You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After Paid

in LeoFinance3 years ago

but they wanted to outsource my job, so I don’t get any benefits like sick leave, workers compensation insurance for injuries on the job or retirement benefits.

No job protection sucks. I freelanced for 10 years and it made it very hard to do things like get a loan for an apartment.

I was furious at first because with 15 years already worked, I only needed five more years to qualify for a pension.

That is shit!

It sucks, but you have to suck it up and move forward.

Unfortunately this is the trap of life they have us by. They know we need to live and have people depending on us, so can do what they want.

Maybe I am just a fool, but I am just doing the best I can to be happy regardless of what life throws at me.

The best one can do.

Sort:  

Yeah, I have been freelancing since 2005. But really just on paper, usually working for one company exclusively.
It’s a mixed bag of cookies, crumbs and rotten stuff. But it’s getting to be more crumbs and rotten food lately.
I may have to get another job to finish my time for the pension.
But the big thing is the medical, if you retire as a government worker with 20 years they pay your private insurance premiums until you die. So between the pension and insurance, I am now on the lookout for a traditional job.