Closed Doors of Gold

in LeoFinancelast year

I found out today that I won't be getting a pay rise, which is supremely disappointing considering what I have been doing the last almost six months, which is another person's full job on top of my own. This is not the end of the world, but it was somewhat surprising considering what has been accomplished throughout the last year and it feels as if it has been left unrecognized, when it definitely has made an impact on the organization. While there is possibility for discussion still open, in my opinion, there should have been at least a token gesture offered in order to recognize achievement.

image.png

Working for a pay rise is a losing game I believe, however a salary increase is like a scoring system of a kind, where it is an indicator of progression. I have taken the approach that salary should reflect the role and the performance, as well as the impact the role makes on an organization. If the role is necessary, the performance meeting needs or higher and the impact clear, the salary should fairly compensate, regardless of whether the person needs the money or not.

Which reminds me of when I was around twenty years of age at university and working at McDonald's full-time to cover my costs and mortgage. I was offered a gig from a one-man marketing company doing some media monitoring for a few hours a week, a few mornings a week. Essentially, the guy didn't have time to do it in his schedule so was farming the work out to me. For a few hours work it was paying the same as two weeks of my salary and when I questioned why he was paying me so much, he said, because that is what I get paid to do it, and I won't be doing it, you will.

It is about worth.

And I think that this is what has frustrated me here, as the worth of what has been done has been worth more than what I have been paid for it so far, where there is an "above and beyond" situation, and no one else able to do the same. A token gesture would have been enough reward to sate, but no recognition leaves me feeling a little empty - like eating good food at a nice restaurant, but the portion sizes are too small.

This was kind of sprung on me today in a one-to-one session and I didn't really react much to it at the time, other than saying that I want to be able to negotiate this further down the track. However, now that I have had time to think about this more, I will bring it up with my supervisor again when I see them and discuss how this feels. It is not about the money, it is about the recognition of being someone that they turned to who reliably delivered, despite the impact it made on my own life.

I am not expecting this to change the situation now, but I want it to be on the personal record so to speak and I think it would influence the discussions down the road. And, I think that it will also be respected by my supervisor, as well as clear my own head, rather than letting it fester and grow out of proportion.

And, it is the "out of proportion" that I will mitigate, because any expected salary increase wouldn't have made that much of a difference to my personal conditions, as they wouldn't be that large anyway. However, I was hoping to cover the change of the increased costs of living in the country, otherwise the increase in workload isn't worth it. But, at the same time, this position comes with opportunities that I wouldn't have available to me, and there is value to me in the opportunity in the future.

And, I think that this is what I will take away from it, where while I believe there is more worth in what I am doing now, the personal value to me in the future, goes beyond the immediate value I get paid for it currently. This means that the work I am doing now can compound into something that is more valuable to me in the future, than the token gesture I could have been handed. This might sound like rationalizing bad outcomes, but in my experience, it is a rational approach to building value and collateral for later.

The value of the lesson, is usually worth more than the cost.

The door is still open.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

This is the same for the whole company? Are you being taken for granted?

Nah, there are various metrics involved and there is still the chance for negotiation in the not too distant future. It isn't a yearly kind of thing and worst case scenario, I have options internally for career development too :)

Let alone money, sometimes we are not even appreciated by seniors when we expect to be. I have experinced it many times. This is kinda demoralisation of employee.

I don't think they really understand what they said, but I reckon once I explain they will have more of a discussion.

Here's a vote to make up for the loss of rise 😀. I have been self-employed so long now that those 1-1 things you mention were not even invented last time I was a permanent. They sound fucking awful.

They aren't that bad! These are weekly things, not like a yearly review. They work pretty well to align activities and get crap done :)

You only get more pay in permanent work by 'moving on'. Being loyal means nothing, they want to you work for the lowest possible amount they can get away with. Little has changed I see.

It depends on the company. This one is pretty good! There are a lot of career options and internal shifts depending on interests and skills. I can't complain. A small payrise miss doesn't make up for the overall conditions, it is just annoying.

kudos to you and making it in the modern era!!

I'm sorry to say I know how you feel. It's a shame that loyalty and hard work isn't appreciated the way it used to be. I have gone to my superiors countless times for a raise only to be told we can't give you that 5% raise you deserve because we only gave the union workers 2%, how would that look if we gave you 5%? Totally different job, totally different responsibilities. They just don't get it. I have a new superior now and I have already told him we need to discuss my salary and do something to make it right. After close to 20 years here I at least deserve that. We will see what happens. I hope they give you the chance sooner rather than later to express how you feel and hopefully do something about it.

I don't care much about the loyalty, but I definitely put in the effort!

Good luck with your discussions. I think in general, being open and honest helps.

I hope they give you the chance sooner rather than later to express how you feel and hopefully do something about it.

There is a review in April-ish :)

Good luck with that. My boss seemed very receptive when I talked to him. It will ultimately depend on the school board though. I just had a tech committee meeting with them the other day so they know what I am working on and where I am trying to take the department.

