You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Closed Doors of Gold

my advice is based on having been in similar positions in years past.

By not putting your resumé out you are doing two things: 1 - missing out on an opportunity with a company which will value your effort; 2 - missing out on a negotiating tool. There's nothing like an offer in the hand of a valued employee to focus the minds of management.

I don't know the company your with, or your history with them, apart from the details you provided. But from what you provided there is nothing to suggest that the company are suddenly going to show appreciation for your efforts.

Sort:  

I don't know the company your with, or your history with them, apart from the details you provided. But from what you provided there is nothing to suggest that the company are suddenly going to show appreciation for your efforts.

That is fair, but you are basing it on one post. I don't live in a place where I have to constantly worry about my job, nor do I have to change company for opportunity or for a bargaining tool. However, I understand that for some people, that is their experience and the only way they can negotiate is through threatening to leave.

I agree with @stuartcturnbull suggestion of speaking with recruitment agencies and making yourself available on LinkedIn. No way am I asking you to change jobs or even actively look for one.

There are two points to this. Firstly, you can test how desirable your experience and skillsets are. Secondly, if indeed they are desirable, you can figure out what the worth is monetarised at.

It's always good to get more information about what your experience and skillsets are worth externally as the job market has gone a little crazy lately. Hopefully this will at least be able to tell you it's worth staying at this company, which you obviously like working at.

It is a different culture in Finland compared to the US. I work with US colleagues and I don't envy them at all :) The money is better in the US, but the conditions are not, so moving for money is okay - but it is not enough.

The other thing is that I also run my own business on the side, which is not necessarily possible if I change companies. One of the reasons I took the job in the first place was because they stipulated in my contract I can keep working. The income of my business outweighs (at least for now) pretty much any increase they could give.

Then, there is the other factor of Hive and crypto, which is kind of like a third hustle, and again, my curation returns are a salary increase amount at least as well.

It really isn't about the money, but it is disappointing, as that money (it does help) represents something more to me. Three months down the track (or tomorrow) and things are different again, but today, the frustration is there, so writing about it clears my head :)

They let you continue running your own business and actually write it into your contract? That's really quite good.

Seems like your company might be a lot better then what you initially wrote. Sometimes it's hard to see the positives if you always focus on the negatives. Glad you had the chat with all of us ;)

I am happy with the company as a whole and have written about it often. This was just one of those annoying aspects on the day :)