You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After Paid

in LeoFinance3 years ago

This is an important concept:

bitterness doesn't facilitate healthy change.

I have had to deal with several changes on my job in this last year. I became angry when my contract was terminated during corona even though my employer wanted me to keep working, but they wanted to outsource my job, so I don’t get any benefits like sick leave, workers compensation insurance for injuries on the job or retirement benefits.

I was furious at first because with 15 years already worked, I only needed five more years to qualify for a pension.

On top of it all, I was asked to continue working as an essential worker and risk getting Corona with no Health benefits.

I was very angry, and I wanted to yell, scream and quit. But I also didn’t want to be jobless in the middle of this disaster. I found health insurance, paid for it out of my pocket, and continued working.

I have grown emotionally after dealing with this crisis, which continues, and if I had given into bitterness I would have quit, and been an angry unemployed man. You can’t do that when people are depending on you. It sucks, but you have to suck it up and move forward.

People ask me why I chose to smile and be happy in my circumstance, and I tell them that the only thing I can control, in this out of control situation, is my reaction, and my mood. I choose to be happy and enjoy my off time with my wife and kids because I refuse to let my employer take away my happiness.

Maybe I am just a fool, but I am just doing the best I can to be happy regardless of what life throws at me.

Hang in there Mate.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

but they wanted to outsource my job, so I don’t get any benefits like sick leave, workers compensation insurance for injuries on the job or retirement benefits.

No job protection sucks. I freelanced for 10 years and it made it very hard to do things like get a loan for an apartment.

I was furious at first because with 15 years already worked, I only needed five more years to qualify for a pension.

That is shit!

It sucks, but you have to suck it up and move forward.

Unfortunately this is the trap of life they have us by. They know we need to live and have people depending on us, so can do what they want.

Maybe I am just a fool, but I am just doing the best I can to be happy regardless of what life throws at me.

The best one can do.

Yeah, I have been freelancing since 2005. But really just on paper, usually working for one company exclusively.
It’s a mixed bag of cookies, crumbs and rotten stuff. But it’s getting to be more crumbs and rotten food lately.
I may have to get another job to finish my time for the pension.
But the big thing is the medical, if you retire as a government worker with 20 years they pay your private insurance premiums until you die. So between the pension and insurance, I am now on the lookout for a traditional job.