Well, bummer even still. I think advocating for yourself is a good idea, if only to make it less likely you will get passed over for a raise the next time. Is this an annual thing?

I love that you see value, to you, in your work, whether or not others compensate you for it. I suppose businesses have to pay those rising costs too. I'm very glad I am no longer on either end of decisions like these

Well, bummer even still.

Yeah. Would have been nice to get some recognition.

Is this an annual thing?

Nah, I will discuss it more in depth likely before summer even. This isn't that much of an issue for me, but it is more the thought behind it that annoys me.

I suppose businesses have to pay those rising costs too.

Yes - but that is why they increase the price :) The major cost to the company is the people in this line of work.

I know that feeling and really sux, unfortunately thats exactly what let me to trying been independent, not with the idea of been my own boss because it doesnt play like that, but with the hope that only my effort and skills would be the limitation of my reward, it doesnt apply to everyone, I couldnt make the corporate system work in my favor so I took another path, it really sux when bureaucracy and other matters influence in getting a raise, for example right IMO most companies are looking into reduce their work force since depending on the field there is not much demand, so they want ppl to do more for less. I hope you can manage to get things around or at least as you mention make it worth in the long run, I dont know what you do for a living but I do understand the situation, it sux, cheer up keep on going 🤜💪✌️

I think everyone, not just companies want to do more for less. People go the other way and want to do less for more - both directions break.

There still fair ppl in the world, have a client that owns a jewelry store, when ai met him many techs abuse of him ripping off, I enter did my work one time, one and done, months latters after a few visits he ask me if we can work on a monthly bases as a remote support now Im the one in charge of the office, everything runs smooth and my worload with that client is very little, but yes i get your point ppl like that are very rare now days

That doesn't sound right for the extra work you took on over and above the norm. I think this is why I left corporate as nothing makes sense and nothing seems fair. I found the more work you did the longer they wanted to keep you in that position as they knew the work was being done. At least pay you something extra even if it just a token of appreciation. I would be a little miffed considering we know your work ethic.

A token bonus on top of the bonus to at least compensate for the hours spent away from family should have been offered, but it isn't really part of the process.

Reminds me kind of how in my twenties I started to work in a company, on some crazy schedule, 3PM to 3AM, Monday to Saturday, doing some accounting. While I cannot complain, did the job during my accounting degree and a bit after, for 10 years, and this helped me, they did not went up with the wages as the time passed by. Used with the crazy amount of work, used to drink up to 6 litres of Cocal Cola daily to cope with the tiredness. When I left, they needed to hire 2 people full time and one half time to do what I was doing. Got a much better job though, after few tries. But it was never about money, stayed there 10 years, could walk to work, 10 munites away, and it was easy for me, even if the volume was high.

There are benefits outside of the paycheck. The people who are working for a paycheck alone, tend not to last anywhere for too long, which comes with its own problems down the track also.

I just had an annual review, where I'm meant to steer the conversation, sell myself, etc, etc.
As the sole provider in a fairly large family I'm literally on the cusp of losing thousands a year in benefits and concessions from the government.
I'm almost certain any raise would be counterproductive at this point.

Don't cross over that line!! It is a crazy system, isn't it?

Bad news. Too bad you didn't get promoted. A lot of work has been done and here is the result.

And yesterday the spaminator again started to put me minuses. This is also like some kind of assessment of the "bosses" :) Well, nothing, I'm a free man and I've already figured out how not to notice the spaminator and his whales.

How'd you get on Spaminator's list anyway?

My pride does not allow me to go to the discord, ask why I am punished and ask for mercy :)

I will stay on the Hive blockchain, but I won't be bothered by their cons anymore. I will go to Alive and become a whale there.

not all companies can increase salary even if they see that you give value and etc, because last years after covid started, war etc, all is so unstable and many work in minus.

And this is another factor to consider for sure, though the company I work for did okay considering the challenges.

Jordan Peterson suggests in situations like this that you find a way to document that you were the one that handled the work so that you can defend yourself with time stamps.

I think employers are looking for ways to capitalize as much as they can for whatever laxity to hold them accountable. People love cheap labour and if you give them the chance they will take it over and over again.

There is no issue with the work done, nor the documentation. One of the benefits of working where I do :)

I think the way market is going on and jobloss are happening. I won't be surprised if the appraisals won't happen this year. I feel this year not good for most and having a job is good enough for the time.

I work in tech, but not in a company that is struggling. They aren't all created equal :)

The value of the lesson, is usually I think that encompasses so much about who you are and how you feel about certain things.

I believe that certain things are done in life because they will have positive implications in our future and not simply in economic terms but also and above all in terms of growth.

However, I think it is right to reward those who are committed and have shown value and productivity, even for a simple moral discourse; i've done some good jobs in the past and my "bosses" have rewarded me with a dinner and a plaque, it hasn't changed my life financially but it has been rewarding and i think it was important to me.

However, it is important that the door is still open more than the cost.😉

We have an interesting situation at this place, as there is the opportunity to grow within, without having to leave the company. There are many positives that outweigh a pay rise now, but it should have been given anyway.

