As easy as contactless

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I got some mail today that wasn't bills for once, it was a new Wirex card, fresh off the boat. I kind of find it ironic that I have a card to spend crypto that I don't plan on spending, but I also figure that it isn't a bad idea to have something just in case it is needed in some kind of an emergency. I am not planning on emergencies, but it is best to be prepared. This card replaces the one that I already had, as now they are issuing new cards due to their partnership with Mastercard.

image.png

One thing that is often lacking in crypto is design and user experience, but it seems that finally crypto-companies are starting to recognize that UX is important. The Wirex card came in a nice little cardboard slip with a small pull-tab.Pulling it slid the card out and an analogue "pop-up" with "I pay my way. I pay by Wirex." written on it. Tacky perhaps, but it was still unexpected, making the experience a little more special.

image.png

I used to train a higher-up manager at a large Finnish paper company and he would tell me about some of the things that they did in order to improve user experience. For example, the mill he worked at made specialty papers and one one of the things they would create is cigarette cartons for the Asian markets. In China, cheap, counterfeit cigarettes are common, as is the need to show off wealth, so the "discerning smoker" would want to prove that the cigarettes they bought were genuine. To accomplish this, the cigarette company did two key things.

  1. They put a hologram sticker on the top of the box that showed it was genuine
  2. They made the box longer, so when it sat in a shirt breast pocket, the hologram would be seen.

Two simple and cheap things to do, so that the guys earning in the cities could signal a little of their fortune, through the cigarettes they bought. But, the paper company took UX a little bit further too, as they had a team work on and a focus group test the feeling of crashing the empty packet. They wanted to make sure it felt good, like they had accomplished something grand - before they cracked the seal on the next pack.

As said, user experience matters.

Exclusivity matters too. Maybe it shouldn't, but it does, because people want to feel special and be recognized for it. Pretty much all product branding leverages this, whether it be, "you're worth it" or meeting the challenge of Just doing it, the underlying message is that having or using a product makes you better than those who don't. It doesn't have to be true or even truly believed, it just has to give the sense that it could be seen as true, that it makes some perceptible difference - especially to those who might be looking from the outside. A Rolex doesn't tell the time any better than a Swatch watch.

Crypto doesn't have good user experience, as it is difficult to set wallets up and manage passwords, when these things have been outsourced to a bank or some other service for so long. But, considering how much value is being pushed around the blockchains, people should actually be looking on in wonder at just how simple it is, considering now, everyone can be a bank. What were all those management and transfer fees for if an average person can do it from their own phone from anywhere in the world, cheaper? What were the multiple day-long delays in payments for when the transfers are going through in seconds - or minutes at worst?

While a group of us who have some position in crypto were talking around the coffee table the other day and a non-holder said, "but you can't spend it anywhere" - I showed him my (old) Wirex card and said, it even has contactless payment.

A lot of what holds people back from crypto is that they think it is far more unwieldy than it actually is. Yes, it is more complicated than having a bank manage it all, but it is getting easier by the day and now that "real companies" are coming into the industry and using their resources and knowledge to improve end user experience. Far too much of the crypto industry has been focused on the technical, without factoring in the human - and for the projects that keep pushing technical advantage over user experience, they are going to struggle to attract users.

On Hive, it is the second-layer communities, products and services that are charged to bring user experience to the table and they should step up, because it is in their best interest to do so, as it is in the best interest of their own experience too. I think that after being stagnant in smooth user experience for so long, we are starting to creep toward making the Hive blockchain simpler and more accessible for people to join and use, but we have a long way to go to make it seamlessly integrate with daily life.

Once charged with some value, the Wirex card is like any other card issued by a bank, except it builds a bridge between the old and the newly emerging digital economy. Once it is easy enough, how long will it be until the average person does what Russell Okung from the NFL did and say to their employer, "pay me in Bitcoin."

One day - I might even use the card.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

It's not about the features or benefits; it's about the story the product tells the customer about themselves.
You don't spend the money for the high performance engine.
You don't spend the money to feel the wind in your hair.
You spend the money to be a guy with a lambo.

I will be the guy with crypto :)

The narrative is very important and I think that crypto should be pushing the "early adopter story"

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

One of the reasons I've been snapping up 2020 NFT art and got each of my kids Steem/Hive accounts in the first 1 million.
The crypto world has been hung up on anonymity, and don't appreciate how important reputation will become.

