How to get a blockchain job with no new coding skills

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Hello SPIer's, today we are going to talk about how it's possible for anyone to get a job within the blockchain industry. You might be thinking to yourself, you need to be a coder/dev or at least have a programing background to get a blockchain job. This is not true and as blockchain tech evolves new opportunities will be created for non-coders.

image.png

When the internet started in the early '90s, most people saw it as a fad that would die off. 30 years on and the world totally dependent internet. If the internet went down worldwide, how many hours before riots on the streets? All your money would be gone (unless you're a stacker😎), your job would be affected, your whole life would turn upside down. On the flip side, you might not have a mortgage or any debt to pay off anymore.

image.png

The point is in 30 years from now, blockchain will be ubiquitous and getting a head start on the herd could be very smart and provide you with a part-time/full-time or passive wage.

When I say working on the blockchain, I dont mean coding. This is one job of many jobs on the blockchain and of course, there are many different blockchains as well. Using HIVE as an example, we have bloggers here that make a full-time wage from blogging. We also have people that create projects, run nodes that and get funded to provide services. Some of these people would say that HIVE is their full-time job but they never applied? they created their own position and if you want to get ahead of the pack and earn an income from blockchain, this is required. If you can not create your own position, you will fail as you will never gain the experience required.

image.png

In order to get yourself a blockchain job, you need to create the position for yourself. When I had trouble finding work around 15 years back and there were no jobs in my area, I saw a niche to sell Xbox repair kits on eBay and created my own job which I did successfully for 18 months as the 2nd biggest (out of 40+) Xbox repair kit sellers in the UK. This is the sort of thinking required, dont wait for something to come your way, create something others will come to. Expect to work many unpaid hours in exchange for experience and exposure, this should not be a problem if you enjoy what you create.

image.png

Creating a position for yourself is as simple as adding value. There are many ways to add value to a blockchain for someone with no coding experience. I can give 3 examples and 1 example of starting out learning to code.

Content
@taskmaster4450
Most of us will have heard of Taskmaster, he puts out great original posts every day viewed by many users. His interaction with his followers is a textbook sample of how it should be done and he's very pro HIVE, pro blockchain, pro-technology and sends out good vibes. Producing good, well-written original content is adding value to the blockchain and helps HIVE's googles search results which is an important way to find new users. This never happened overnight for him and im sure he's put thousands if not tens of thousands of hours into STEEM/HIVE activities.

Create a Tribe
@khal
Dont know much about Khal, to be honest, I know he is not a dev and outsources a lot of his work but look at what he has built-in under 2 years? He seen a niche in the tribe market and decided he could do it better and he was right. Many of us have short memories but I remember what LeoFinance was like when it first launched. Khal has winged it to the top and created much value.

Create a Project
ME & others
When steem-engine was launched, there were an only tribe and shit coins available. I saw there were no investment tokens and launched SPinvest. People were confused at the concept of a fund token, they thought it was a scam but slowly over time, other users spotted a niche that SPinvest does not fill and created investment tokens to fill that gap and add value in their own way. I manage @spinvest and @lbi-token and I can't code. Ray from Brofund which is probably the next biggest fund token cant code either. We put the time in and use the resources we have the best we can.

There are many other projects people could do, I've only spoken about investment tokens as an example of 1 niche. Gaming, curation, leasing, banking, stable tokens and about a million other non-token things could fill into this.

Learn to code
@amr
If you thinking about learning to code, start out small. AMR is newish to the blockchain but since joining he has learnt to pull some great data from the blockchain and refine that data in tribe/token performance and stat posts. He has started to receive DM's from users asking him can he build this or that? This forces him to go and learn new skills and expand his knowledge. As his knowledge expands so will job offers and he'll have created a paying position for himself.

image.png

These are 4 samples with your imagination being the limit. The one thing all the people above have in common is they seen something that was missing and they filled the space. They were not told to do it, they never asked anyone if they should are should not, they worked off their own initiative and created the space they work within.

The thing about a decentralized blockchain is it's like an empty city and nothing is built yet. There are no laws and the land is free to claim to build things on. As more people create positions for themselves, the bigger and more advanced the city becomes. As the city expands, outside investors come in to chase profits, when the money shows up, the talent will follow soon after. What can you add if you're serious about this?

image.png

3 years ago, there was no 2nd layer, no tribes, HE tokens and coders were building upvoting bots for profit. It's hard to guess what we will have in 3 years from now but I guess it will be much more than we have today. SPinvest is small and I understand it does not add a great deal of value overall but it was one of the first proper investment tokens on STEEM/HIVE. Back then the total value of the investment tokens market on STEEM was under $20k as there was no market. Today between SPI, LBI and EDS, SPinvest manages over $500k in funds. When we think of other tokens like BRO, UTOPIS, etc, the investment token market on HIVE is worth over $1 million dollars. So from under $20k to over $1 million in under 2 years. What about in 5 years?

If your serious about creating a position for yourself and require some advice, please drop a comment are DM silverstackuk#3236 on discord. SPinvest is always interested in funding or investing in motivated users that can add value.

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

The content portion is pretty good. You can also earn money by being a content consumer and commenting. I mix in a post every now and then between days to add to the value. Just keep stacking and the money will come by itself.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I call bullshit in this. Too much cheese for one sitting. 😝

I love it here! I'd love to be a more productive member of the community. I have big ideas and little means, lol. I'd like to crowdfund to buy patents to release into the public domain. I think it would be cool to acquire the genesis coin of every major blockchain, hire a well know artist to create a NFT depicting the coin/token, which we embed the token in, wrap them in something and put them to work earning while they shine in our NFT gallery. Finance is awesome and I'm learning a lot, but giving insulin to the world would go a long way toward getting some attention, as would hodling and working (like rented mules) every genesis coin. :D

I'm tired of begging people to come check us out. I say maybe we need to start burning shit until we're all that's left. :D

Edit to add... I feel like HIVE is in the same situation. We're a loose collection of good ideas with little means to advance them as fast as we'd like. I think we need leadership toward a major goal, like we had during the fork. Everyone was working together for the same end. We need one or two events like that per year. To be honest we need leadership in general. Decentralization should limit governance and promote leadership. I'm not sure if we're actually achieving that right now.

We do have some people stepping up, everyone mentioned in this post is doing a great job of encouraging engagement and bringing value to the community, both in growth and education, but there's still a lot of wilderness to tame and there are many who would like to carve out their own niche, but would fare far better in a group. If you just hand someone a machete and tell them to clear some ground they can do it, but it would be better if they knew which plants were useful so they could extract resources that they might otherwise waste.

I think the addition of collections will go a long way toward providing tribes a way to organize and be more more functional for community members, but that's just one aspect. Where do the general laborers and apprentices of this space fit in? Now for the second time tonight, I need to stfu, and go to bed.

People can and have been stepping up, for Hives first hard fork (24), there was not many people making suggestions. For HF 25, I have seen a little bit more interest and people making suggestions.

Me I have commented my thoughts on the hard forks several time and on almost all of the HF post from the dev teams you will find a comment from me. I am not a coder, and I certainly am not an investor, and I could not really blog my way out of a wet paper bag. But I like Hive, so I make my desires for the hard forks known.

If there are parts of Hive people don't like they need to step up to the plate and take a swing at letting their thoughts be known especially during Hard Fork season.

To be honest we need leadership in general. Decentralization should limit governance and promote leadership. I'm not sure if we're actually achieving that right now.

The hard fork discussions are a good place for people looking for help, or for a leader, to possibly find it/them. Not everyone wants to follow someone though, and that is what makes this decentralized place called Hive so much fun.

Agreed, not everyone wants to follow, but if we want to pull it together we at least need welcome centers to help newcomers find their way, not just to where their interests lie, but to where they can find their own claim to put down roots or set up shop.

Additionally, this is a place for ideas to spawn and grow and those ideas can be their own beacons if we can make them shine brightly enough.

