Long Time Coming

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

5so7sy.jpg

After reading about @dadspardan and his impending retirement I thought it might be a good idea to follow suit. Two more work days will see me free and clear of my place of employment.

In a couple weeks from now I will turn 62 (when the hell did that happen??) and will permanently leave the place I have trudged to for the past seven years. What a good feeling it is!

Originally I was to retire in January as I wanted to finish out the year. I applied for social security and am set to start drawing in February. The early exit from my job stems from the 'adjustment' of my schedule.

Since starting this job seven years ago I have had the same schedule 6 a.m. to 3 p.m. with Fridays and Saturdays off. My new schedule, slated to start on the 13th of November would be 2 p.m. to 11 p.m. with Mondays and Thursdays off. I feel like I have been blindsided and will simply leave rather than try to adjust to those hours. Hell I can't even stay up past 9 p.m. lol.

My intentions are to ramp up my homesteading skills and raise my self sufficiency level. I also would like to resurrect a business I had several years ago which involved dyeing, spinning and weaving natural fibers. That business provided a decent living for a few years but it got put on the back burner when my mother became ill and subsequently passed away.

Another intention of mine is to learn more about this platform we call Hive and all the layers it envelopes. Not just Hive though...all cryptocurrencies. I really know just enough to putter around and comment on the posts of others lol. Not much of an author, but hey, you can teach an old dog new tricks and I aim to learn.

When the Leo folks came out and introduced Cub I somehow managed to get some to stake and started to earn via the den. I didn't have enough time to read and learn about the farms and now kingdoms.

Is it my old lady brain or is it being pulled in too many directions that keeps me only half knowing and always in a fog. I want to know and to speak with self assurance on these topics so I can perhaps encourage friends and family to join here.

Here's to LeoFinance, to Hive and to all the other front ends I have yet to explore. Perhaps when my work week is over I will find out how to navigate the discord channels and find some of you to converse with and learn from.

Here's to @dadspardan my JOB QUITTER FRIEND :) WOOOO who inspired this post lol

In any event I will not be moving to the Retirement Village pictured above (stock image) so lemme just scooch in here beside you and learn all I can.

Sort:  

Glad to see this post my JOB QUITTER FRIEND, Heres to the future and what it may hold :)

Yes indeed.... To the future :) May it be bright!

Congrats on your impending retirement, two days will fly in!!

You got some CUB do you are into DeFi and are therefore way ahead of many other people. It will all come :0)

Thanks! Been waiting a long time lol
I couldn't actually tell you how I managed to get the cub into the den lol.....I'll sort that out later :)