I am not expecting this to change the situation now, but I want it to be on the personal record so to speak and I think it would influence the discussions down the road.

That's a good strategy. Just passively accepting the no raise might set you up for being overlooked again in the future because they know you won't make a fuss about it. Forcing a discussion about it, even if said discussion doesn't result in a raise, can gain you more respect.

Good luck, man!

Overlooked in the future would mean me changing teams within perhaps, so I am not sure if they would do that at the moment at least, considering my output. It isn't an easy job to fill, let alone have someone willing to cover the hours :)

It can be disappointing and disheartening when hard work and achievements go unnoticed, especially when it comes to compensation. It may be appropriate to have a conversation with your supervisor or HR representative to discuss your concerns and the possibility of a pay increase.

Yeah, I can discuss it with the supervisor, but not something I would take to HR at this point.

It sucks to not get a raise but it isn't much you can do about it. The economy isn't doing great and I am sure that most places are strapped for cash right now. In a way, I don't really go out of the way to do so much extra work and I just get by doing my job. If you are doing all that extra work, then you definitely deserve that raise.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Most places are strapped, this place isn't strapped - but they are careful, which is also why they aren't strapped. :) A couple months down the track and things will change again.

It is a shame that you did not get a pay rise. Maybe hive will skyrocket and you will not need to worry about it.

I don't worry too much about it now - but it would have been nice and deserved.

I feel your disappointment.
I feel it often at my job.
My greatest motivation in life towards investment and learning cryptocurrency is my job.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The job is so important. If I had no job, how do I invest?

Exactly.
It’s only by putting aways nuts each month that I hope to survive during the winter of retirement.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Time to getting the resumé out to recruitment companies & changing the LinkedIn profile to 'seeking opportunities'

Lol no - I am an adult, not a Gen-Z flaker ;)

putting yourself in front of people who will give you a salary commensurate with your effort is not Gen-Z flakery.

sitting tight with a company who have demonstrated they do not value your efforts is big Boomer energy.

the days of sticking with a company and expecting them to do right by you in the long run are so long past we aren't even in the same century.
if a company shows they don't care about your efforts, believe them.

all the best

Switching jobs because something doesn't go your way is flakey. As is making large decisions on small percentages because of perceived slights. Your advice, however well-intentioned is the advice of the internet and naïve to the entirety of the conditions. That is okay, this is the internet :)

my advice is based on having been in similar positions in years past.

By not putting your resumé out you are doing two things: 1 - missing out on an opportunity with a company which will value your effort; 2 - missing out on a negotiating tool. There's nothing like an offer in the hand of a valued employee to focus the minds of management.

I don't know the company your with, or your history with them, apart from the details you provided. But from what you provided there is nothing to suggest that the company are suddenly going to show appreciation for your efforts.

I don't know the company your with, or your history with them, apart from the details you provided. But from what you provided there is nothing to suggest that the company are suddenly going to show appreciation for your efforts.

That is fair, but you are basing it on one post. I don't live in a place where I have to constantly worry about my job, nor do I have to change company for opportunity or for a bargaining tool. However, I understand that for some people, that is their experience and the only way they can negotiate is through threatening to leave.

I agree with @stuartcturnbull suggestion of speaking with recruitment agencies and making yourself available on LinkedIn. No way am I asking you to change jobs or even actively look for one.

There are two points to this. Firstly, you can test how desirable your experience and skillsets are. Secondly, if indeed they are desirable, you can figure out what the worth is monetarised at.

It's always good to get more information about what your experience and skillsets are worth externally as the job market has gone a little crazy lately. Hopefully this will at least be able to tell you it's worth staying at this company, which you obviously like working at.

Well, I guess it's obvious they aren't worth your effort. Any extra energy you have, spend on developing yourself and give them nothing more than they pay for.

Well, I guess it's obvious they aren't worth your effort.

This is not true at all.

To each their own, it sounds to me that way. I'm not saying you should ditch immediately anyone that doesn't congratulate your every move but if you are going to do a job for two people, you should be paid like two people. Otherwise, you don't have enough self-respect and that will be exploited be sure of it.

You of course have a much greater context of your situation, this only comes from what I read here.

You of course have a much greater context of your situation, this only comes from what I read here.

And this is the truth. A snapshot view is not enough to make the judgement of what is obvious or what to do. Under some conditions I would agree with you, under these conditions (that I know well) I would not :)

Knowing that people tend to take things for granted. Mainly not their fault because that's how the psyche works for some reason. But again, if you keep doing what you do without recognition, people around will get used to it and reflexively exploit it. I hope this doesn't happen to you, just sharing my thoughts. Have a nice day man :)

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 5700 posts.
Your next target is to reach 5800 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Usted tranquilo tome su mejor decisión y arriesguese a ser un triunfador, no mire lo que deja vea lo que va a lograr

Job Promotions in some areas are so subjective! For performers like me,it discouraged me at work because some of those who are receiving a higher pay, work poorly. I tried not to do what is minimum, but I was not like myself. So life is beatiful but not fair most of the time. 😭