More California Gold Nuggets! / Re-blog lottery

in LeoFinance5 months ago

Gold prospecting can be very rewarding. In California when I go out to a promising area I usually find at least a couple of small nuggets or fine gold. Although with high gas prices here as of late it's not always enough to cover the gas price round trip. Some people just plain get lucky, in Nevada City, California in 2010 a man found this monster nugget on his property, over 100 ounces of gold! Judging from the smooth surfaces this nugget has been washed down an ancient river to erode the surfaces. This just goes to show you there is still plenty of monster sized nuggets, you just have to get very, very lucky!

csmonitor.com

Today I wanted to share one of my smaller nuggets nowhere near that size. This one is only about a gram but it's shaped like a shepherd's crook which if pretty cool. I found this one in California as well in a smallish river in the shallows with a metal detector. To boot not far away I also found a nice stash of fine gold which I panned out from behind a boulder.

Finding gold is mostly about preparation by choosing the best area to look, but then putting in the work to get lucky and find some nice gold is also important. I have used detectors more and more over the years for a reason, it's much easier to find gold with a detector than with a gold pan. However, it does take years of practice to become proficient with a detector. I have upgraded several over the years to help me find gold more easily. I have included a nice little article in the references below that covers some very basic things to consider when choosing out a starter detector. Coil size and the type of technology used make a huge difference. Pulse induction is a newer technology which can help you find gold much deeper in the soil, but they are also pricier because they honestly do work better! It's the type I currently use.

Just remember that one of the best resources out there are local prospectors. Many of them are more than willing to lend your their years of knowledge to help you get started. They also will know the best places to look which is a huge, because it's much easier to find gold where it has been found in the past. That's not to say you can't get lucky and find a huge nugget in your back yard like the lucky finder of the nugget at the start of the post!

There is a lot of gold and treasures out there around the world, I'm always hoping to find to some when I head out metal detecting. People have found giant gold nuggets, diamonds, sapphires, gold and silver coin stashes out there, you just need to look and get very lucky! Always to your research first to increase your odds. Just remember to be careful and don't try searching in dangerous areas (or illegal areas) because you can't very well spend any of the gains from your gold if you're dead or in jail.

I hope you enjoyed my gold post today, I usually do them on Saturday but I was out of commission this past weekend. If you have any questions, suggestions, or comments please feel free to leave them below. Have a great Wednesday everyone!

References:
https://www.metaldetector.com/blogs/new_blog/gold-nugget-hunting-with-a-metal-detector
https://www.csmonitor.com/USA/2011/0110/Gold-rush-Biggest-California-nugget-up-for-sale

And my disclaimer:

Gold prospecting is a very fun hobby, but it can be expensive. It's very possible that if you invest too much into equipment it may take a long to to get a return on your investment, and some people never do. Also please remember that not all detectors and dredges are the same, always research carefully before buying them. And please stay away from dangerous areas, no treasure is worth dying for!

All photos are mine unless otherwise noted.

Re-blog lottery

Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! Today we had 22 people who re-blogged my post, thank you so much! The people who re-blogged were:

@andres4455
@blitzzzz
@bulliontools
@esbat
@evih
@florakese
@geneeverett
@henruc
@hjrrodriguez
@kungfukid
@ladymisa
@mirroredspork
@monsterbuster
@olaf.gui
@scfather
@screamheart
@servelle
@stekene
@sylmarill
@trautenberk
@vrezion
@vrezyy

Voluntary daily reminder list for those who request to be on it: @ganjafarmer and @sayury
If you want to be added to the list as well just feel free to ask!

Thank you everyone! I have been working to improve my engagement and all of you have really helped out! If you have any recommendations or suggestions please feel free to let me know. I'm always looking to improve my posts.

Good luck to everyone!

@aburihan1 you missed the deadline of 2 PM California time yesterday, but thanks for the re-blog. If you re-blog this one today you will be in for the next round!

And the Wheel of Names results:
Winner #1:

Winner #2:


Now for today's re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win up to 5 HSBI units! New twist, one winner on the first spin wins 3 HSBI, and a second spin for a chance for 2 HSBI, so two possible winners or one really lucky one could win both spins! An upvote is not required but is always greatly appreciated. Bots aren't allowed to win the prizes. Contest ends at 14:00 (2 PM) California Pacific time tomorrow. If I somehow missed your re-blog please let me know and I'll add you to the next draw.

What are HSBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

If you are interested in precious metals or even want to learn more about them feel free to come join us #silvergoldstackers


This is a new group focusing on on boarding and retaining new Hive members. Feel free to ask how you can help out!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Nice post and a beauty of a nugget for the post pic 👍🏻

100oz nugget? 🤯

Notice it's only the people who don't know to keep their mouth shut that find all the huge chunks of gold! !LOL

!BBH
!PIMP
!DHEDGE


You must be killin' it out here!
@bulliontools just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (11/20)

Did you hear about the cat who ate a ball of yarn?
She had mittens.

Credit: marshmellowman
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bulliontools

(1/1)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

The guy stayed anonymous not being a stupid idiot! I see you have PIMP now, I'm out today but will have to save you one for tomorrow!
!BBH

@bulliontools! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (15/50)

I'm guessing not anonymous enough to avoid Uncle Sam. 😆

Yeah, it took a bit to build up enough stake, but now I can slap people. 😁

Thanks!

!BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (12/20)

With a little effort 10K builds quickly too, I'm at 12K on my way to 50!
!BBH

@bulliontools! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (17/50)

Nice! I figure I'll get there eventually as it compounds if I keep it all staked.

That is very big, hmmm huge he must be really lucky to find it in his property.
do you mold all the nuggets that you find? or you keep it as it is?
!PIMP !DHEDGE


You must be killin' it out here!
@ekavieka just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Always keep them the way nature made them. People will pay more for nuggets than molded gold! That guy was very lucky, I would like to find one in my backyard!
!BBH
!PGM
!LUV

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


ekavieka, thebighigg sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@ekavieka! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (1/50)

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @ekavieka.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

So tiny but you make it big in the picture hehehe
But still, 1g is nice!!

I had to use my strongest lens at the time! Small nuggets are hard to photograph! lol
!BBH

@gwajnberg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (6/50)

Dang! Just how many nuggets do you have?

Lots and lots of small ones I've found over the years, and quite a bit of fine gold too. But it isn't as fun to look as the nuggets are!

Very cool!

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @thebighigg gets !LOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

OH NO!
You are out of jokes for the day!

@hiq.smartbot you can call @lolzbot a maximum of 8 times per day.
Level up by buying more $LOLZ so you can share more jokes per day!

Vamos a seguir creciendo y a seguir sobrepasado límites! LEST gou 🔥🔥🏆

Come to think of it... I'll just buy my gold! Hehehe!
!DHEDGE
!BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (5/20)

Yehey! Thank you very much! :)

I should have picked up a souvenir gold nugget while I was in Juneau Alaska. I was checking out the jewelry shops when I notice some of them had display cases of natural gold nuggets.

!BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kerrislravenhill. (1/5)

Looked like chicken from the thumbnail 🤣 !BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (16/50)

What an awesome hobby!!😀
We have " The Lone Jack Gold Mine " nearby, unfortunately it is now behind locked gates....
You definitely want to make sure you have permission to hunt for that monster Gold nugget!😇

!ALIVE
!LOL

@thebighigg! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ phillarecette. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I have kleptomania.
When it gets bad I have to take something for it.

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(10/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Count me in again

!lolz
!LUV

thebighigg, screamheart sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Job interviewer: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Me: I would say my biggest weakness is listening.

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of screamheart

(3/4)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

that hobby is so cool, but I guess it is important to live in areas where it "makes sense" (higher chances of finding a nugget)...
!ALIVE
!BBH
!DHEDGE

@thebighigg! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ sylmarill. (5/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @sylmarill. (6/50)

!HBIT
!PEPEBLAQ

@thebighigg mined HBIT. ⛏️ (1/1) tools | trade | connect

Made with LUV by crrdlx.