I met a guy the other day at my daughter's daycare who said he was a blockchain consultant. He started explaining what blockchain was and I stopped him and said I am on Hive. He knew about the fork and some of what has happened since and I wonder how long it will be until someone like him will say - oh, you are Taraz from Hive :D I am not sure how I feel about that yet.

I got the new one too a few days ago, and one thing that changed is that you can now link crypto accounts and convert directly at the moment of sale. A bit of a gamble, but at least I can stay fully in crypto!

When I got it, I tried to add something to charge and didn't realize this was a thing. How does it choose which account it converts from?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You can set the order yourself in cards->linked accounts.

ok. I guess you have to do this pre-purchase?

Congratulations! Why did you choose Wirex over Binance card? I had an old Wirex card and used to go to crypto coffee dates with @laputis before the pandemics. Now I'm not sure of I should order the new Wirex card or go with Binance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I haven't heard of the Binance card - tried it?

With the last wirex card, I had to make a purchase to verify it, so bought my wife a cup of tea :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I haven't tried Binance but I hope it doesn't have monthly fee like Wirex does, even if the card is idle.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I will have to double check, but I think the new card is feeless. Will get back to you later when I am on the other computer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

https://app.wirexapp.com/subscriptions

I am on te standard plan that has no monthly fees by the looks. It used to be 1.20€ I think.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks again! It doesn't makes sense to migrate to Binance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I use binance, but didn't even know they had a card :D

I ordered my new Wirex card, yay!!! Crypto dates again... Except all cafes in Vilnius are take-out only right now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That is really awesome. I hope that I can get my hands on something like this at some point in the future. Right now my holdings are so small that it really wouldn't matter, but maybe someday it will. That is very interesting all of the thought they put into their packaging. I know for a long time there was only one university in the US that had a field of study in package engineering. I am guessing that is not the case anymore. I have always been really impressed with the packaging from Google and Apple.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Right now my holdings are so small that it really wouldn't matter, but maybe someday it will.

Best to have it ready, just in case. Accepted everywhere, not tied to your country. might be worth it.

Package design makes a huge difference to the user connection to the brand. Even when people don't think much about it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I am going to have to look into something. Is the Wirex card the most highly regarded at this point? Was there a fee to get it?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great post. I've recently gotten mine from wirex as well. Their not a bad set up. I also have a visa card from coinbase as well which is handy as well. I've been with wirex here in the UK for a while now, even when they had some problems a back. Crypto.com is one I'm looking at at the moment as well. I've been in Bitcoin and various other cryptocurrencies since 2009/2010 so the ease of today compared to what it used to be is well... just unbelievable. The ease of access is growing and the ability to just swap around for a small fee and run it into fiat is awesome. Great post. Enjoyed the read, and enjoy having a little extra way of swapping to fiat or vice versa. :)

Let me know what the crypto.com one is like - as I would preferrably have several just incases.

I've been in Bitcoin and various other cryptocurrencies since 2009/2010 so the ease of today compared to what it used to be is well... just unbelievable

Back in 2011, I tried to buy bitcoin with some spare cash - spent 10 or 15 minutes trying to work it out and went drinking instead. :D

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Crypto seems to be where linux was a few years ago; with people clinging to outdated notions that it's too hard and too geeky XD

given how vast technology has become being "tech savvy" may not help anymore, and linux still isn't mainstream because while it is light years better than when I first used it decades ago, it's still a pain in the system, so crypto probably has a bit to go

Also there's the problem of you can't tell people that crypto isn't a scam or pyramid scheme because they KNOW it is and anyone who thinks otherwise is an idiot who absolutely WILL lose everything they invested and it's a matter of when not if XD

with people clinging to outdated notions that it's too hard and too geeky

I am still here with Linux.

Someone the other day signed up for coinbase and was surprised they had to use their drivers licence and some official documents for address... used by drug dealers....

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes it's not unusual for drug dealers to have driver's licenses XD

Might try to get one of those wirex cards. Hope it will have nothing to do with my bank account because crypto is kinda illegal here in Nigeria, to a certain degree

About user experience. My the hive standpoint I think a lot has been done to make the user experience better. We have third-party key managers, apps, and communities pushing out different products and services and making hive more appealing and less complicated.

At some point, people might not even interact with hive directly as we do today. The second layer application will play the role of middlemen between hive and the end user.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hope it will have nothing to do with my bank account

I think you can add a bank account or other cards to it, but why? :D

At some point, people might not even interact with hive directly as we do today. The second layer application will play the role of middlemen between hive and the end user.

This is happening already, where there are people using LEO and splinterlands without looking at other entry points.