Need guidance setting up a rewards-based token for a university class

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I teach an honors seminar at Oklahoma State University entitled Entrepreneurial Value Creation in Society.

Two weeks ago I presented an overview of Hive to my students, followed by a Q&A session with @TheyCallMeDan (which is posted here).

I am setting up a Hive community (Spring 2021 Seminar) wherein the weekly content from the seminar will be posted for the entire Hive community to view and comment on, along with a Discussion Forum where students (and others) can post questions and responses relevant to that week’s topic. I will be providing Extra Credit to incentivize students to use the Hive-based discussion forum rather than the university’s LMS system.

Yesterday, @TheyCallMeDan suggested I consider creating a token via hive-engine to allow the students themselves to reward each other for great Qs and great responses. I think this is a grand idea, but am wondering if there’s a white paper or a post somewhere giving instructions on how to get started setting something like this up.

I’ve reviewed the hive-engine FAQ, so I should be able to create the currency itself with no problems. The part I am not clear on is how to instantiate the new currency as a reward that can be distributed by students to each other via upvotes.

Thanks in advance for any guidance you can provide!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I don't have all the information because I've never done it, but I have seen this site: https://tribaldex.com/. There you can create a token and a tokenized community (tribe), which are different things.

To rewards tokens to other users via upvotes, you need to hire and set up something called scotbot and also have a frontend, among other things. Do you have a Discord account? You can contact me on eddiespino#1698, and I can help you get in touch with the people behind scotbot.

-@eddiespino

Hi. I've asked a contact of mine at hive-engine to come by your post. You could also try joining their discord channel and asking there. This invite is good until this post has paid out. https://discord.gg/TCkmMzet

Hi. I'm the founder and Executive Director fo Hive-Engine. Please find me in Discord: https://discord.gg/gHpKV64S3M. You can also email me at aggroed at splinterlands dot com.

Thanks! Will do.

All of what you have told us is fantastic! Yes, the token makes sense as a way to introduce your students to how a tokenized content economy works.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's called scotbot. Hive-engine sells the smart-contract that makes all of that work. I think they'll answer all of your questions on discord, they are pretty active there.

Congratulations @trostparadox! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

You could possibly just run it through Leofinance. After you create the token, then any post on leofinance in regard to your topic/community you would tag, say EVCS (acronym for your project and your tokens name/ticker) and that would lead to the author and the curator receiving those tokens (along with LEO and HIVE).

There is some mechanics with the hive-engine that likely need to be setup so that it si linked, which I have no knowledge of but that scenario above can probably service your need.

You can likely get the direct feedback you need on the leofinance discord channel if you ask this same question.

https://discord.gg/BurMx7A

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta