Important Change to STEMGeeks being considered

in LeoFinance4 years ago (edited)

I have been giving this change some thought for a while now, and I think it is something that would be in the best interest for the STEMGeeks community.

Currently you can post on STEMGeeks or you can use tags from Hive and they will be picked up and rewarded with STEM tokens. There is currently no advantage to either option.

I am proposing going forward all posts made from https://stemgeeks.net will be unaffected, posts using any other from end will earn reduced rewards. How much is undecided, but would be in the range of 10% - 50%.

This would greatly reduce rewards for authors who just use tags that get picked up by STEMGeeks. I believe this change will reward those who are closer to the community and not just adding one of our tags to get additional rewards.

The rewards change would only affect authors, curators would be unaffected by this change.

I also need to decide where these tokens should go. I have two options I am considering, burn them directly to @null or put them into a community fund that is used to reward STEMGeeks.net users. The STEMGeeks team already has a significantly sized Bounty fund that is used for promotion, prizes, and hiring help.

STEMGeeks already has low inflation and smaller supply than other tribes.

I have a few decisions I have to make and I welcome your opinion on this change.

  • Should we make this change?
  • What percentage 10% - 50%?
  • Where should those rewards go, null or community fund?

Please give me your feedback what you think of this change and what parameters would be best in your opinion.

Sort:  

I think so. There needs to be some sort of incentive to use the frontend/community.

As for percentage, 50% sounds steep, but it's probably okay given that we want more people to use STEMGeeks.

The last one is interesting. My initial thought was @null. But, the concept of community fund sounds plausible. Although...I'm not sure if that's necessary given that such stash already exists.

A fine idea! 25% seems fine. Other communities have used this to some success. But I should warn you the expected outcome is to burn more tokens, probably not get more users to the site....

I could be wrong, but I think you will need to go beyond nitrous to make that dream come true. I switched the URL to peakd just to make this comment.

With that said, I think its a really positive change!

I should warn you the expected outcome is to burn more tokens, probably not get more users to the site....

I would only use the tokes in one of two ways.

  • Burn
  • Distribute as bonuses to those who use the site

I am more in favor of burning as the gap would already give more rewards to those who use the site and I have a large bounty account for prizes and other development.

I could be wrong, but I think you will need to go beyond nitrous to make that dream come true.

I am looking at moving off Nitrous at some point if we see our user counts go up.

If the ad model will prove successful, personally I think the decision to compete on front-end level might be missing where the innovations of community tokens are coming from.

I am very interested in how the space develops moving forward, and I do think STEMgeeks will have a chance to make a play for some eyeballs looking for better, less censored content.

sound idea, I would go for 20% reduction and send to null as a measure of further deflation. Another Idea would be to fund a UNI-Pool of a yet to establish wrapped STEM coin with these funds.
The syndication idea that I heard some time ago on leo may be also a nice addition for STEM-Geeks. There are a lot of (underfinanced) scientific institutions publishing content everyday. Proactively giving them an account (to be claimed after identification) and posting their content using the new wordpress linkage, would make the platform more exciting.

I support the change! People posting from the stemgeek frontend should have some benefits over those just merely adding it as tags.

About the percentage, 20% would not be a bad idea, I think!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I absolutely hate it. I understand why you want to do it but let's be real. The UI for steemgeeks(or any other community for that matter) is vastly inferior to peakd's And I'm personally not going to waste time switching website to participate. You're trying to have the cake and eat it.

What he is trying to do is prevent spam and unintentional down voting of peoples post. A lot of the post are pulled via automation to the stemgeeks web page and to their community page. Every group has it's die-hard zealots, and thus down vote technology tag post that get pulled to the web page, or other standard tags that fit their community, but do not meet some zealots idea of the community standards.

I do not think this is about him "having his cake and eating it". IF people want to be rewarded in STEM token then they should use the tools of the community that created it.

Of course all that is just my opinion.

You're trying to have the cake and eat it.

There are other benefits for the STEMgeeks community too. While I do not know whether STEMgeeks is in the SEO whitelist, the site only benefits SEO perks (traffic) if the post is submitted through their frontend. So, because you don't like sharing cake, the STEMgeeks community doesn't get to eat it either because if you post through Peakd, the SEO traffic goes to Peakd.

I like the idea of encouraging content creators to use the front-end that matches their topic.

20-25% sounds reasonable to start with - maybe change it based on results?

Burn the rewards slice would be my preferred option.

Burn the rewards slice would be my preferred option.

Mine as well.

I would burn it as far down to the ground as possible! I'm definitely one for using front ends and penalizing tag users.

Loading...

Well, I am not part of the community but I think, it would be good to put them into a community fund and reward users.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm not really a member, I have entered a contest or two, but when I did I entered through the community page. There should be a reason/benefit for people to use the community page on Hive, or the community web page.

I think percentage wise, a 30% range would work.
And the funds to the community fund.

But I don't post often in the community, however I do support the community concept.

Yes, I think this change is needed.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta