You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monero Will Be Instrumental II

It means not having assets that people want enough to steal them. I drive a 1980 VW pickup (that I had to push a ways today, because I can't find a fuel pump relay for it anymore) that's well accented with rust. I live in a home I paid $100 for. I only have work clothes. On paper I made less than $2k last year. I don't have to file taxes as a result. I do a lot of work, but try not to get paid for doing it, so I spoke to a little old lady today that forced me to accept $20 for running a new water line under her house, and as a result of that I realize she cannot accrue a balance in goodwill, so I declined to do yardwork for her. She doesn't have much money, but she would rather pay me too little than carry a balance in goodwill, which means she won't bake me cookies instead of paying me. I'd rather have the cookies.

I don't want to get paid in money. I want to carry a balance in goodwill, so when my insurance needs paid on my truck I can just let someone that has the money and a sufficient balance with me to pay it for me. I do maintenance on just short of 40 properties presently and get my bills paid rather than get paid and pay my bills myself. That's what it looks like for me.

Sort:  

Wonderful. Your lifestyle sort of reminds me of Dan Suelo the man who lived 15 years without spending a cent, not sure if you've heard of him before? Here's an old interview with him...

https://invidious.fdn.fr/watch?v=JOvhjlW847U

Throughout my 20s i had experienced a very wonderful semi-nomadic life where i had no care for money, but rather lived by offering my labour for a shelter and some meals a day. It was some of the best times of my life working as a volunteer. That's the type of life i'd like to live and i will work towards a semblance of a lifestyle that you have.

Money, currency, wealth, these are man made measurements that in the grand scheme of things only have a fractional importance. But how to get to a place where this can truly be actualized?

If only more of the world ran on goodwill and honour.

I wish it was possible to do business with more people, but many people are not capable of it. It is difficult to stick to those that are, and in prior years I have had to file taxes, because I made too much money.