You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPK Airdrop: Claim and Sit Tight

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I was still getting over a sore throat rough sleep the past few weeks. As far as the progress, I am very pleased with it.

The first thing is you need to burn your LARYNX in order to mine at all. You can use LARYNX to mine as a CDN, Encoder, or storage node. Burned LARYNX also gets a % of every SPEAK token transferred.

To mine SPEAK, you need to provide value to the network, you can do this with bandwidth from your home computer encode from your home computer, and it should cost you very little except as you already have the hardware and internet/electricity paid for. If you want to become a big-time storage node and store terabytes of data, you might want to buy a physical server or just rent a virtual one out. The above isn't news we have laid this out very clearly from the start, the ways you can earn SPEAK via LARYNX miners.

The good news is the nodes will not be heavy duty to run at all and can be run from a variety of devices. The idea of delegating mining power has come up several times and I think if done correctly can definitely add value to the system.

Nerd parties are my kinda parties.

Sort:  

Ah yeah I'm sick as well with this super cold I got from Jersey that everyone thinks is COVID but isn't. It's nice to see everything progressing like it is, and it's actually pretty surprising how viable the 3SPEAK system appears to be even if there are a lot of naysayers mucking about.

it is a giant task we set out to do. I knew it wasn't going to be perfect or even pretty at first. SPK Network is progressing, and a lot of headwind has been made in the last few months. I expect something very tangible in the next 6 months. Hope you get well soon mate.

Thanks, you too.

I've been looking for an excuse to buy one of these 16 core Ryzen chips just to see how well it can mine Monero. It might even be worth doing if I can buy a couple beefcake solid state drives and mine SPK at the same time. No idea how financially viable that would be on a PC but would be fun to try anyway.

The nodes will not be highly technical to run, it will be packaged neatly in the desktop app with simple on and off switches for which nodes you want to run. Anyone with a home computer should not have an issue contributing to the ecosystem, that is the goal.

I figured as much...
I guess I have homework to do.

wen? But honestly this is what I'm looking for and I think other people as well. Theta does this with their software for the Edge node which allows you to simply toggle a switch and use your normal computer to start contributing to the network as part of the CDN network or to help with encoding. That's what I'd love to see and take part in as I have the processing power I just don't have the knowhow myself to actully set it all up via Linux which was shown to us as the example. It's been about 20 years since I worked in Linux lol I very much so look forward to the application update that provides this. I also think that's what will make 3speak truly powerful and be able to expand more later into live streaming and other video type services. Massive potential and for sure a ton of work but it's getting there.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You can run the nodes from any machine, including your home pc. Just download the desktop app and the rest is plug and play.

Nice! Now that I have a general idea for what it's all supposed to look like, maybe reading through the 3Spk/Spknetwork posts will start to make a little more sense to me. I'll be giving it a go.

You can use LARYNX to mine as a CDN, Encoder, or storage node.

Is one of those easier than the others? Do you have a recommendation as to where newbs should start?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Depends. For instance I can encode my own video from my laptop in like 10-15mins. CDN relies more on your internet connection. Storage requires hardrive space. Imo we will see many Hivers earning speak via encoding/CDN and i think for storage you’ll see more high end players. Just a guess.