward to that.

There's not much in it - just checking in - planting maybe in a couple of weeks just haven't had the time this wknd!

I think it requires 500 LEO staked for the rewards right? Sounds good though. I may have to try out using their UI and see if it earns a good revenue which can be staked. Hive is getting interesting lately :)

Yes, it seems 500 LEO POWER. I think the initial rewards would be quite low, but it's more about getting a place at the table.

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congrats for the winner in SPI lottery and congrats for your progress towards your goals!
!DHEDGE

Thank you. How are you doing?

Many many congratulations to this great win. Best of luck for your future goals.

Thank you. How are things with you?

Congratulations on winning the SPI lottery! I think you could put it into any of your Hive Goals objectives. Perhaps, buy LEO or EDS or convert it to HSBI :)

So many wonderful choices on Hive!

Yes, this is what makes it a great place to be.

This is really great to see this