The more I practice, the luckier I get

in LeoFinance2 years ago

The more I practice, the luckier I get

A sales person said this to me today, but it is pretty well true. The more good practice we have, the less variation in our performance and ultimately, we are far more prepared to take advantage of available luck - because we can move faster, stretch further, jump higher in whatever sense of skill we are training in. And, that means the lucky shots that would have passed by for being too fast high or wide of us, are within reach. And, we are more capable to make a dive, because we have free resources available, because we have automated the "close to home" factors.

I wish I was luckier!!

image.png

Perhaps that means I don't have good enough skills, because I haven't practiced enough. Or, perhaps it is because I haven't practiced enough at the right thing, so I don't have the necessary resources to feed the outcomes I am looking for. Working hard is great - but not if working hard at the wrong thing.

I actually think that this is one of those situations where people say "when you die, you aren't going to wish you worked more" - and I call bullshit. Because, it matters what kind of work you are doing. I also call bullshit on the "Do what you love and you will never work a day in your life" saying. Instead;

Do what you love and you will never stop working for it.

"They are so lucky, they have a job that they love to do!"

Is it luck, or the right preparation? Sure, luck plays a massive role in all of our lives, but at an individual level, we can affect our outcomes through our own activities too, so that we self-directed to where we want to be and as we improve our skillsets in that area, we are prone to more luck, because more opportunities come into our awareness and our locus of influence.

OF course, we can't be lucky in everything and we can't stop bad luck, but we can increase our chances to the upside and decrease our exposure to the downside - it is essentially an investment with a greater return potential for our inputs, whilst mitigating risks. This sets up for a compounded return on our efforts, because even though we are investing more for a higher return, the more we invest, the safer the investment becomes.

It is like a relationship too, where if we are looking for a certain type of person, we increase our chances by being in circles that certain kind of person is more likely to frequent. If you love dancing and want a partner who dances, it is probably worth starting some classes or going to dance events.

I use that example, because I met my wife dancing.

It is good to practice enough first.

Luck is a funny condition, because from the outside at least, it really does seem that some people are for more likely to get a visit from Lady Luck than others and it is very likely true. But, it doesn't mean we can't influence our luck, which in essence, is creating our own luck out of thin air - or is it thick work.

The other day, I heard someone say how lucky another was for getting a promotion, as if the person had no hand in the result at all. It is like these things are made on coin tosses, but at least in most organizations, this is not the case. Another comment a couple weeks ago was on someone who was unlucky to get cancer, omitting the fact that they had been a heavy smoker for two decades.

Is luck involved?

Perhaps we don't define luck well, or conflate the outcome with it, minimizing the journey it took to reach that outcome. We look at a one hit wonder and scoff at their lack of talent, yet also fail to recognize that in order to get to that one hit, it likely took years of practice. It is the same for many skills people charge for - we minimize their value, because we are only evaluating the end result, not the work that went into it.

So, continuing on from yesterday's post on resources required to meet needs and wants,

Are you waiting for luck, or making it?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Personally i don't love to depands on luck but in reality in some situation we have to depends on luck doesn't matter we like it or not.

Do what you love

In this case most of times various types of shakles bind us to do what we want . I know it's important but very few people are able to do what they want.

Very few indeed can do what they want - so best do what we can.

Is it luck, or the right preparation? Sure, luck plays a massive role in all of our lives, but at an individual level, we can affect our outcomes through our own activities too

It is quite said that luck plays a vital role but our actions towards achieving success matters a lot that can speak without depending on the luck as been said.

A person full of potential, doesn't use it if sitting doing nothing with it.

"I am lucky to read your nutritious writing"

Sorry, not at all, I'm not lucky to read your writing. But I always wait for your posts by adding you to my favorite list. I open the opportunity to get your review.

I'm one of those people who really don't believe in the word "luck". the word is not in my life dictionary. I am responsible for my own destiny by always trying to open up opportunities to get what I want.

If I don't get it, it means that my effort is still lacking and I have to increase my hard work. If my level of effort has reached the maximum limit, it means it is not mine and I will look for other ways. Luck is the result of our own continuous efforts without ever stopping, because to stop means to die for no reason.

That is an interesting point. We are what we eat, meaning we are what we consume - this includes content.

Ya, that's what I mean, Sir. You said it in a better and more precise sentence.
You are right, we ourselves must be responsible for what we consume here. In my opinion, this responsibility is at the heart of decentralization.

Yeah, that is probably one of those phrases that we should push to the wayside and not use as much as we do. On flip side of the job thing, I think sometimes what you initially love to do becomes more of a job as time goes on. I kind of have my dream job right now, but over the years the shine has faded.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Jobs tend to do that, don't they? Perhaps it also depends on the reason why to keep doing it changes too, or our life needs and perspectives change - when I was a kid, I liked soda... not so much now.

I really admire those who love their job. I think it is about right choice and luck. However, if one has time and opportunity for "the right choice", then they could have a job to willingly do.

Time and opportunity, two things that are always scarce resources.

Personally I believe if we keep practicing and putting more effort into a particular thing it will increase our luck and definitely we increase our chances of success

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Not many people dunk a ball by luck :)

Perhaps we don't define luck well
I think we don't. This article show cases the important of putting in the muscle to archive some thing and the archivement a result of our work.

I feel to some extent luck is something we bump into unexpectedly. In this case luck was going to be if the one that envied the hardworking person got the promotion and not the one that put it work.

Amazing write up

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

there are other reasons for getting a promotion of course - like being friends with the decision maker or something. But, I think this is more the exception, than the rule.

Are you waiting for luck, or making it?

I am living it. Haha.

!PIZZA.

Lol - Sometimes I feel the same!

Skills and readiness before luck, when luck comes one can fully capitalize.

Luck first without the readiness is short-lived.

Precisely.

It is very true in most cases but preparation is only part of it as scenarios do change and you need to be able to adapt on the fly. I know many sales people who fall short as they are programmed for only 1 scenario and that doesn't always work. I have always found people skills is far more important and reading a situation will achieve better results.

What has been interesting with the salespeople in this company is, they aren't stereotypical salespeople at all! It is quite funny to see how different they are, even within the group of them.

It is not necessary to love what you do, as much as becoming as good at the job, that doing it is a reward on itself. Getting into flow is something special, and this should be the aim. Doing something that you love and suck at it is good for a hobby, but you cannot always monetize this passion. Just doing it, though, this will bring another kind of rewards (oxytocin increase, happiness above average etc). At least this is what I believe. !BEER and !PIZZA for ya.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I agree with most kinds of work - there is a sense of accomplishment in becoming good at something, even if it isn't a love and then, that flow state comes more regularly and the job"grows on you"

I will give you an example about a doctor who has practiced the profession for thirty years, sometimes he doesn't need to examine the patient, he knows his problem based on symptoms of pain because his practice of many cases contributed to his ingenuity, unlike new doctors. That's why I'm with good preparation.

Never prescribe before diagnosis though.

Luck is an essential thing in life. You may make right foundations for your business and activities and always something out of control is an external stimulus.

Luck happens if we want it or not - up and down.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
xplosive tipped tarazkp (x1)
@heruvim1978(1/5) tipped @tarazkp (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I don't really know but I would like to say I am making it. However, I do think luck is a factor that can change day to day.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

we minimize their value, because we are only evaluating the end result, not the work that went into it.

Or the expenditure surrounding it.

That or we don't care, we just want it as cheaply as possible. However when it comes to us everyone doing exactly that is ignorant and selfish and clueless for not recognising how hard we work or how much it costs to make the thing XD