Sure, I can go post a movie review on CINETV for a few cents, maybe a few $$ if I really put time into it, but that’s not where I’m going to live per say.

Hive feels like home to me but I still haven’t found my own room and I think the majority of us are in a similar situation. We all live the place but don’t really know where to jump in and help. We’re just kinda wandering around looking for something to do.

It is kind of like being dropped in a giant maze and trying to follow bread crumbs from the previous people. There have been a few people that have tried to collate the useful areas, but most of them have given up or found other aspects of Hive that interested them more.

My suggestion to those that are just wandering around is to do just that, they will find a niche or the places they enjoy. While wandering, drop comments, ask question, as for suggestions, most people will give some.

Even those that have been around for a long time will ask people for help in finding new users to follow for example or to help out. If I see those post I try to drop names. There are a lot of people just wandering after all.

The front end developers, peakd, ecency, and all the others do listen to their users, they want to build an access tool that is easy to use and provides the things that the user wants. If you see something missing you would like to see just reach out to them. I wanted to be able to see who I had muted so I asked the peakd team gave them where and how I envisioned it, and now there is an easy to see and use muted list.

Hive is not easy to use, but is facebook any easier to use for someone that has never used it? I listen to music on yt sometimes but I have no list and do not use it daily so for me it is not easy to use.

Additionally, this is a place for ideas to spawn and grow and those ideas can be their own beacons if we can make them shine brightly enough.

There have been a few pretty good beacons come about, while some started on steem, it became a place that was non-inclusive for non steemit dreams. Hive fork helped, it gave the dreams a place to thrive. Peakd started there, splinterlands started there, leofinance started there, a few other projects started there, they pretty much all migrated to Hive.

New games, new ideas, and new dreams have since been borne on Hive, it just takes time to find the people that can help because there are so many place to go.

Keep wandering is solid advice, and I guess looking from more of an overview it’s easier to see the gaps filling in. I don’t post much but recently I’m finding all kinds of cool places to comment. You’re right about everything else, too. I don’t think I have anything else to add to this so I guess I’ll see you around, or in Hell, ...whichever comes first. 😁

That's a nice post. Coding is absolutely not necessary to be successful on Hive or any blockchain for that matter. There are so many other opportunities available. Though I had 7 years of experience in coding before I joined the crypto community 3 years back, I did learn blockchain coding only after joining Steem Hive. I have kept myself occupied with a few projects on Hive. I believe it is never too late to start something fresh. !BEER !Cheers

I joined steemit back in 2018 but was not active. And after 3years when I came back, a lot of changes were waiting for me. To be honest I did not understand and was very confused. Still learning and your article helped me to get an insight. Thank you. 🙏

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Welcome back! Too many opportunities in hive you will miss if you do no active again

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you.. nah not gonna make the same mistake 🤗🧡

I am a programmer, and really keen to work on some blockchain technology... It's just a question of finding the time: My day job is rather demanding.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I thought your going to give me an easy job where i apply, sign the paper and than do random trainings about some corpo :(

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Khal is not a dev? If that's true, it's news to me. :)

Anyway, you've made some great points.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

He isnt. He hires developers.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I do 1 of 3 jobs, I have yet to try to create a tribe, some time ago I created Hive-snap but I didn't even follow the idea of the project, I feel like dusting it off and see what happens.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Very good points. Although on Hive, it is far from a job. Like the Army, it is an adventure.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Thanks for this insightful post

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm in cryptoverse since 2017 and till now I've only was in trading but without much success, and till few days ago I realized the other side of crypto to earn extra income, DEFIs with CUB (because I was and still beeing very cautious since the defi explosion in 2020), and the hive and leo universe. But I hadn´t realized the other points that you said about get involve in blockchain when you take a position and it´s very interesting, I thought like other people that you have to know about code or be dev to have a space in blockchain, but it very nice to know that you have other options. Thanks for your post and I have a lot to learn.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

can't agree more.Basically, any project on the blockchain can be successful as along as it provides value or has new idea/vision.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta