How do I browse and post to Hive communities with a Leo account (created using a twitter login)?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I tried to join Hive a few months ago, but gave up in frustration after 30 to 45 minutes of trying to figure out key storage, etc.

I then successfully created a Hive account a few weeks ago (but still felt the process was overly cumbersome).

I am getting ready to offer my students Extra Credit if they create a Hive account and become active in the Hive community. I am trying to identify the easiest onboarding process for them to follow.

Someone on Hive alerted me to the LeoFinance “Sign Up from Twitter” option, which I just now utilized to create a new account. That process was very simple, but apparently only allows me to post to the LeoFinance community (even though it created a genuine Hive account).

How do I browse and post to Hive communities from a twitter-linked “Leo” account? Is that possible?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

How do I browse and post to Hive communities from a twitter-linked “Leo” account? Is that possible?

Yes ... the hive account works for everything. You might need to claim the keys first, and if you really like to make it yours change the keys as well. (store them securely :)

I highly recommend setting up Keychain for HIve extension. It's like a metamask for hive. If you are familiar with metamask for eth.

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/hive-keychain/jcacnejopjdphbnjgfaaobbfafkihpep?hl=en

You import your keys there (posting and active), setup a "normal" password and then you can use it to login to all hive aps, even games. You do this one time and then life is easier on Hive :)

Thanks for the feedback. I've been using Hive Keychain ever since setting up my original Hive account a few weeks ago.

I was wondering if there was a way to browse and post on Hive via the twitter-linked account (i.e. without having to download the keys for the twitter-linked account).

It appears that the Leo twitter-linked account only provides the ability to post on Leo. As such, although the Leo twitter onboarding is really slick, the fact that the keys have to be downloaded before the user can interact with Hive communities makes it a non-starter from my perspective. I want to get my students onto Hive, not just Leo.

I did find the "download keys" option (in the LEO section of the 'wallet' there is an option to "Download Hive Blockchain Keys"), but that does not simplify the process for my students. In fact, it kinda complicates the process because they would need to do an extra step (change keys) in order to properly secure their Hive account after downloading the Hive keys from Leo.

Yes you understand it well.

Although all posts from leo, end up on Hive as well.
I'm seeing this post and replying to it from Peakd and Hive.blog, as they are general content frontends.

Posting on Leo is posting on Hive as well. The post is visible on all the generic Hive front ends. Just if you want to use the simple process that leo provides and stick with it, you will need to post from leo, and then everyone can read it or interact with it from Peakd.com or Hive.blog.

The idea behind the twitter sign up on Leo is to make the first step easier, and then as they get more into it, advance a bit, allow them to get their keys and become fully independent.

If you want full control at start there is no way around the keys and all that.

p.s :)
Once a user have a bit more than 5k Hive Power, he can claim and create Hive accounts by himself. Depending on the chain congestion, around 5k HP equals one Hive account per day.

You will find the option to claim and create accounts in the wallet section on Peakd.com, under the delegate option.

This means you can create the accounts for your students by yourself and give them the user names and the keys.

image.png

p.s. feel free to ask if you get stuck in the process :)

Congratulations @trostparadox! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.
You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

You can browse HIVE communities on other frontends like https://peakd.com/, https://hive.blog/, or https://ecency.com/. @ecency also has a mobile app for Android, iOS including cellphones or tablets. Another option for mobile apps is @dapplr.

https://leofinance.io/ is a tokenized community, so you can only see the content of that community. To browse other communities, you can use the options above.

I have a curation account called @aliento, and it has more than 50K HivePower, so I have many account creation tokens, almost 100. If your students need help to create a HIVE account, I can help them, and I can also help solve their doubts. I'm assisting @theycallmedan in many tasks here on HIVE, and I can also help you. Feel free to send me a message any time.

Greetings from Mexico!

I used the phone option and saved my keys and then I can use them in any front end. And more ever, it comes with 10 HIVE power delegated, so someone can instantly start posting.

Here is another way to onboard new users Hive Onboard, but one also have to download keys from here. It is simple though, but for new comers it takes a while to understand.
image.png

Yes, this is the onboarding portal I ultimately used. It was the most straightforward one I found.

Thanks!