Earning Crypto with NFT Art - Are you valuing yourself and your time?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

bigthikesmall.png

This is a continuation of my NFT - non fungible token - art on the blockchain adventure, following the recent creating buying and selling art on NFT Showroom

A couple of days ago, the morning after tokenizing my previous piece - 'Dino Chess' - I logged in to my blog and then onto NFT showroom, where my dino art can be found, to find out that someone had bought all three editions of my latest art work. And that only hours after I had put it online!

Thank you @rektdoteth :<)


I'm already having more success in my life with selling art than fellow Dutchman and fellow Vincent, van Gogh ( Not that that is very hard. The guy deserved more love ).

Art riches.png

And Not just that...

this art collector had apparently burnt two of three editions, to make it a unique piece and put the only remaining copy for sale for about 20 times the value that I had sold the separate editions for.

It was actually pretty exciting to see this. It made me realize that I'm undervaluing myself ( story of my life ) and that someone actually sees value in my work. It's a huge motivation.

It also reminded me of the fact that I can buy up art from others and do something similar, trying to make some profit / add another layer of ( more or less passive ) crypto income to my multiple sources of income.

I'll put that on my TO DO list to try out soonish.

So today I decided to try something new. To put my latest piece ( Big T on a Hike ), up for sale for a much higher price ( 200 Hive ) than I would usually ask.

It can be found here ( with more info on the process ). As a bonus for the collector, there's a to be unlocked 4 pages of my ( yet to be published novel ) The Story of Hypersensitivosaurus.

Now I think of it, I actually tried the same - asking 222 Hive to be more precise - for my first NFT piece, Dangerously Happy, but I feel more content with today's collage art piece. 'Dangerously Happy' felt a little too meme-like and I'm not a fan of memes, in all honesty.

Someone out there might like it though...
let's just say that I consider to lower the price in the near future.

DangerouslyHappy.jpg

I could make this a much longer write up but - like Big T - I really feel like going on a hike, preferably before it's getting too dark to go out. The sun sets early here these days...

So let me end this by asking you the following question.

Are you valuing yourself and your time? Or do you still have a lot of work to do in this area?

I'd love to hear your answer in the comments.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Yay congratulations, that must have felt pretty exciting :D

That valuing yourself and your time thing is something I've struggled with (albeit briefly) and something I keep trying to push other people through if I encounter them fighting the same thing. When I was actually active on dA it wasn't uncommon to see people selling themselves obscenely short (charging basically the equivalent of US$1 for an entire commission) and when myself or other people have pulled them up on that and explained a good way to price things and the usual despairing cry we're met with is that the artist is absolutely desperate for someone to buy something.

Everyone either grows out of it eventually or stops doing commissions/selling art, either way XD

Glad you got it sorted pretty quick :)

That valuing yourself and your time thing is something I've struggled with (albeit briefly) and something I keep trying to push other people through if I encounter them fighting the same thing.

That doesn't surprise me, knowing you a bit :<)

and the usual despairing cry we're met with is that the artist is absolutely desperate for someone to buy something.

I guess Van Gogh didn't cry loud enough during his life ;<)

Everyone either grows out of it eventually or stops doing commissions/selling art, either way XD

I aim for the former.

Big hug!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Crying doesn't help, getting better helps a bit ;D otherwise the art industry seems to be more about who you know, who knows you, and what's trending at the minute than anything else.

No idea about crypto art though XD

Growing out of it is definitely a better option in all cases even if you decide to stop down the line :)

Yeih, Congratulations! That's very cool :-)

I had a hard time setting a price for my first artwork on NFT (private rights, single edition), I talked a lot about that with my dear companion. He said 500, I said 200, so we agreed on 333 Hive ^^
I still don't know, if that is enough, considering the effort I've put in it. Or if it is too much, so that no one will ever be willing to buy it ^^
But I'm in no rush, and I don't want to set a low price just to sell my art. I rather just continue painting and maybe someday someone gets interested.

You're on there too, cool? Yeah, it's not easy to figure out but one thing I love about this space is that it feels like one big learning curve / learning experience and I seem to have rediscovered my passion for learning.

Big hug!

Yes, I have two pictures tokenized so far.
It's a totally new field for me, this digital artmaking, and there's still sooo much to learn, endless possibilities. But it's real fun!

Cool! Endless possibilities and fun are a perfect recipe for awesomeness ;<)

Congrats! That reminds me that I should try to get approved there.. :) I want to be part of the NFT showroom artists as well :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

you definitely should! Your art is awesome!

Thanks for the encouraging words! I applied, fingers crossed! :)

Awesome! Hope to see you as part of the club soonish :<)

Thanks :) got approved yay :)

Hurray!

:) yes! Now, create haha..

Yeih! Congratulations! Let's see, where this journey is taking us :-)

Yes, quite exciting!